We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Old Fort Jackson

Old Fort Jackson
Book In Advance
More Info
US$130.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Old Fort Jackson Helicopter Tour
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Whitemarsh Island Helicopter Tour
More Info
US$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #16 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The state's oldest remaining fort dates back to 1808 and includes a number of Civil War and other military exhibits. Daily cannon firing programs are offered at 11:00am and 2:00pm.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We got to do the Girl Scout Militia with "Corporal" Moore and we had a blast! He was funny, friendly, informative and made it a fantastic experience! The fort itself is beautiful and so are the views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CelesteMama75423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you. We think you're awesome as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    316
    93
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting Fort”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Old Fort Jackson is a smaller fort but very interesting. There is a live cannon firing everyday at 2pm, we were there on Friday, July 11 and a storm was rolling in. We had the cannon firing at 1pm due to the thunder storm. The cannon firer is dressed in confederate uniform and was very informative in regards to the cannons and the history of the Fort itself. Well worth the money and time to visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank califdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for visiting and for sharing these nice thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikeston, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must-see while visiting Savannah!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Visiting this fort was the highlight of our trip to Savannah! Whether or not you are a history buff, you will enjoy your experience at Old Fort Jackson! Be sure to call ahead for the daily schedule as you will not want to miss the cannon's firing. This is a hands-on learning experience that allows all involved to see exactly how battles were fought during much more difficult times, and the cost to get in is extremely reasonable. At the end of the firing, the Corporal took time to talk to our family and get to know us better. We highly recommend this for anyone visiting Savannah!

Helpful?
Thank JRCSTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are honored to read such a nice review. Please join us again next time you are in Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
780 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“A Nice Federal Park and Restored Fort”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Get your life time senior Federal Park Pass here on your way to or from Tybee Island and it's nice beach and famous light house. About 10 scenic miles from Savannah. The fort construction with its moat is historic and educational. Both guided and unguided tours are available There is an excellent film in the tour center. The fort became a victim of changing naval war technologies. It was an enjoyable 2 hours at our own pace after the movie. Don't forget the camera

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We thank you for the review but it appears you are reviewing Fort Pulaski. We'll pass on the nice words to them. Like Fort Pulaski, we have a moat, interesting history, great fim, and a self guided tours. We also do cannon demonstrations daily at 11am and 2pm. Come see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Planned on staying 1/2 hour but ended up at about 1 1/2 hours”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent most of our time discussing the history of the fort and lives of soldiers, both revolutionary and civil war with Ray Christie. He was amazing. Also found the "local" blacksmith to be very interesting. And of course just strolling around the fort was quite enlightening. A number of displays as well as the period re-enactors and activities for those with children made it a memorable experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank T'Paulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L, Manager at Old Fort Jackson, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed our 4th of July festivities. We're not able to have blacksmith demonstrations daily do you picked a good day to visit. Ray along with other interpreters do a great job of bringing Fort Jackson' story to life. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Fort Jackson also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Old Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing