We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times..."”
Review of Amethyst Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amethyst Garden
Ranked #16 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
1 review
“"It was the best of times, it was the worst of times..."”
Reviewed 26 February 2010

There are times in life when events and circumstances appear to conspire against us; this past Valentine's Day was just such an occasion. My wife and I have been married for 24 years and had been intent on celebrating our 24th together in a nice weekend alone. Unfortunately in January her father fell ill requiring her to travel to SC to be with him. Three weeks later with our anniversary rapidly approaching it became obvious to both of us that we would not be together this year. The first time in our long time together; "It was the worst of times..."

The following weekend I flew to SC to drive home to Tampa with my wife, she was down and feeling melancholy. Dad had stabilized and was doing better, but there was a long road to travel. I had arranged for a stop over in Savannah, I felt at least a single night in a nice B&B would be brief respite from the stress and strain of recent weeks. My travel agent had recommended the Amethyst Inn. With no real expectations I hoped for the best.

We were so pleased when we arrived, Jane was wonderful, welcoming us into her home and making us feel like we were part of her family. The room was beautiful and perfect for us. We stayed in the Magnolia suite and it was cozy yet comfortable with a full bath providing plenty of privacy. Jane and Rocky helped us find a restaurant and gave us perfect directions to the river. Normally we would have planned an entire weekend around a trip like this, but with commitments at home and a tight schedule we only had one night at our disposal. It was a wonderful evening though made all the better by Jane & Rocky.

Sunday morning breakfast was fantastic with Jane serving a wonderful quiche and her pecan praline french toast... I would suggest insisting she make this if you visit!! We had intended an early start, but so enjoyed chatting with Jane & Rocky we didn't head for home till late morning.

Jane, Rocky & the Amethyst Inn created an opportunity for us to leave our troubles at door, even if only for one night; and for that brief time... "it was the best of times..."

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    71
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
186
505
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater Bay
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This was our first visit to Savannah and our first experience staying at a B&B. It was a wonderful introduction to both. Even before we arrived, Jane and Rocky made us feel so welcome. They accommodated our schedule, helped make sure that we had good dinner reservations for this busy weekend, suggested sites to visit and places to eat, prepared the most wonderful breakfasts (especially that yummy gourmet french toast), took the time to introduce us to the other guests, and just generally made sure that we had everything we needed. They even let my travel-weary husband do two loads of laundry as soon as we arrived. The suite was very comfortable and just right for the four of us (my husband, our adult daughter,her adorable shitzu, and me). I particularly enjoyed the fireplace in the room, as it was an unusually cold weekend. The extraordinary hospitality of our hosts made this new city seem almost familiar, and we left feeling refreshed, invigorated, and eager to return. I don't generally write reviews, but this was that good. Thanks Jane and Rocky for helping to make out brief family get together even more special.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cht3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panplico
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The experience was that of a true bed and breakfast. The inn keepers,Jane and Rocky, wanted to make sure everyone was a part of their family. Each guest that arrived immediately , if available, knew the names of each of the other guest that were staying in the inn. Jane took great pride in her breakfast and snack times, she made sure each event had its special touch. Also, if any of the guest needed a ride to any specific destination Rocky would take you where ever you needed to go. They also made sure to tell you the proper routes so you didn't spend all day walking in circles. So if you are a person who loves a little pampering with lots of time for socializing with people from diffent places this is definately the inn for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Janis and I had a great stay at the Amethyst Inn for Valentine's weekend. We arrived on Thursday and were welcomed warmly by Jane, Rocky, and Nicole. Our room was the Geranium on the main floor and we loved it. Jane and Rocky couldn't have been more hospitable during our stay. Every breakfast was superb. Afternoon appetizers were always good and home baked treats were always available.

We really appreciated Rocky setting up the coffee for us to have decaf every evening when we returned from dinner. Jane did a great job introducing the guests and finding common interests. We enjoyed every minute. Coming back to the Inn every day was like coming home but with tasty treats waiting.

This was our first trip to Savannah, but won't be our last. We're already looking forward to our next stay at the Amethyst Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanisAndDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

The Amethyst Inn is of course a beautiful Victorian home in a gorgeous city, but what really makes this a special place are the hosts. Jane and Rocky are a great team. Want shrimp and grits for breakfast? Jane can whip it up. Need suggestions or reservations at one of Savannah's many fantastic restaurants? Rocky will take care of it. Want to know the whereabouts of Chablis from "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil?" No problem. They'll find out, if they don't already know. Any questions or needs that you have, they are more than willing to answer or accomodate. Just don't ask Jane if she wants to play Scrabble, because she will take you to the woodshed! She's really good.

Joking aside, my 25 year old daughter, my 19 year old son, and I spent 3 days at the Amethyst Inn in February while visiting SCAD (The Savannah College of Arts and Design). We ended up not just staying there, but wanting to spend our free time with Jane and Rocky. 3 days is a short time, but we already feel like family. Each of us felt a connection with them, and we look forward to going back. If my son gets into SCAD, I might even have to move in!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

To all who read this,know you are getting the best of what Savannah Ga. has to offer.Upon our arrival,we were warmly met by Rocky and Jayne Reed the proprieters of the inn and since it was a long ride from NYC,they gave us a much needed glass of wine and whipped up some appetizers ,much to our surprise.When we unwound a bit(no pressure to go to the room)we were shown our rooms which were decorated as if you were in a doll house.The rooms were cozy and roomy but we didnt spend much time since we wanted to get back to the kitchen to continue being charmed by this lovely couple and some of their friends which had stopped by.The food was deliciously incredible during the stay,and was in abundance.I slept better than I've ever slept while away and the city was incredible(thanks to the recommendations by Jayne).To Rocky and Jaynee,thank you for making our trip to Savannah memorable and say hi to all of your friends,they were fun and cool.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDNYNYCTRAVELER007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This pleasant Inn is located in the center of the historic district, so my husband and I needed only to walk to get everywhere we wanted to go in the area. It saved us a lot of headache when it came to parking. Not only was their Inn cozy and relaxing (sleeping on the bed was like sleeping on a wonderfully soft marshmallow!), Rocky and Jane have put their hearts into the care of their guests. They are sincere and genuine people! It's not every day when you meet folks who really enjoy what they're doing. They even made a home-made key lime pie when they found out it was my birthday! Yummy!
The weekend was a blast, and the Amethyst Inn was a true highlight!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank placidpasture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Garden

Property: Amethyst Garden
Address: 402 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5150
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn in the Historic district of downtown Savannah, Ga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amethyst Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Inn At Sarah`s Garden Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing