We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

When I first started looking for a place to stay in Savannah I had no idea that they had such a huge celebration and parade for St. Patricks Day. The was NO PLACE anywhere that had a room available. I left a message at the Romantic B & B's website to contact us if anyone had a cancellation. It was our good fortune to be contacted by Leslie!! We stayed 3 days in the Hybernia room and then switched over to Jessica's room for the other 3 days. Both rooms are kept very clean and are tastefully decorated. The breakfasts are to die for!! We had a great time walking this lovely city and seeing all the sights. Do get out to Tybee Island and the beach. We loved having a chance to see the parade. I'm glad we spent the earlier part of the week on the river as they had a million people come in for the parade!! Thanks Leslie and Sonia and everyone else that helped to make out stay so enjoyable!!

Room Tip: We liked Jessica's room as it was larger all the way around and had a private entrance from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doefraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the Catherine Ward House during a cold January weekend. The Sea Trade room embraced us. I called it "the womb room." Decorated in warm, apricot hues with two overstuffed chairs facing a gas fireplace, the room was a true haven. A luxurious bathroom with an oversized tub provided further opportunities for diversion, despite all that Savannah has to offer. When we did venture out, the innkeeper provided an excellent recommendation for dining. The cheesecake at Eno was so fluffy and delectable, it was worth every one of the hours that the chef reportedly spent on it.

The location of the Catherine Ward House is a bit far from the main historical district. However, it is adjacent to Forsyth Park. We had our bikes, and it was an enjoyable bike ride to the Savannah squares.

I would definitely chose the Catherine Ward House for our next romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smarsh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed at the Catherine Ward House Inn by myself and my dog and we stayed in Room 8 (Hibernian) (one of the pet friendly rooms). This room was perfect for my stay and needs and was extremely clean. It is near Forsyth Park where I would walk my dog, but there is also a smaller grassy area next to the Inn for quick potty breaks. The staff was very welcoming and accomodating for myself and my dog as I didn't want to leave her in the car to check-in. They let me get her settled in the room first before I went to pay for my stay. The breakfast was amazing and more food than I would have imagined. They remembered that I mentioned I don't eat meat and while they put ham on everyone else's plate they didn't have it on mind. I was pleasantly surprised. If they saw me walking around they would ask if I needed anything or wanted any coffee. Very hospitable! The Inn is about a 20 minute walk to Bay St. but only about a 5 minute drive. There is a small parking lot across the street that you can park at for free. The internet connection was perfect and there was a nice TV in the room too. The shower in the room was slightly small and a tight fit, but the water pressure was great and the counterspace was amazing! The bed was also very comfy and the Inn was quiet at night so I got restful sleep. I would definitely recommend this Inn whether your traveling with pets, alone, or with someone else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesszha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed in the Catherine room on the 2nd floor of the main house, and I can not recommend it enough! We had a wonderful stay! The room was very clean with an updated bathroom and working fireplace. We particularly enjoyed the fireplace on cool nights. It was very quiet at night and the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous all three mornings. Leslie, our host, was a wonderful cook! If you have dietary restrictions, just let them know. They are very kind to work around that, as we do not eat pork. Leslie is such a sweetheart. She is truely interested in how your stay is going, but is not intrusive. All the staff are very knowledgeable on dinner recs and tour guide info. We never had a bad meal. Location is also great, everything is walking distance. What more could you ask for?! We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorer530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were referred to the Catherine Ward Inn by another property and were so thankful! Leslie is a fabulous innkeeper- she gave us excellent advice on tours and dining, and is a wonderful cook! Our room was very spacious, immaculately kept, and extremely comfortable. The location is the perfect distance from the busy Riverfront area- within walking distance, but quiet. We felt very much "in the heart" of Savannah and immensely enjoyed our daily strolls through the Historic District. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here for our first visit to Savannah. I can't say enough about our wonderful hosts Leslie and Sonia. The house and rooms are very charming. For more privacy I suggest the bottom floors that have a private entrace. We were in town for a wedding and Leslie gave us the bottom floor to ourselves. We had a patio right outside our room with a fountain filled with koi fish. Will definately return.

Room Tip: bottom floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxnali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I stayed this weekend at the Catherine Ward House in Savannah and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Leslie and Sonia couldn't have been more helpful in making our first time in Savannah so much fun. All of their suggestions regarding as to where to eat and what to do, paid off handsomely. The house itself was charming and was extremely well maintained, The Sea Traders room, in which we stayed, had both a working fireplace and a spa tub. Leslie's breakfasts were terrific! The Inn is centrally located near Forsyth Park which enabled my wife and I to walk everywhere in the historic district with relative ease. We are looking forward to returning there someday.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back were very quiet. The Sea Trader room was both large and well furnished with comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandykaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,373 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,458 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £162 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing