We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2009

A friend and I stayed here for four nights during the busy St. Patrick's day festival week and had an awesome time. We stayed in room #9 in the rear Carriage house and it couldn't have been any better. GORGEOUS and clean room with a huge bed and fireplace, huge jacuzzi tub. The hostess, Leslie was an instant friend and even drove us around the historic district on her way to do some errands since we didn't have a car. The main house was beautiful, and over a delicious breakfast, we made several friends. This would also be a perfect place to stay for a romantic getaway. It makes us want to visit Savannah every year and stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koribobori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2009

Excellent Inn - clean - well appointed rooms, easy parking, fabulous breakfasts but without a doubt what made this Inn the nicest we have stayed in years is the exceptional service. Owner/ operator was flexible, thoughtful and professional. From umbrellas to advice on restaurants and must see tourist attractions, Leslie helped make our vacation unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maplesyrupno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We chose this B&B because its web site was comprehensive and the amenities we preferred were available. As we came to know the city, we appreciated how fortunate we had been. The Inn offered ground floor rooms with access directly to the street, and parking was never a problem during the four days we were guests. The rooms were clean and full of little conveniences. Breakfast was always innovative and filling, and was further enhanced by the congeniality of the other guests at the table. The Inn's location allowed us to immerse ourselves on foot in the wonder that is "Old Savannah", without the constant traffic and metered parking that is also a part of the experience. The staff was always ready with suggestions, recommendations, and was adept at making last minute reservations. Through them, we learned that much of the finest dining in the city was within walking distance of the Inn. They truly made a great vacation even better.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kikila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

My wife and I just got back from a wonderful stay at the Catherine Ward Inn. We had a great time. The inn is well appointed and very welcoming. It is clean and beautiful. The innkeeper and her staff definitely made us feel like a valued customer in every way. They really understand the concept of customer service at this facility.

The inn is on the edge of the historic district of Savannah, Georgia, about a 20 minute stroll from the waterfront. Some may feel this is a little far, but it is really not considering that this is a very walkable city. In fact, the city is best seen when strolling around the many squares.

We would highly recommend this facility to anyone who wants to visit Savannah. If we are in the area, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Our second stay at the Catherine Ward house was as perfect as our first stay last year. This is truly the best bed and breakfast I've ever encountered. No detail is overlooked - soft music, fresh flowers, polished silver, gourmet food are all part of the experience. Breakfast was delicious - strawberry stuffed croissants with bacon one morning, pecan french toast and sausage the next, served with excellent coffee. Leslie the owner is charming, friendly and goes out of her way to be helpful . The decor is exquisite as well as comfortable. We would not stay in any other place in Savannah!!! I wholeheartedly recommend this place for the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tripdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

The Catherine Ward House Inn offered us a peaceful place to rest in downtown Savannah. Run by Leslie Larson, the inn offers a fabulous breakfast (fresh fruit, homemade hash browns, eggs, bacon) and plenty of privacy. We stayed in the SeaTrade Room, which has a huge tub and gas fireplace. There was also off street parking right by our room. I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeworkwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We spent two nights (with labrador retriever) in the Catherine Ward House Inn when the weather was unseasonably cold. Innkeeper Leslie upgraded our reservations free from the carriage house to the main house to make sure we'd be warm enough. It was a lovely room. Leslie is a warm and welcoming host who goes out of her way to accommodate her guests; she maintains a restaurant menu guidebook and is knowledgeable about tourist attractions and visitor information. She also makes a wonderful breakfast, which may include fresh berries, french toast, eggs, potatoes and always plenty of coffee and tea. The Inn itself is beautifully but comfortably decorated in airy neutral colors and sea grass rugs; those looking for a fussy Victorian look will not find it chez Leslie. It is situated near a large park, which is perfect for guests traveling with dogs, and most of the shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The funny thing about the Inn is that it seems to attract nice people, maybe just by word of mouth; we enjoyed all the other guests we met at Leslie's big table. We had a wonderful stay and hope to visit again in warm weather to enjoy the brick patio garden. Special note: if you visit Savannah, don't miss the Mighty 8th AF Museum, which is dedicated to the 8th Air Force -- formed in Savannah at an armory very near the Inn -- the US Army AF unit which bombed occupied Germany during World War II. Stupendous!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NortNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,373 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
McMillan Inn
McMillan Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#6 of 30 in Savannah
1,458 reviews
Downtown
Azalea Inn & Villas
Azalea Inn & Villas
#4 of 30 in Savannah
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £162 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Ward House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing