We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quick getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catherine Ward House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cochran, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great quick getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I were only able to stay for one night, so we opted for something a little more intimate than a local hotel. The Catherine Ward House made for an incredible first B&B experience for us. We stayed in the Sea Trade room and really enjoyed the large bathroom, fireplace, and king-size bed. The pictures on the website don't do the room justice. Breakfast was amazing, and Leslie was full of great tips to make our abbreviated trip an enjoyable one. We WILL be staying here again!

Room Tip: I can't speak for the main house, but rooms in the carraige house are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    47
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
475
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband went to Savannah for the first time to celebrate our anniversary this past November and decided to stay in a B&B rather than a hotel. We had never done a B&B, but thought that it would be fun in such a quaint town. WE LOVED IT. The entire experience was amazing. The room was so nice, the breakfasts were delicious, everything was clean and tidy, and the other guests were friendly. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful to point us in the right direction for tours and sightseeing. It was a much more personal experience to stay at the Catherine Ward Inn but you still had privacy. The rates were fair, we were even upgraded. We also loved the location of the B&B across from the park. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chardar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is a GREAT B&B. From the time we walked in until we had to leave, we were treated like family. Upon arrival Maianna greeted us and showed us to our room and gave us a great intro to the house and the District on the map. She covered everything and answered all our questions, got our seating for breakfast. Breakfast is done in two seatings, 8:30 and 9:30, we choose the 9:30. Breakfast was out of this world, all 4 mornings we ate.They will tell you what is on the menu for the next day and if there is something you dont eat they will prepare you a different dish, can not tell you how good each breakfast was, I guess you will have to try for yourself. We stayed in 2 rooms, 2 nights each. The first and the largest the Cosmopolitan Room is in the Carriage House out back and is a super room. King bed, fireplace with gas logs, a walkin shower built for 2, with 2 shower heads. The room is very large and spacious. The whole INN is super clean, never saw anything out of place, no dirt, cob webs, trash etc., it is spotless and cleaned everyday. The 2nd room the Hilbernian Room is the smallest in the INN, it is cute with a queen bed, walk in shower for 1, none working fire place but super clean and comfortable.
The Inn is about 400 feet east of Forsyth Park and you can walk every where you would want to go in the district. After breakfast each day Sonja will ask if you have plans and will make suggestions if you need them, she map out any route you need, print directions off the internet if needed and has a wealth of knowledge about the area. She made us a map for haunted areas and houses and printed out a description of each one.
Leslie, the Inn keeper and owner is so gracious, true southern hospitality. She made dinner reservations for us, Sonja called the trolley company for pick up at the inn(Old Savannah Trolley, super tour). Over all these girls will make you feel right at home.
Thank You for a GREAT trip.

Room Tip: Cosmopolitan Room is SUPER!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cb8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Decorations for the holiday were superb, even in our own room. The breakfasts were all good during our three day stay, and the hostesses responded to our every need. This B&B has warmth and charm and is located near the park, a nice place to walk after all of the holiday food we enjoyed.

The informal atmosphere allowed us to visit with other guests, who shared their holiday plans. The owner even gave permission for me to invite my daughter and her friend, locals, to join us for breakfast, which made for a great holiday hour.

Room Tip: Ask for room 9 and the off street parking, especially if you have some trouble walking. The inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Olmsted, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

My wife & I spent 6 days here for our honeymoon. Leslie welcomed us to the house around 10:30PM, and showed us to our room in the carriage house.

The entire house was lovely, and our room was absolutely wonderful.

Breakfasts are spectacular, I'm a breakfast type of person, and a good cook myself. Leslie and Maianna outdid themselves every single day. We came into town with a few ideas of what we wanted to do, and Leslie and Maianna were both very helpful with suggestions after they found out what we did/didn't like.

Their restaurant suggestions were spot on, as was their input on local attractions.

We opted to extend our stay an extra day, to do more exploring, which meant we moved into a room in the main house. It was every bit as nice as the room in the carriage house.
This was our first time staying at a B&B, and it was a wonderful experience. We'll definitely be staying here the next time we're in Savannah. We both recommend Leslie and the Catherine Ward House!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice, but I'd take the lower (large) room in the carriage house, and/or one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We were welcomed at 9pm by our hostess, Leslie, who had lit a candle for us on our personal porch. We stayed 3 nights in this lovely B&B. The house, furnishings, food and all of the staff are way above average. My most pleasant memory of Savannah is that of sitting in the living room of this home which exudes calm and beauty. Leslie treated us like friends, and Maianne helped us plan our days. Leslie packed a breakfast for us to take to the airport at 5am We hope to visit here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The inn was more than we could have expected.The inn is situated near Forsyth Park, but no problem walking to any location in the historic district. Our room was very spacious and very clean. Leslie and the staff, especially Maianne were great, always friendly and willing to help. Maianne had suggestions on resturants, houses to tour and anything else we wanted to see or do. The breakfasts were plentiful and very delicious. We felt very much at home and it was the much needed relaxation we needed. I love flowers and our room had fresh roses in the bathroom and hydrangeas in the bedroom....not to mention all the potted plants in the room and potted flowers on the patio. We will definitely refer everyone here and will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFlaHales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 31 in Savannah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Property: Catherine Ward House Inn
Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing