We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ralph Mark Gilbert Civil Rights Museum Inc.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Please visit this excellent museum!

This should be a required stop on any visit to Savannah as the exhibits keep changing. The people... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
shoshikw
,
Boston, Massachusetts
The Civil Rights Movement from a Local Perspective

We very much enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about Savannah's civil rights history. There is... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
rbrogan
,
Seattle, Washington
Read all 276 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Savannah
from US$27.50
More Info
from US$19.99
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$53.95
More Info
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
199
55
17
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
55
17
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african americans jim crow sit ins black history excellent displays martin luther king important history eye opening personal tour american history admission fee first african baptist church learned a great deal wonderful history savannah history self guided tour two hours
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We learned much about the Civil Rights movement that we'd not been aware of. The film in the chapel is the best place to start in this small yet worthwhile museum. The gentleman at the front desk was welcoming and helpful.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank 27JeanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have visited a number of museums and historical sites relative to African American history. Prior to this stop, I seldom remember Savannah being mentioned. This museum opened my eyes to the unique and effective civil rights movement that was organized here. It is not a museum about the happenings across the country, but rather only those in Savannah.
I suggest you start with the 17 minute film shown in the chapel (2nd floor). (Note: ask when you enter - it is the last place you will find!). This film gives a great overview that is embellished by the various exhibits. Otherwise the exhibits seem rather random. This isn't a particularly fancy museum, but you will learn a piece of history unique to Savannah. Well worth the education.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were really interested in visiting the Ralph Mark Gilbert Civil Rights Museum but it turned out to not actually be as interesting. Although the museum had some fascinating exhibits, it was so poorly run that it felt like more of a waste of time and money than anything else. The gentleman at the front wasn't very friendly when we walked in, they were disorganized and initially provided no information including brochures (because they had run out and offered no alternative), and frankly what you get out of the museum, the fee doesn't reflect. In my opinion, the way the museum was setup I thought it should have been donation only.

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank chewclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Troy enthusiastically welcomed us into the museum, oriented us to the layout, gave us a great overview of the exhibits pointing out particular highlights to us, and then took us upstairs to view the introductory video. The museum is very well done and includes some nice interactive features. We found this to be a great place to learn about and be reminded of this period of our country's history.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank 349peggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I took my 2 boys to this museum and we had a good time. It was informative and gave them a new view of the civil rights movement. Troy was especially helpful in giving additional information to us.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews