We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The BEST B & B!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Ww stayed here in October 2013. Sorry for the late review but the best is often left till last. All I can say in summary is DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR IF YOU ARE LUCKY ENOUGH TO EXPERIENCE SAVANNAH AND STAY AT CATHERINE WARD HOUSE INN. Nothing I can say will do it absolute justice; the B&B is a gem! Thanks to everyone for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Any room at this B&B is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ally58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    51
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
503
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When my husband and I decided that we were going to visit Savannah, we knew that we wanted to have a an authentic Savannah experience by staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We consider ourselves to be pretty picky when it comes to where we lay our heads at night while on vacation. After doing much research, including reading all the amazing reviews here on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at the Catherine Ward House Inn. We were sold on the rave reviews of Leslie and her employees hospitality, the mouth watering descriptions of breakfast, the location and lastly, on the decor. While I loved the idea of staying in a Victorian home, I do not prefer the typical Victorian decor. Leslie has furnished the home so beautifully! It is bright and airy, but also warm and welcoming. Leslie, Sonia and the rest of the team were inviting and helpful. I felt like we were staying at a good friends house or a much loved relative. We stayed in the Cosmopolitan room which was appointed with its own fireplace. The location was perfect! Within walking distance to the historic district. Even better than staying directly in the historic district because you can start at the very beginning and walk your way down to the river. If we ever find ourselves in Savannah again, we will definitely be returning. Thank you Leslie!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This was an exceptional B&B! We absolutely enjoyed the service and the breakfast was amazing and definitely plentiful. We always had to skip lunch because we were so full. The room was nice and cozy and we felt like family. We look forward to another stay here and we encourage anyone thinking about staying here to go ahead and DO IT!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Agarcia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights over a long weekend. Leslie and Sonia's hospitality, wealth of helpful suggestions, walking directions to a diversity of attractions and tours (the inn really is well located), dining recommendations, and overall graciousness were truly first-rate. The breakfasts each day were outstanding and varied with wonderful fresh fruit and excellent grits. Sonia even spent quite a bit longer than we ever expected driving around in the middle of a late afternoon finding us perfect soul food. We couldn't recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had the great fortune of staying in this lovely home for 3 nights. Everything about it was amazing. Leslie and Sonia were amazing hostesses. They made us feel right at home immediately. In fact, moments after we arrived, Leslie drove us around town for a quick tour and dropped us off for lunch at Mrs. Wilkes (amazing family style dining experience). She and Sonia provided so many great suggestions of the things to do and places to see. Our Sea Trade Room was absolutely charming. The bed was very comfortable and it was so quiet that we slept incredibly well. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests. This proved to be another way to get tips on restaurants, etc. We were within walking distance of so many things so the location was very nice. We would gladly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The Sea Trade Room was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We came to Savanna to celebrate out 47th anniversary and check something off my bucket
list. But we were not ready for what was in store for us when we arrived at the Catherine
Ward House, we were so impressed with the hospitality from the moment we walked in the
front door, we were greeted with such an abundance of Southern Hospitality and graciousness.
The house was full of gorgeous antiques and so beautifully decorated. Our room had a
lovely deck with deck chairs that we could choose to enjoy whenever we wanted. We
had a jacuzzi tub and our room was immaculate and tastefully decorated in the style that
was known as "old Savanna" we had a crystal chandelier above our bed, that was incidently
hung from a 10' ceiling. The street was quite. The Next mornings breakfast was a culinary
delight and Leslie the owner and Sonia her co-worker, did everything themselves. The
table was set beautifully. Also both women did everything they could to make our stay as
comfortable and entertaining as possible. They were a a wealth of information regarding
our surroundings and what to do and see. What tours were the best, and where to go
and eat. It was a dream vacation. Thanks Leslie! We will do everthing we can to return
again.
Deznr4u2

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deznr4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My sister and I stayed here for three nights and loved it! The home is beautifully decorated. The Inn Keeper and her staff are extremely helpful. They offered us suggestions on where to go, what to see, where to eat, and gave us maps on walking around the local area. The home has a wonderful front porch and is steps from the park. The first night, Sunday, that we arrived there was a large free symphony concert in the park. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and want to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgalSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,302 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Property: Catherine Ward House Inn
Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing