We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Old Fort Jackson

Old Fort Jackson
Book In Advance
More Info
US$130.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Old Fort Jackson Helicopter Tour
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Whitemarsh Island Helicopter Tour
More Info
US$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #15 of 220 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The state's oldest remaining fort dates back to 1808 and includes a number of Civil War and other military exhibits. Daily cannon firing programs are offered at 11:00am and 2:00pm.
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We called in here on a wet day and didn't expect to stay long however we were captured by the fun everyone was having and stayed almost 2 hours. The young man guide was excellent and led us through the parade and firing of the cannon. Highly recommended.

2  Thank PhilipRobinHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We appreciate your nice recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 763 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am not really into the Civil War thing, but this was a very nice fort. Historically it was very interesting to see.

1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

just happened to drive by this and decided to check it out.
guides are very friendly and very informative.

Thank DlLyerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We appreciate you sharing these kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This fort is easy to find and we arrived just as they opened. When we purchased the tickets we were told that there was a school group arriving soon and we were welcome to join that guided tour if we wanted or could just go ahead on our own. We decided to go on our own and once the school group, high school age, arrived it was entertaining to watch the period dressed employees line them up and give orders as if they were a regimen of soldiers. This gave the students and us a look at how the soldiers would have been during that time frame at the fort. This fort is maintained but would have like to have seen the moat restored. It was swampy like and overgrown. There were bugs when we initially went to the water area but we had bug spray on so weren't bothered too much. In the fort we did not notice bugs. The exhibits are well set up throughout the fort in temperature controlled rooms with large glass to see through. Enjoyed our visit and would recommend to see.

1  Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Very nice review. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

It's a small fort all intact. They've added some things for demonstration and education. Make sure you see the movie first. We did not have a guide while we were there but it was all self explanatory. There are Mosquitos so prepare yourself.

Thank TC c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

The mosquitoes are definitely our this time of year. Imagine hoe miserable it would have been for the soldiers stationed here! Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Fort Jackson also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Old Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing