We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence Inn that acts like a Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #18 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Residence Inn that acts like a Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I had two free nights to use, but I was a little hesitant to book this hotel, since it is a little further away from the historic district and we have stayed at some less than stellar Residence Inns in the past. Boy, I'm I glad we stayed here! Here's a secret... The entire staff thinks this is a bed and breakfast! You are treated like you are staying with friends or family. From Dennis at the front door, to (I believe her name is) Denae running the breakfast area, you are truly made to feel like a guest. I have never experienced a hotel buffet where the staff seemed truly concerned that you begin your day with a good breakfast. The cocktail hour with snacks was also a very nice touch. It is obvious the staff enjoys what they do, and does whatever they can to make your stay comfortable. If available, request one of the cottage rooms; we had a room that looked out onto a beautiful fountain in the courtyard. Very nice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poolmantdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thanks for being our guest at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District! It was very nice of you to take the time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor and I sincerely appreciate you mentioning the hotel associates in your review.

Both Danae and Dennis are outstanding associates who have a passion for delivering Service So Memorable to our hotel guests. Both of these associates have been with the hotel since opening four years ago and their smiling faces and wonderful personality have charmed many guests! I will definitely share your comments with them!

Thank you again for your nice comments! I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations! We look forward to you returning to our hotel and having another wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    220
    51
    11
    20
See reviews for
204
280
25
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Residence Inn in the Historic area of Savannah. We did not think it was out of the way at all. On the other hand it seemed perfectly located. The DOT free shuttle to downtown stopped right around the corner as was the Savannah visitor centre and the starting point for the trolley tours. Great location.

We have never stayed anywhere with friendlier hotel staff. That includes reception, the people at the bar and breakfast and the people in charge of valet parking. They treated us amazingly well.

When we arrived on Thursday evening we had free welcome drinks at the bar. They do have some sort of reception every night during the week but not on weekends. We chatted with other guests and Crystal the bar tender gave us all sorts of tips for places to eat etc. She was so helpful.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and better managed than some Residence Inns we have visited. Sometimes when too many guests come at the same time it can be chaotic. That wasn't the case here.

The pool area is really lovely. The garden is quaint and they even have a fire pit. It was really nice sitting outside for breakfast in the morning.

The hotel was in good shape with just a couple of downsides. We were two couples sharing a two bedroom suite. The suite was a little worn in places, frayed carpet and a few small cracks in the counters but that didn't bother us at all.

However one bedroom had two queen beds and a dresser and closet with mirrored doors. The other bedroom had one king and absolutely no dresser or drawers. Even the closet did not have a door or any full-length mirror. That was a little annoying.

The other more annoying thing was that the air conditioning all came from the room with the single King bed. If the door was closed at night it was sweltering in the other room. Because we are family we managed to keep the bedroom doors open most nights, unless someone forgot and bumped the door closed during the night, when using the washroom.

I would think that these rooms are due for renovation and when that happens I hope they add a dresser and fix the air so that it works in both rooms.

Nonetheless if we were going back to Savannah, we would recommend this hotel highly. We loved our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
We appreciate you choosing the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District while in Savannah. Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor as well! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your feedback!

I have shared your comments with Crystal. She is a great associate and she really takes care of all of her guests! She takes great pride in her work and it is always nice to be able to share comments such as yours with her.

Your comments regarding the air conditioner and the furninshings are helpful as well. I have passed them along to our ownership group. We are one year away from our first renovation and these items are very helpful as we begin to make plans for this important upgrade. Our guest feedback is critical to our continued success!

Thank you again for being our guest,! We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I had two free nights to use at a Marriott so we were going on vacation and picked this hotel to use it in. I am so glad we picked this hotel! We were given a room in the Snell (I think it was called that) Cottage. The room was spacious and nice. We did the free parking on the road and didn't have any problems with it. The best part---we walked every day to the areas we wanted to and didn't jump in the car once to go anywhere in town. You are so close to the visitor's center (the next block over) and you are about 10 minutes walking to the main area of Savannah. The breakfast is also REALLY good here. Plenty of food and very nice breakfast attendant. I definitely recommend this place and would stay here again in a second!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyouneedistara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thanks for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Savannah Downtown Historic District for your recent stay in Savannah. We enjoyed serving you! Thanks also for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the nice comments.

As you mentioned our location is within walking distance of historic venues, restaurants, bars and shopping. Guests also have access to the complimentary DOT shuttle which picks up at our front door every 30 minutes. You can enjoy your stay without ever having to get in your car. All this in one of the most quiet areas in downtown.

We hope that you will be our guest again very soon! Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I was very impressed by the Residence Inn. The rooms were updated, spacious, and clean. The lobby and hallways were in perfect condition as well, even more so than some of the high end hotels I have stayed in. They had a very extensive complimentary breakfast spread, and a free happy hour each night. The hotel is not in center of it all like the Bohemian, Andaz, or Hyatt, but you are only a few minutes walk from the main avenues that provide a scenic stroll to the River.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Residence inn by Marriott Savannah Historic District. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Savannah. I appreciate the kind comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass your feedback along to everyone on our team.

While the Residence Inn is not located on the major arteries which run through the Historic District, we are conveniently located next to the Savannah Visitors Center and steps away from many restaurants, bars and historic venues which are a must see while in Savannah. The city of Savannah operates a fare free shuttle which picks up our guests at our front door and will shuttle you throughout the historic district free of charge. This service is an excellent option to driving as parking can be a challange downtown.

Thanks again for staying with us. i hope that when you return you will be our guest and enjoy all the wonderful amenites our hotel has to offer. Whether it be a dip in the pool, a cocktail by the firepit, or a night on the town, our staff is here and eager to make sure your stay is one you will remember!

Sincerely,

Donnie Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Went on a 4 day weekend with my 2 sisters. We got a 2 bedroom suite that was perfect! It was very spacious - had 2 full bathrooms, a full kitchen and a "family room". The beds were comfortable and the location was very quiet. The hotel is located just across the street from the visitor's center and is within walking distance to everything in the historic district. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with directions, and the breakfast buffet was the best any of us had ever had at a hotel! We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Pick a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thanks for being our guest and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! Thanks so much for you comments about our staff! It is always good to hear positive feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will return to Savannah and be our guest again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newburyport
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Everyone was warm and helpful , the rooms were great. The problem was that we were a few blocks away from everything we wanted to see. You have to cross Martin Luther king highway,which had cross walks and lights but still it was kind of a hike. Ttere is a marriot courtyard that was a little closer,at had we known,we would have chosen. So really just for convince and nothing else. We had a car which we didn't think we would use during our stay, but ended up using every day.

Room Tip: People that worked there were extremely nice! I don't think it Matt I don't think it matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needlepointer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District. We appreciate you being our guest as well as taking your valuable time to post a TripAdvisor comment.

Our hotel is located next door to the Savannah Visitors Center. We are within walking distance to historic venues as well as restaurants and bars. The DOT Shuttle also offers complimentary transportation throughout the historic district and picks up at our front door every 30 mintues. Most of our guests never have to use their car during their stay with us. Our location also affords us one of the quietest locations in downtown Savannah.

Thanks also for the nice comments about the staff. It is our goal to provide every guest with Service So Memorable! I look forward to sharing your review with the team, they will be thrilled to hear the positive feedback!

When your travels bring you back to Savannah we hope that you will be our guest again. We look forward to serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crest Hill, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We drove from Hilton Head Island to Savannah following a wedding. Residence Inn is very close to Interstate 16 and easy to locate in the Historic District on Charlton Street. It is directly across the street from one of the Welcome Centers and depot for tour buses. We chose Residence Inn by Marriott after reading other trip advisor reviews and to earn additional points in Southwest Airlines partners program. We arrived after 9 pm and pulled our car up to the door. The hotel valet was most accomodating as we had not yet eaten dinner and wanted to check in and then grab something to eat. He told us a Wendy's was close by and open late. The front desk staff greeted us and quickly checked us into our awesome 1 bedroom suite with 1 king bed and sofabed (Room 102 which faced MLK Blvd, I think) for our 3 nights. The room was better than shown on the internet. It had a full kitchen area (full size refrig., stove, microwave, coffee maker, silverware, pots, pans, dishes, glasses, etc.) with a dining table with two chairs. The living room area had a sofabed and was spacious. The office area had a desk, chair and electrical outlet. The bathroom had a separate vanity area from the tub/shower toilet. The bedroom (with large screen tv) was spacious and the pillows and bed were excellent. The suite included absolutely everything a short/long term guest could need. The next morning, we went to their complimentary breakfast. The area has lots of seating and lots of choices to eat/drink. On this day, QA from Marriott was there for an audit. You could sense how much the employees wanted a good review and seemed a little nervous but so very friendly and caring to their guests. There is a seating area with coaches with a big table which would be very nice if you were waiting for a group to meet and chat and it was close to their small bar area. Outside seating was also available for guests with a fireplace and their pool. Note: Monday thru Thursday there is an evening social (light drinks and snacks) which is also complimentary. The desk staff had a book of various restaurants to review. They recommended both the Olde Pink House and Planters Tavern and Giribaldi's (among others). We enjoyed both restaurants and will review them separately. We also took the "on off" Old Savannah tour (hotel gave us $2 discount coupon) and the 1 hour Savannah Riverboat narrated tour. The one thing we would like to emphasize was every staff member was really friendly, happy and wanting to serve their guests. We travel frequently and this staff wins the award for "the best". It should be noted that this property is at west edge end of the historic district and about one mile from the river. We did walk all the squares and to/from restaurants and river. We took a pedicab ($15) and cab ($5) back from restaurants due to rain. We have not stayed at a Residence Inn before but definitely will look for them on our future travels. The Property Manager and his staff at this hotel should know how much their guests appreciate the staff's work ethic and friendliness.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicBobCrestHill_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savdv, General Manager at Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Residence Inn Savannah Downtown Historic District. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of the hotel as well!

I can't thank you enough for mentioning the staff in your comments. As a General Manager, I am fortunate to have one of the very best groups of associates in the world. They truly love to serve the guest and genuinely care about each one of our customers. They strive to deliver Service So Memorable and it is great to be able to share your feedback with them.

Please come back to see us when your travels bring you back to Savananh! Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#22 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 500 W Charlton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3109
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing