We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beers!”
Review of The Distillery

The Distillery
Ranked #72 of 864 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Beers!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A fun place with a great selection of craft beers on tap. Only shared warm pretzel bites served with two dipping sauces, one mustard based and one cheese. Perfect!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mg523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    382
    137
    45
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
golconda
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Goooood like Andy Griffith”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The burgers and the hard hearted hannah were all good. They also have a good selection of beer that change from time to time. I am a fan of craft beer so this was a plus for me. Our server Meredith was pleasant as well. I can't forget to mention that the prices aren't too bad either.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rambler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beer good. Food nope.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Wish we had gone with our gut instinct and gone elsewhere for dinner. The beer list was great though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
153 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good beer, average food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This place had a good selection of beer. If you like craft beers, stop by. However, the food was average. Edible but average. It is near the Visitor's center and easily accessible.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank srodday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
209 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Craft beer lover's heaven”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you're into CRAFT beer - you need to give this place a try. Despite it's name (The Distillery), the specialty here is beer - specifically CRAFT beer. Don't stop here if you're into brews like Budweiser, Miller or Coors - they don't serve any of those - they specialize in craft beers. They have something like 20 "on tap" and another 30 or 40 in bottles. And the wait staff is very knowledgeable about beer. The atmosphere is old and historic - very comfortable place to spend the evening. They also have a nice patio out front.

Aside from beer - this is also a good place for food. The menu leans towards pub grub but also includes items like an excellent She-crab soup (huge bowl) and steaks and chops. We started off with their "pretzel treasures" as an appetizer and then my wife ordered the She-crab soup and a side salad while I had the "blind pig" - a marinated pork tenderloin sandwich with the stout fries. The food was excellent and the service was also very good.

My only regret is that I discovered this place on my last night in Savannah. I'll definitely be stopping here again on my next trip to Savannah.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Distillery also viewed

 

Been to The Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing