We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous bed and breakfast. I highly recommend it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catherine Ward House Inn
Ranked #2 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous bed and breakfast. I highly recommend it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

The bed and breakfast was lovely; the location was within walking distance of Savannah spots of interest; the bed was comfortable with a great mattress and the owner was welcoming, friendly, accommodating and extremely flexible. The breakfasts were wonderful and served at the times we wanted. We loved our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    48
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
480
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst,Ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Catherine Ward Inn recently for three nights. Leslie was extremely kind and accommodating but our room (Nell's room) was downstairs. It was not only rather small and dark,but it shared a wall with another room and a third room was tucked in nearby. Overhead we pretty consistently heard guest talking,footsteps and dishes being set,etc. as directly above us were the dining and living rooms. When I told Leslie I had been awakened at 6a.m. by the commotion of breakfast preparations,she very kindly allowed us to sleep the next night in the"tucked away"downstairs room,which did prove to be quieter. Unfortunately for us the inn was full and the following day a couple moved in to the room next to ours with two dogs!!! They barked incessantly whenever left alone,and occasionally in the night!!! Leslie did her very best to help but because the inn was full we stayed put!
The house IS lovely, the breakfasts ARE delicious. Leslie does a very good job BUT it would have been really helpful to know we would be in a small downstairs room and that she allows dogs!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank slowtraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

I have stayed at several B&B's before, and the Catherine Ward House Inn is definitely worth all of the positive reviews it receives. The room (we stayed in the Jim William's room) and inn itself were very lovely and quaint, situated one block from Forsyth Park, and within walking distance to downtown and all historic areas. Leslie, our host, and Colleen were extremely friendly, accommodating and a pleasure to speak with. They made us feel relaxed as if we were right at home, were always willing to offer suggestions on restaurants, things to do in Savannah, etc. The breakfasts prepared each morning were delicious as well. At breakfast, we had the opportunity to meet other guests, and everyone we spoke with seemed to be enjoying their stay at the inn. If you're looking for a relaxing B&B with charm, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmpkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

A fascinating house with welcoming staff and in a quiet location, central for exploring the historic town. We had the Hibernian room in the carriage house, advertised as one of the smallest rooms, which was fine for us but if you come in a more 'comfortable' size then this may not be for you as the bathroom facilities are a little 'tight'. However, the other members of our party had an upgrade to the Sea Trade room next door and that is wonderful. Sitting on the porch alone is worth the visit.
Breakfast is great and Leslie is friendly and helpful without being OTT. She even came to our rescue when one of our party left his suit behind and she drove all the way to Beaufort to get it to us - now that's service!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English countryside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

A luxurious B&B with decadent rooms. Perfectly pitched hospitality: individual and friendly service without being intrusive or dominating. Breakfast on exquisite French toast with other guests in the palatial dining room then stroll though Forsyth Park to the centre of town (About 15 minutes leisurely walk). Take the owner’s advice on restaurants – she was spot on for us.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30somethingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

We were warmly welcomed by our hostess and quickly became "friends". She attended to our every need from early a.m. coffee and tea, to dinner and tour reservations and guide advice. The house is charming, well appointed and very well kept. Breakfast was superb. We have stayed in dozens of B&Bs in many countries, and this one is among the very best. A visit to Savannah should be on everyone's bucket list, and should include a stay at the Catherine Ward House.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

Connected through friends I met a wonderful gentlemen for a long weekend and stayed at the Catherine Ward House. It was lovely, charming and very romantic. Since our initial meeting there we have been seriously dating and will definitely go back to celebrate an important milestone. Thanks to everyone there for the hospitality, dining recommendations (The Mansion was flawless for excellent and romantic cuisine) and all the courtesies extended.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyJazzBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Ward House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Ward House Inn

Property: Catherine Ward House Inn
Address: 118 E Waldburg St, Savannah, GA 31401-6521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catherine Ward House Inn, built in the 1880's, is an elegant bed and breakfast featuring 9 distinctly appointed guest rooms. A comfortable parlor and outdoor courtyard area with koi pond are available for all guests to enjoy and relax in. Located in downtown Savannah near the Historic District and Forsyth Park, the Inn is within an easy stroll to many restaurants, shopping and antiquing opportunities, museums and other historic sites. Leslie, the friendly and knowledgeable Innkeeper, is happy to assist all guests with dining reservations and tickets and share her "insider's knowledge" on where to most enjoy your visit to Savannah. A three course breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Catherine Ward House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Ward House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing