We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savannah Charm and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

At the Catherine Ward House Inn you will be at 'home.' You will experience grace, charm and true old Savannah hospitality at a quiet B&B just off Forsyth Park and in walking distance of many of the famous Savannah Squares and other historic offerings. Or catch the DOT just a block away and ride to most any place you want in downtown Savannah.
Your hosts - Leslie and Sonja - will make sure you feel like family. And breakfast is to 'rise and shine' for as you'll indulge in fresh fruits and fruit juices, wonderful egg dishes, breakfast meats, stuffed French Toast and many other delights. If you need something special due to diet restrictions just let them know, they will do their best to accommodate you. And fresh, hot coffee or tea is always available.
The rooms are very comfortable, extremely clean and plenty of hot water in the modern bathroom plus new flat-screen TVs and close by parking - either on the street or just across the street in a lot which you'll be given a parking-pass for so it's free.
If you're looking to visit Savannah and want the comforts of home - not the big hotel atmosphere - then visit the Catherine Ward House Inn. You'll love every moment.

Room Tip: Stayed in Jessica's Room which has it's own private entrance just off the street. You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary in Savannah last week and we chose the Catherine Ward House Inn based on the previous trip advisor reviews. We had the most wonderful week at this inn and cannot wait to go back!!! Leslie, Sonja, and Sonya were the most wonderful hosts and we couldn't have felt more at home!! They made us feel so welcome and were so very helpful with advice for places to go, restaurants to eat at based on our interests, and directions on how to get to where we were going. The inn itself is beautiful and is always immaculate!!! Our room was called "Nelle", and we absolutely loved it! From the beautiful and comfortable décor, to the full and very large bathroom, to the fresh flowers and soft/drinks and water in the refrigerator - we were absolutely thrilled with our room! Also, this room has a door that leads out into the courtyard area, which is really pretty and a nice place to sit and relax. The front porch is also a wonderful place to sit and relax, which we did several evenings when we were tired from our day's excursions. The breakfast that we were served each morning was so delicious! We had fresh fruit each morning, followed by wonderful dishes such as stuffed French toast or scrambled eggs or delicious quiche. We also had bacon or sausage each morning along with coffee/juice. They also provided side items, such as grits or corn pudding (I'm sure it has a better breakfast name, but it was so good!) They have a small lot across the street where you park each night so parking is never an issue. And their location is wonderful as you can walk one block and be at Forsyth Park. You can stroll around the park for exercise and also get wonderful coffee at a local coffee shop at the end of the park. If you are going to go to Savannah, this is definitely the place to stay!! You will love it as much as we did!

Room Tip: Our room, "Nelle", was in the basement and we loved it because it had a large bathroom, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coffeelady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at this Inn this week for three nights. We were greeted by Sonya and Leslie on arrival and they could not have been more hospitable. We stayed in Catherine's room and it was very lovely. The bathroom was fantastical. We had fresh flowers in the room each day. Both Sonyas ( there are two) were so helpful. When it was about to rain one day, they offered to drive us so we wouldn't have to walk. It is located right beside beautiful Forsyth park as well and on-street parking was never an issue. The breakfast was so great all three mornings. I can't wait to go back. It is such a great place. Thank you, Leslie, Sonya, and Sonya!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The reason for our trip to Savannah was to get married. Just a quick, simple, private service in Forsyth Park. The staff at the Catherine Ward House - Leslie, Sonya and Sonja - treated us like royalty. Our room was beautiful, always clean and cool, the fridge stocked with soft drinks and water. They were super-friendly and always willing to make a recommendation for places to eat. Reservations were made on our behalf for a celebratory wedding lunch at 700 Drayton (at the Mansion on Forsyth) and we were treated like kings there too! And the breakfasts we were served every morning...heaven on a plate. We stayed for three full days and each meal was different and oh so delicious! I would not hesitate to return for an anniversary stay each year and to highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a wonderful stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southerngirlwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just returned from a long weekend in Savannah. Our stay at the Catherine Ward House "made" our trip. The property is beautiful and well cared for and Leslie and Sonya and the rest of the staff were friendly, helpful and fun! Our room was well appointed, clean and beautiful and a lovely oasis after hours of walking around Savannah. Restaurant and tour recommendations were on point and Sonya so helpful in helping us book reservations each night. We particularly enjoyed www.ArchitecturalSavannah.com with Jonathan, a walking tour that went beyond architecture. We really appreciated that the Inn is located in the quiet, historic part of town, at the edge of Forsythe Park. It is accessible to so much, including a brilliant walk through the park toward Bull Street (try a natural popsicle), as well as a great coffee shop, organic market and wine gallery. Catherine Ward House is a perfect home base, beginning with a beautiful gourmet breakfast in preparation for "meandering around town" and truly taking in the beauty, history, lore, and deliciousness of Savannah.

Room Tip: We loved the Cosmopolitan Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beemindful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A charming inn with delicious breakfasts, convenient location, no problem over four days with on-street parking and accommodating host and staff. A++ Great porch as well to sit and have a drink at night or coffee in the morning. Trolley stop a block away and trolley tour will pick you up at the inn if you want. Doesn;t get better than that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our recent stay at this beautiful inn was a pleasure! Leslie is a wonderful host and an awesome chef. Our room was quite large and very comfortable, and we really appreciated having a small fridge in the room, which was stocked with sodas and water. Very thoughtful! The breakfast portions were huge, each day a new surprise: praline french toast, quiche, ham, pork roast, grits, fresh fruit. (And served to order, for those picky eaters.) Leslie's knowledge of Savannah helped us plan our days, and she never steered us wrong. Very close to Forsyth Park and just a 20-30 minute walk to the river district, depending on how many squares you stop in to take in all the beauty and history. You will not be disappointed in your stay at this top-notch property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZacksAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,373 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,458 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £162 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing