We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun stop for Girl Scouts”

Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #15 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Juliette Gordon Low Birthplace is Savannah's first Registered National Historic Landmark. Enjoy a guided tour, tracing the arc of Juliette Gordon Low's life and the Movement she founded that continues to build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun stop for Girl Scouts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

After a short wait, we took a brief tour. Our guide seemed knowledgeable but admitted that she didn't know answers to many questions. The house is very attractive and there are many fun facts to learn. The garden is very pretty, don't miss it . I wish the gift shop didn't stock so much junk. There are lots of scarves and jewelry made in China that have nothing to do with Juliette Gordon Low or Girl Scouts. Its a quick, thoughtless way to earn money, which seems counter to Mrs. Lowe's ethics.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GhiaDvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    408
    107
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tour & Gift Shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stopped for a visit with my daughter who's a girl scout (Cadette). It was interesting to see the house and hear about Juliette's life. However, we did not learn much about her life as the founder of Girl Scouts and some of the amazing things she did and accomplished with the girl scouts. Our guide seemed more excited in talking about SCAD then the tour. The gift shop had an assortment of items and was the best part of the tour. You cannot take pictures inside the house, only in the garden. If you are in the area I would suggest you visit the home but don't make a special trip for it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuvTravel2011KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great experience, issues though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a beautiful house, and the tour is fine. The history is great. We came from several hours away with a large troop, organized a great deal to come here, this was supposed to be the highlight of the trip. They offered a time filler by giving 16 girls a single sheet of paper then sent them out to nearby public park to do a scavenger hunt. Huh? I thought this was a little wrong. The tour was shorter than the time they allowed us in the gift shop. Our tour guide was very nice, but the rest of the experience was suboptimal. We did a girl scout experience at Fort Jackson of all places, and the state park worker there outshone the JGL house. They quizzed us on girl scout trivia, gave us a history lesson on US/Girls Scouts, and handed out badges!!!. The JGL house knows that girl scouts will often make the trip and don't seem to try very hard,maybe because their volume is so high? Maybe our expectations were too high, but if you're coming to Savannah for Girl Scouts, add other related features like a scheduled trolley tour or trip to Fort Jackson with your troop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jolleyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fun for Girl Scouts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This tour is worth a visit. Lots of history and art by JGL. Tour guide (and staff) was very knowledgeable and friendly. It's a must visit for all Girl Scouts!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Furjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardy, AR, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Every girl scout should visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a great treat to see this wonderful house. I took my granddaughter and she just loved it. The house is filled with things from her life. The tour guide told some great stories, too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Juliette Gordon Low's Birthplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing