We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, historic, romantic bed & breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dresser Palmer House
Ranked #15 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naperville Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint, historic, romantic bed & breakfast”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

In mid-April 2014, my husband and I stayed at the Dresser Palmer for two nights. I will admit I was pleasantly surprised because I found it on an internet search and typically don't have high expectations of a hotel unless close friends recommend. The pictures of the rooms actually matched what we saw. As soon as we walked into the entry way, you felt comfortable and satisfied. Parking was convenient at no extra charge, a social/happy hour every evening was available with top shelf liquor, beer and wine with cheese appetizers, and if you missed the social you could take your drink in a "to go" cup and contribute to the cost of the drinks. Sarah was our first hostess and she was very accommodating and helpful getting us our room. We had a flight delay and checked in late, but she stayed longer than normal to ensure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious. Loved our room the "Samuel Palmer" and it had a balcony with pretty views of the street, trees and bushes. Located in the historic district I loved its proximity to the squares, boutiques and restaurants. We never had to drive anywhere which was nice. I would highly recommend Dresser Palmer to anyone and will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you look at the website and are not sure of its quiet side or whether you feel safe, call the B&a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 490ginaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinDPH_Innkeeper, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hey Gina J!

So nice to hear such great praises. We at The Dresser Palmer House like to make darn sure you're getting great amenities and a beautiful stay for what you pay. We sell it and tell it just like it is. No use in fibbing or fudging the facts! We like all guests to experience Savannah in a unique and fun way with comfortable clean rooms and a great big breakfast that changes everyday. Thank you for staying with us and enjoying what we do!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House: Kolin, Sarah, Janice, and Lovett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    51
    25
    6
    10
See reviews for
48
269
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked same day, the room was ready upon my early arrival. The gentlemen at the desk were extremely friendly and helpful. It was nice to not pay extra for parking for once. The hotel bar had drinks on the honor system with "to-go" cups ready for city adventures. The wine and cheese social in the after noon was a good pause to meet others staying at the same location. The breakfast was included and enjoyable. The rooms were clean and large with mine having a nice updated bathroom and walk out communal balcony/porch.

Room Tip: Henry Dresser room had a updated bathroom and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinDPH_Innkeeper, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hey Kurt K,

Sometimes we have a few last-minute availabilities and it was so great to have you come stay with us. Savannah is a beautiful city and it is great to be able to show off all her assets to new guests. We are happy you enjoyed everything at the inn for your stay. Please do visit us again for a longer period next time!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House: Kolin, Sarah, and Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

In early May, 2014, 10 of us childhood friends, now spread throughout the country, came together in Savannah for a long weekend to celebrate turning 60 in 2014. We chose The Dresser Palmer House from among many highly-rated B & B’s, and this lovely home not only met, but far exceeded our high expectations. The staff--Kolin, Sarah, and Janice—were gracious, helpful, and knowledgeable, and went out of their way to accommodate the needs and requests of each guest. It was clear to me that each of them enjoy interacting with people and love their job. Another recent reviewer complained that the owner is not on-site. For me, this was a non-issue, because the staff are so highly committed to making sure the guests have a fabulous experience both at the house and in Savannah. In fact, I must commend the owner for his skill in hiring what is probably the best hospitality staff in the south, and possibly in the country! The grounds and rooms were beautiful and well-maintained. I visited most of the 8 rooms our group occupied, and thought each one had a unique character and a lot of charm. Although the rooms are period in architecture and furnishings, the bathrooms are modern; this is a plus. Kolin, who I believe has a culinary background, served us delicious breakfasts each morning. He also systematically visits Savannah’s better restaurants and tours, so that he can make educated recommendations to Dresser Palmer guests based on the current performance of those places. The long front porch shown in photographs is a pleasant place to relax and socialize, as is the back courtyard area. Several rooms on the top level also have balconies--some private and some shared. Another nice feature of Dresser Palmer is its proximity of just 1.5 blocks to the gorgeous Forsyth Park. I stayed in the suite—Johnny Mercer—and it was just as elegant and comfortable as the photos suggest. The large sitting area in the suite provided a good place for our group to socialize after hours, without disturbing other guests. In conclusion, we had a wonderful reunion, and staying at The Dresser Palmer House was an important factor influencing our overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank J0niAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinDPH_Innkeeper, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
J0niAnn,

What an AMAZING weekend we had with your group! You all are such sweet and fun ladies. It was great to see you all come together when some of you hadn't seen each other in decades. It was fun to show you a good time and recommend great new places for y'all to experience together. We know some of you are already planning another trip to see us soon and we're all excited!!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House: Kolin. Sarah, and Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

While my husband and I enjoyed the Dresser Palmer House, there are some negative points. The good points are the location, the great front porch, our wonderful room with the gorgeous bathroom (the Samuel Palmer room), and the welcoming staff. The negative points were that the breakfast was almost cold, the lack of cable for the TV, and the absence of the owner. I attribute the problems with the Dresser Palmer to the lack of an on-site owner and not to the staff. During our stay, the very nice chef worked virtually alone in the kitchen, trying to prepare breakfast for about 18 guests at once which explains why the food was nearly cold. If he had more help, he would be able to get the food out at the proper temperature. The housekeeper, Janice, who is a real treasure, definitely needs more help. Kolin and Sarah, who answer the phone and check in the guests, are very gracious but they also need more support. It appears as though the owner is only interested in the home as an investment which is a shame because the property is beautiful but it is lacking that special something that would make a stay there spectacular. There are some portions of the home that need more attention and decoration, most of which can be attributed to an owner who does not live on-site and run the B & B himself. It's also seriously lacking a woman's touch, particularly in the public areas (sorry, guys). As the prices are high in comparison to other B & B's in the same area of Savannah, the owner should consider either lowering the price of the rooms or employing a larger staff so that the Dresser Palmer House can deliver as advertised.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanR1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinDPH_Innkeeper, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi JoanR1950,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Dresser Palmer House. We are glad you enjoyed the home and its location. Its great to be able to walk anywhere from our front door! We do apologize for any slack in service and overall satisfaction of the inn. When we get into high season like this, we DO need a lot of support and we are in the process of hiring another person to help with laundry, outdoor maintenance, and to maintain the parlor and other main spaces. When we get this person started, we will have much more time to help with breakfast, to pay more attention to the details that make an inn so charming and welcoming, and to focus on the guests needs. Thank you for your observations and kind words. We will definitely take them all to heart and move forward with a list of things that we should do daily to make everyone feel welcome!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House: Kolin, Sarah, Janice, and Lovett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Dresser Palmer House. Large, comfortable rooms, tastefully filled with antiques and very comfortable beds! We had a fireplace and a large modern bath with both a tub and shower with 2 shower heads. Breakfast was prepared and served on china by Lovett each morning. Kolin and Sarah were attentive, helpful and treated us to a lovely happy hour each evening with wine and nice snacks. All 3 were friendly, great hosts who seemed to do a little bit of everything to keep the place running smoothly. (and were so nice to let us upgrade on the second day, even moving our suitcases). Everything is within walking distance to the Dresser Palmer House, parking is convenient and we will definitely go back. Thanks for a great time in Savannah.

Room Tip: Our first night only a small room was available and we upgraded. Look at the pictures online befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodandtravelisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinDPH_Innkeeper, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello TheHarveys2014,

What a kind review!! We really enjoyed having y'all stay with us. We love to entertain and feed our guests and make sure that they are all taken care of. We have 16 rooms, some are small and cozy, some are large and luxurious, we think it's fun for guests to be able to experience a few rooms while they're here if it's possible. Thank you so much for being exceptionally great guests with us and for the amazing review.

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House: Kolin, Sarah, Janice, and Lovett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We lucked into a last minute reservation at the Dresser Palmer House. What a wonderful stay we had! Kolin and Sarah are fantastic hosts. Kolin is great for urban city tips, while Sarah knows the best natural reserves and conservation areas outside of town. Location was awesome - 2 blocks from Forsyth Park. Happy hour from 5:00 to 6:00 each day with hors d'oeuvres and drinks is a great time to chat with other guests. Our first room was the Azalea in the basement. It was charming, although a little damp - but it had a dehumidifier. Our last night we moved to a larger room upstairs, the Ralph Mark Gilbert which was spectacular, with the largest shower you have ever seen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPWing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinDPH_Innkeeper, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hey CPWing2014!

Thanks for finding us and choosing The Dresser Palmer House for your last minute trip to Savannah. We really love to get out and about and explore Savannah every chance we can. That way, we know the best places and fun things to do to tell our guests about. Thank you for such kind words. We know you will be back to try out more of our rooms.

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House: Kolin, Janice, Sarah, and Lovett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my third stay at the Dresser Palmer House, and I'll be going back. The staff is wonderful, the breakfasts are delicious, and our room was beautiful. We especially enjoyed the wine and hors d'oeuvres social every evening and the lighted fireplace in the front parlor.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Emma Kelly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballroom16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinDPH_Innkeeper, Manager at Dresser Palmer House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hi ballroom16,

LOVED seeing y'all again. Thank you so much for coming back again and again and creating new memories with us. We had a silly rainy cold snap in April, but that fireplace sure did its job! We're glad you enjoyed yourselves even through the crummy weather. Thanks for the kind words and we can't wait to see y'all again soon!

From all of us at The Dresser Palmer House: Kolin, Sarah, Janice, and Lovett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,624 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#9 of 30 in Savannah
578 reviews
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dresser Palmer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dresser Palmer House

Property: Dresser Palmer House
Address: 211 East Gaston Street, Savannah, GA 31401-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dresser Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within the nation’s largest urban Historic Landmark District, Dresser Palmer House, a historic Savannah bed and breakfast, offers an elegant southern vacation setting with quaint hospitality to delight the most discriminating traveler. Come stay at one of Savannah’s oldest and most exclusive locations, one block from world famous Forsyth Park.Built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer, this 11,000 square foot Italianate townhouse now operates as one of Savannah’s finest bed and breakfast inns, providing a variety of distinctive accommodations from king canopy beds and private baths to our ADA compliant lift and guest suite.At the Dresser Palmer House bed and breakfast in Savannah, you will find amenities normally seen in much larger hotels, coupled with the personal attention found only in the very best inns. We invite you to come and experience true southern hospitality at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dresser Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dresser Palmer House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing