We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing Inn, and the nicest staff you could ask for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catherine Ward House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An amazing Inn, and the nicest staff you could ask for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Savannah was the first stop for my wife and I on a three city Southeast coast trip. While all of the places we stayed were great, the Catherine Ward House was the spot we vowed to come back to! Our list of compliments includes:

The home had great architecture and details.
Our room was lovely, clean and private.
The breakfast delicious and they easily accommodated our vegetarian diet.

But the biggest thing was the staff was amazing. They truly demonstrated “Southern Hospitality” during the entire stay. They were friendly, helpful, informative and made our stay a delight! I cannot recommend this the Catherine Ward House enough.

Room Tip: The Hibernian Room had all of the amenities with a better price and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    47
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
476
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, F
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Dear Leslie and Ed,
I can't tell you how very much we enjoyed staying at CWH last week. It was even more lovely than pictured; the room was clean, comfy, and nicely appointed (aall those lovely white towels!!); and the breakfast was beyond delicious. Can't think of a thing I would change. Oh, and I almost forgot, the hosts were welcoming, helpful, and charming - lovely smiles all around!! I'll paste my comments on the trip advisor site as well.
thank you,
Anne

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The accomodations were immaculate and comfortable, the breakfast was elegant and delicious, our hostess was very helpful in answering our questions. The Inn is located near Forsyth Park in a residential area, which we liked because it was away from the crowds but still within easy walking distance from the historical area. We can't think of any way our stay there could have been better. So I guess that makes it perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidDavidDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We chose this B&B based on its price, location, and other reviews here on Trip Advisor, and it exceeded all of our expectations. Breakfast was the highlight. I don't think you could pay for a better breakfast anywhere in the city: multiple courses served with a 5-star presentation. Sitting around the dining room table really encouraged interaction with the other guests each morning, which we found to be the most enjoyable aspect of staying at a B&B. Located on the outskirts of the historic district, we liked that it was quiet (away from the nightlife) but close enough to everything that we could park the car (for free, no issues) and leave it in the same spot all weekend while we walked around. The room was comfortable, and they provided a copy of "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" which we had fun watching in between our explorations of the area. All in all, this was our first stay at a B&B and still the best of several we've experienced since then.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cow1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here memorial weekend for the second time. We enjoyed the cosmopolitan room. Its a carriage house and very contemporary. Leslie is very nice and welcoming. She made our stay wonderful, especially the first trip. The house is decorated nicely. She's very accommodating and has great recommendations for things to do in the city. We loved the atmosphere. We've stayed twice and will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kchina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

My mom and I spent Memorial Day weekend at the Catherine Ward House and loved it. At first, we were a little bit worried about the location but it is within walking distance to everything. It is a 20 minute walk to the riverfront, but there is plenty to stop and see along the way, so it was enjoyable. The closer you get to the water, the smellier and noisier it became. The inn was the perfect location~close enough to walk, but far enough away to have a peaceful and relaxing feel to it. We loved that it is right beside the beautiful Forsyth Park. While we were there they had a movie night in the park that we went to. We never felt un-safe.
Maianne made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. She greeted us and helped take our luggage to our room. We stayed in the Jim Williams room and it was great. Comfortable bed, fresh flowers, beautiful furnishings, porch overlooking the garden, complimentary soda/water in the mini fridge. Maianne offered restaurant recommendations and made reservations for us. All of her recommendations were wonderful. We especially enjoyed Cha Bella for dinner and Soho South Cafe. She also helped us set up a tour. The Paula Deen tour was the whole reason we went to Savannah. Old Savannah Tours was great~they picked us up and dropped us back off at the Inn. If you love Paula Deen, take their tour. Leslie, the owner, makes the best breakfasts! Her breakfasts were some of the best food we had in Savannah and that is saying a lot!
I can't say enough great things about this inn! I plan on always staying there for future trips to Savannah!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKB731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Excellent service, food, & amenities. Felt very comfortable staying here. Will definitely come back to stay here & recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Property: Catherine Ward House Inn
Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing