We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown
Ranked #71 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful Experience!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were put in a hand-cap accessible room by the elevator. The bathroom was dimly lit and had an iron & ironing board on the wall. It was more comparable to a laundry room. The next day we returned to our room a little after 4p.m. and it had not been cleaned. After a very long encounter with the manager a member of the housekeeping staff overheard and offered to help. We left for a few hours and returned to find our door propped open by the lock. The walls are paper thin. You hear doors closing and walking early in the morning and late at night. It is a long drive to the historical district. Save yourself and book somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bum1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello,

First let me apologize for any in convenience that you may have experienced at the Holiday Inn Express. We are under renovation and we expect it to be over mid May 2014. If you come back to the area, please contact me direct and I will personally make sure your next visit is a perfect 10.

Yours in Service,

Chris Manor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    79
    54
    21
    25
See reviews for
82
71
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel was very well kept and the staff was fantastic. However, if you want to be near the historic district, be prepared to pay for a taxi or ride the bus. The bus takes about an forty five minutes to get downtown but it's only $1.50. A taxi will run between $20 and $30 dollars. There are restaurants in walking distance to the hotel. Carey Hilliard's is cheap and the food was fantastic as was the service. Dinner for less than $10. Taxi to the airport is about $50. Good safe neighborhood as well. I would recommend this hotel if you have a car and are going into the downtown area or if you do not mind paying for a taxi. Island Express is a great shuttle service for $20 round trip to downtown. Don't miss St. Patrick's Day in Savannah.

Room Tip: First Floor is very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel.

Yours in Service,

Chris Manor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I was not told that the hotel would be remodeling when I made the reservation. I was put in a handicap accessible room that was by the elevator and given a room with double beds instead of a king bed. The restroom was very dark, the room did not have a lounge chair or table, did not have a box of tissues, the enter floor was sticky and did not have a microwave or fridge. They started drilling at 8:30 am. I called about the a/c not working and the clerk did not even apologize. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyBoop4930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello,

First let me apologize for any in convenience that you may have experienced at the Holiday Inn Express. We are under renovation and we expect it to be over mid May 2014. If you come back to the area, please contact me direct and I will personally make sure your next visit is a perfect 10.

Yours in Service,

Chris Manor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Pretty far away from river walk. But in a nice area. Has lots of restaurants near. I did see a bus , so if you download routes you should be able to get around.
We used car to get to trolley. So much fun. History abounds.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferN152201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello,

I hop your enjoyed your stay in Savannah. :)

Yours in Service,

Chris Manor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My stay was just OK. Don't really have too much I would complain about this hotel except that I did hear doors slamming periodically during my one night stay. The front desk staff was very friendly, polite and helpful especially Jonathan he was great! Answered all my questions even recommended nearby spots to grab a meal. Jonathan always acknowledged me and my boyfriend as we passed by with a smile and cheerful attitude! I found the location to be further away from the historic district than I expected. Plus there is a lot of traffic and construction still ongoing in this area so be careful its fairly tricky finding the hotel! The entrance is quite difficult to locate. I found it only after calling ahead for landmarks! Look for The Olive Garden and Logan's.

There is lots of shopping nearby and plenty of restaurants in the area so I would say that part is good. I made several trips downtown and this location was not ideal. Tons of traffic on Saturday night so be careful as the construction in this area is tricky as I mentioned.

All in all, for a Holiday Inn it was VERY clean, friendly front desk staff, my room was decent and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good with hot/cold selections. I went down EARLY (that's the important word!) and found decent varieties. The coffee was very tasty HOT and delicious.

One suggestion I would make is that the cleaning staff needs to leave more than one packet of coffee in the room that's a bit on the skimpy side. My boyfriend had to go out and ask several times for packets. Check out was pretty quick, easy and simple. I would recommend this hotel just don't have high expectations and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the nice comment.

Chris Manor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My husband is taking me to Savannah for my birthday February 21-24. We love Holiday Inn Express and are sure this location will be no exception. I can't wait! I can smell the cinnamon rolls now! I cant imagine wanting to give any less than 5 stars. We have never found a Holiday Inn Express we were not happy with.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JNGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello,

I hope your stay was enjoyable at the Holiday Inn Express.

Yours in Service,

Chris Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great hotel. We booked thru a discount site, so the price was great. The location is correct, Midtown, but its on the south end of Midtown. While its close to the historic district, I was hoping closer. It took a lot longer to get to the historic area then I expected. But the breakfast was great, the staff was very friendly, rooms were clean. Can't complain!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmhmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello,

First let me apologize on how long it took for me to respond. Thank you for your response. I look forward to your next visit.

Yours in Service,

Chris Manor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
TownePlace Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Gateway
#63 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
#76 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown
Address: 11325 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-1825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Savannah/Midtown, where you can enjoy true southern hospitality and one of the most convenient locations in town. Located off the I-95 corridor, we are conveniently with in ten miles of SCAD, Atlantic Armstrong University, Savannah Historic District, St. Joseph's Candler Hospital, Georgia Port Authority, and Hunter Army Field. For the traveler s flying into Savannah we are only a 20 minute drive from Savannah International Airport (SAV). All of our guests at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Savannah/Midtown will enjoy our free-high speed Internet access and complimentary continental breakfast to start their day. Other hotel amenities that our guests will have the benefit of include a plush triple sheeted bed, outdoor pool, business center, meeting room, exercise facility, high definition television and several restaurants with in walking distance. Whether you are here on business or to kick your feet back, let the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Savannah/Midtown take care of you with our genuine hospitality and expertise in quality customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Savannah-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Savannah-Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing