We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will go back there again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will go back there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We made reservations at the last minute while on the road from Northern Virginia to South Florida and looking for a place to overnight. Pet friendly was important as our small dog was along on this trip. The Residence Inn turned out to be a great experience. The suite is spacious, valet parking in a private locked lot with camera surveillance, and the comfortable beds made for a memorable stay. Also we had never been to Savannah, which we were delighted to visit, with its great historic neighborhoods and buildings, including many fine restaurants from which to choose. We sill definitely return there, including when we make the return trip in the Spring.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizinit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    209
    47
    11
    20
See reviews for
194
266
24
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

The staff are very nice. One of the best hotel during our Dec. 2010 trip. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hairen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Put this hotel in practically any other location, and give the staff a little more training in hospitality, and it would be one of the better hotels I've ever stayed in, for the money.

The hotel's location is really not ideal for a city like Savannah, nor is it quite in the downtown/historic district as per its title. It is adjacent to a gas station/convenience store, more than a half mile from the highly walkable downtown/City Market area, and borders an abandoned rail yard and an on ramp to the expressway. (Note to those looking at the Marriott Courtyard, that hotel is right across the street.) There is a free shuttle that runs until 9 pm, every 15 minutes, and takes you into a number of spots in town. But if you want a late night, you either need to walk or find a cab (which we were able to find).

Really a shame that this hotel has such a bad location, because the hotel itself is really quite charming, with its old brick facade, adjacent town-home units, and a really lovely courtyard with a fire pit and small pool.

While a few of the hotel staff were friendly enough, several others were not, including the ogre-ish woman running the morning breakfast buffet that is included in your room charge. The good news re: the latter hostess, is that I'd recommend you avoid the buffet all together anyway, unless you enjoy unripened fruit, watery scrambled eggs, syrup-less waffles, and watered-down oatmeal. Really an awful breakfast buffet, even for "free."

The valet staff were friendly, and given the location, I highly recommend the $12 per night to valet park in the hotel's secure, fenced in lot.

The rooms were nice. Comfortable beds, soft linens, plenty of towels, and clean. The kitchenettes were pretty nice also, with stainless appliances, and again, clean. The sitting room was pretty bad, including a couch that is not really comfortable to sit in, and a chair that is nearly impossible to sit in. We stayed in a 2 room suite, so had plenty of room for 4 adults and 2 kids. Kudos for having a flat panel TV in each of the bedrooms and sitting room, and for the good channel selection including free HBO. Additional kudos for the free wifi.

Was surprised that the hotel was so quiet, particularly on New Years, and given the location.

I would recommend this to others, but buyer beware. Its a clean and comfortable and relatively affordable place to stay, but not anywhere close to the action in Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhweintraub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

I did a lot of research on the area and hotels in historic Savannah and settled on this hotel. Glad we did! This hotel is a few blocks from the main streets (i.e. River St, Bay St. & Broughton), but it is within walking distance and/or there is a free shuttle called the DOT that comes every 15-20 mins. Please don't be fooled from the view from the outside (it is behind a gas station). The hotel is very nice, the staff is more than willing to assist with questions on the area, etc. We requested early check-in and they were able to assist. Our room was more than spacious for two people and if we would have brought our 3 yr old it still would have been more than enough. There is a kitchen with a full size fridge, microwave, two person table, computer table, pull-out sofa, big screen tv. Went down both mornings of our weekend stay and had their complimentary breakfast which consisted of scrambled eggs, grits, sausage, biscits, gravy, oatmeal, fruit, bagels, muffins, cereal and you could even make your own waffle! We also hung out at the small bar and had drinks which many of the other guests were too. The only negative thing I will say is at times we could hear people walking in the rooms above us but we both slept good. Did the valet parking which I think is well worth it. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ucfbelle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
389 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed here November 8-10. Great location in the city. Walking distance to several restaurants and the shuttle stops through every 15 minutes to take you to River St. Hotel itself is very nice with usual breakfast and great evening happy hours w/ appetizers. Room was stellar with nice linens, stainless steel appliances, and HD TV. Staff is very friendly. Next time I am in Savannah on business, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshb2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I would normally have rated a hotel like this 3 stars. Nice enough rooms, good location but not the best (close to visitor's center), and expected amenities. Its not a luxury hotel, but that's to be expected.

But the service really set this particular Residence Inn apart. From the beginning, the wonderfully helpful check-in staff provided me with all sorts of info on Savannah, including on ghost tours for that very evening. They even advised me to park on the street and save the $12 a day for valet parking. No reason they had to do that. The next evening, I was craving some fruit and asked where the nearest supermarket was and they got me some apples from their kitchen - no charge. The last day, I asked for late checkout and they were able to provide me an extra hour, despite the fact they had a huge party coming in that weekend - and were even apologetic that they couldn't accomodate me further. Throughout my stay the staff was so friendly. Its hard to remember when I've received better service.

The complimentary breakfast is wonderful. Not the best breakfast I've had by any means, but probably the best complimentary breakfast at a chain hotel (I'm not including B&Bs of course). Eggs, toast, meat, grits, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, potatoes, waffles, etc. etc. all displayed very nicely.

I would definitely stay here again! Highly recommended...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Well this would have been the perfect stay. I travel often enough to never have been awoke by housekeeping. Well I went to Wet Willies the night before, so needless to stay I needed to sleep a little later than usual haha. Well at 9am Housekeeping was pounding on my door (Checkout is at Noon) I said yes, and they said (you need to put your DND on the door) I thought that in this day and age they would know who has checked out and who hasn't, so I don't know why that mattered but that bothered me somewhat. Its a great place, a little ways from River so you have to drive, but they had free beer and nachos at night and the room was very comfy. A great place to stay in Savannah if you want a nice room but you are still budget minded.

Save $$$ and park free behind the building. (Valet is $10 OR $15 BUCKS)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imhoatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#18 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 500 W Charlton St, Savannah, GA 31401-3109
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#16 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#19 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing