We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
1 review
“Exquisite Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

August 2013 we planned a girls getaway to this absolutely exquisite bed and breakfast. When we arrived, we were amazed at how gorgeous the surroundings were. The home itself is a beautifully restored gem in the historical district. The restorations made for a clean, comfortable, luxurious bed and breakfast experience. It was most definitely the best place we have ever stayed, and now I feel we are spoiled and nothing else will ever compare. We stayed for four days and three nights, and I wish we could have for more. We could not have been more impressed with both the immaculate living arrangements and the kind inn-keepers. Leslie and Sonia are amazing. Amazing hostesses, amazing cooks, and amazing people in general. Leslie and Sonia were kind and talkative without being intrusive. They were also extremely helpful in giving us suggestions on where to go for the rest of our trip, when it came to restaurants and activities. We felt that by the end of our stay we had made two wonderful friends. Don't even get me started on the food. Every breakfast was delicious. The stuffed french toast was so good that we had to have the recipe. All in all, if you are staying in Savannah, Georgia, The Catherine Ward House is a must. The home itself, the food, and the hospitality make it an unforgettable bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaniOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    50
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
496
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Where to start??? Leslie and Sonia are the best inn keepers. They made us feel so welcome. They were both so helpful with reservations and recommendations. They answered all of our questions about the house and surrounding areas.

The rooms are lovely. Clean, bright and comfortable. Lots of storage and space to spread out. The house itself is just beautiful. It is decorated tastefully and comfortably, yet it is in keeping with the style and architecture of the house.

Breakfast is wonderful. If you go away hungry, it is your own fault. There was fruit, eggs, biscuits, bacon, sausage and more all lovingly presented.

We definitely want to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My complaint is we only stayed one night... The Catherine Ward House is gorgeous, clean, bright and airy. My husband and I stayed one night last January, we arrived at 9am check in wasn't officially until 2 or 3 but we were able to put our things in our room and freshen up. Leslie and Sonia were so friendly and we ended up having such a great time chatting with them over a delicious breakfast in the morning, they asked us what we liked to do and marked special off the beaten path stores on our map. Our room had a jacuzzi tub which was really romantic and luxurious.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is a beautiful house and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a beautiful, huge room in a building in back of the main house which was connected by a charming small courtyard. Because it was December the room had two small evergreens light with white lights, a nice touch. Sonia's hospitality was exceptional, exuding warmth, helpfulness and interjecting a few funny Southern-perspective comments during breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent, including orange/pecan french toast and fresh fruit. Sonia introduced us to the Hopper ride system which was a saving grace because the walk to the heart of the historic district could get long if one is wearing dress shoes. We loved staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trehugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Catherine Ward House and wished it could have been longer.

Leslie and Sonia were great hosts and the house is lovely - and the other guests we chatted with were fun, too.

Because of a holiday tour of inns during the dates we reserved, they upgraded us to a room in the small bungalow behind the main house, which was super comfortable and nice.

The location is next to Forsyth Park and an easy, rambling stroll away from the waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on a vacation based on the Great reviews. location is walking distance to all the sites and close to Two great restaurants for dinner. Leslie and Sonia were very attentive and gave great suggestions for tours and getting around. Breakfast was delicious and varied every day that we were there and an opportunity to meet new people. Our room was large with a small kitchen and a fireplace and large bathroom. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

When we visit Savannah we ONLY stay here and it is by far the best Inn Savannah has to offer.....none better. Leslie and all the staff are the best, staying here is Like coming home to see old friends.
Steve and Debbie Eagle, Fort Lauderdale.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
1,258 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Property: Catherine Ward House Inn
Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing