We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown
Ranked #71 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Windsor, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel's best feature is the location to Historic Savannah without the astronomical room rates closer in. It's a straight 20 min. drive down Abercorn into the historic district, and there are many good restaurants and shops in the vicinity of the hotel. Also, the breakfasts here were far superior to what we encountered at a La Quinta in Charleston... there was ham and scrambled eggs every morning which I appreciated over cold cereal. The staff was always personable, room was clean. Only negative was on our last day we returned that evening to our room to find the door had been left ajar (the metal stick to prop door open had been turned toward the door) for the entire day, by the maid we are assuming. My husband was quite upset and let the clerk know if anything was stolen from our room, he'd be contacting the GM. Fortunately, we did not find anything gone, but that was quite a large oversight by the maid (or whoever) to leave our door open all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babesobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Savannah Midtown. Next time your are in the Savannah Area, please stop by the desk so I can introduce myself. Thanks again.

Yours in service,

Chris Manor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    83
    55
    21
    26
See reviews for
83
72
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My husband recently stayed in this hotel for buisness and I visited him. He had a great room, with 2 queen beds. The bedding and pillows were great.

This hotel is near a ton of stuff since it is right off of Abercorn. There are plently of restaurants and shopping is everywhere around. It takes about 20-30 minutes to get into downtown Savannah from this location.

While there are a lot of positives, the cleanliness wasn't great. When I got there, I noticed that there were shards of plastic in the corners of the bathroom, as if someone had dropped a plastic bottle and it shattered. Throughout our entire stay, those were never swept up. There were also small stains on the carpet and a few other small things that just made me think "I would expect a hotel to be cleaner than this". It certainly wasn't anything that would make me consider not going to the hotel again, in fact if we are looking for something outside of Savannah to save a little money it would probably be worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesBlackmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear JulesBlackmon,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

It's really close to restaurants and shopping. The place was nice and clean, no wifi but it did have accessible cords for laptops in the rooms. It was a nice stay and the handicap accessible rooms were just perfect to accommodate wheelchairs. The staff was polite and helpful and I would definitely stay here again. It was pleasant!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepingbeautyanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting the Savannah area.

The hotel was set back off the main road along with a couple of other hotels and restaurants. It was a short drive into downtown Savannah but there were plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, including 2 malls.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good and all the staff we encountered were friendly.

We would stay here again if we returned to the area

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location near lots of restaurants & shopping. Great price & helpful staff. Good breakfast. Near downtown. Nice size room & beds. Would visit again & recommend to friends & family. Nice area. Near the mall & other stores. All types of food nearby. Easy check out process.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luscious76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Luscious76,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are important to us. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us with a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here the first weekend in April. The hotel staff on the most part were very friendly, especially Jasmine. Our room was suppose to be a Suite but was missing the sofa. Other than that it was fine, lots of room to move about and clean. The express breakfast was very good. My husband was fascinated with the pancake maker as he had never seen one. Although it was not working on our last morning there. Each day they had different choices of meat and lots of other things to choose from. It was well worth the price we paid for the stay.
The drive into downtown Savannah took about 20 minutes but it was a straight shot up Abercorn St and not a bad drive. I would have preferred to stay in the historic section but this location was much more affordable. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkdhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights and were not all that pleased with every aspect of our stay at this particular hotel. Poor customer service is my biggest complaint. The first issue was a simple request for an additional folding luggage rack since my wife and I each had our own suitcase. Not only did I have to go to the front desk twice for this same request, when someone finally got around to hunting one down, and bringing it to the room about an hour later, it was broken and I had to rig it to get it to hold the suitcase. The second issues was the second morning when we went to get a shower and realized the cleaning staff took our old towels and did not leave us any clean towels. My wife went to the front desk and requested towels and even though they were supposed to be delivered immediately, none ever showed up. We ended up sharing the one large spare towel that was left and using the smaller hand towels to dry off. After waiting for towels that never arrived, I was finally ready to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast that was supposed to be from 7am to 11am. I arrived about 10:45 - 10:50 only to find that a majority of the breakfast items had already been put away and were not available. I could not even get a cup of orange juice. I scrounged what little was left and made due. Several people came in after I did, so I don't think I was too far out of line expecting a breakfast advertised until 11:00 to actually be available until 11:00. My final complaint is one that is probably true of many hotels and that is that the walls and ceiling seemed paper thin. You can far too easily hear people walking and talking almost as if they are in your room with you. Doors closed very loudly and often we could hear water from the upper floors running through the pipes in the walls. The room itself was decent and the bed was comfortable. The shower had very good water pressure and was fully adjustable. The wifi worked flawlessly and the 32" LCD TV was quite sufficient. Overall, I would give it a 2 1/2 star review. Not horrible, but it certainly could have been better with more effort and focus on customer service.

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor. In the lower rooms, you can easily hear people walking in rooms above and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenR647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear LorenR647,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We welcome our guests’ insight as it makes us aware of the areas we can improve in. I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay as we always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the poor level of service received from our hotel staff and unacceptable noise you encountered. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
TownePlace Suites Savannah Midtown
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
#72 of 113 in Savannah
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown
Address: 11325 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-1825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Savannah/Midtown, where you can enjoy true southern hospitality and one of the most convenient locations in town. Located off the I-95 corridor, we are conveniently with in ten miles of SCAD, Atlantic Armstrong University, Savannah Historic District, St. Joseph's Candler Hospital, Georgia Port Authority, and Hunter Army Field. For the traveler s flying into Savannah we are only a 20 minute drive from Savannah International Airport (SAV). All of our guests at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Savannah/Midtown will enjoy our free-high speed Internet access and complimentary continental breakfast to start their day. Other hotel amenities that our guests will have the benefit of include a plush triple sheeted bed, outdoor pool, business center, meeting room, exercise facility, high definition television and several restaurants with in walking distance. Whether you are here on business or to kick your feet back, let the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Savannah/Midtown take care of you with our genuine hospitality and expertise in quality customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Savannah-Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing