We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This weekend served as a first meeting for a beginning courtship!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catherine Ward House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #3 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This weekend served as a first meeting for a beginning courtship!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

Connected through friends I met a wonderful gentlemen for a long weekend and stayed at the Catherine Ward House. It was lovely, charming and very romantic. Since our initial meeting there we have been seriously dating and will definitely go back to celebrate an important milestone. Thanks to everyone there for the hospitality, dining recommendations (The Mansion was flawless for excellent and romantic cuisine) and all the courtesies extended.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyJazzBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    47
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
476
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

If you are looking for a place that is quiet, like being at home, and with a great breakfast then this is the place to go. I have never felt this much at home while not at home in my life. I cannot praise the girls that run it enough. They are very accommodating and friendly and the whole place is very cozy and homey. I loved it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phattie902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

This place was great. My boyfriend and I have stayed at many B&B's and we are picky. If you are looking for over the top, don't come here. If you are looking for good, southern hospitality, this is the place to be. Leslie, Colleen and Liz were extremely helpful with any and all of our needs. We felt right at home from the moment we walked in. I can't say anything negative about our 2 night stay. We stayed in the Jim Williams room, which is one of the smaller rooms, but it was perfectly fine. Leslie has great taste,and has beautifully decorated the home. I was a little concerned about the location at first, because it seemed a little far from the riverfront, but I soon learned that I wouldn't have wanted to be any closer. The riverfront area is very touristy and the Catherine Ward House is away from all of that, but still in walking distance of everything. We were there during an Art Festival in Forsyth Park, which is just a block away, so that was fun too. I would return here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBettyBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

Staying here was a wonderful experience. The furnishings in the inn made it like a little museum, the breakfast was gourmet-level and the innkeeper was very helpful with suggestions for things to do in Savannah. We could walk to everything.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeLexington_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

A friend and I stayed here for four nights during the busy St. Patrick's day festival week and had an awesome time. We stayed in room #9 in the rear Carriage house and it couldn't have been any better. GORGEOUS and clean room with a huge bed and fireplace, huge jacuzzi tub. The hostess, Leslie was an instant friend and even drove us around the historic district on her way to do some errands since we didn't have a car. The main house was beautiful, and over a delicious breakfast, we made several friends. This would also be a perfect place to stay for a romantic getaway. It makes us want to visit Savannah every year and stay there!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koribobori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

Excellent Inn - clean - well appointed rooms, easy parking, fabulous breakfasts but without a doubt what made this Inn the nicest we have stayed in years is the exceptional service. Owner/ operator was flexible, thoughtful and professional. From umbrellas to advice on restaurants and must see tourist attractions, Leslie helped make our vacation unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maplesyrupno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

We chose this B&B because its web site was comprehensive and the amenities we preferred were available. As we came to know the city, we appreciated how fortunate we had been. The Inn offered ground floor rooms with access directly to the street, and parking was never a problem during the four days we were guests. The rooms were clean and full of little conveniences. Breakfast was always innovative and filling, and was further enhanced by the congeniality of the other guests at the table. The Inn's location allowed us to immerse ourselves on foot in the wonder that is "Old Savannah", without the constant traffic and metered parking that is also a part of the experience. The staff was always ready with suggestions, recommendations, and was adept at making last minute reservations. Through them, we learned that much of the finest dining in the city was within walking distance of the Inn. They truly made a great vacation even better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Property: Catherine Ward House Inn
Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing