We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Skidaway Island State Park
Ranked #19 of 217 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located near historic Savannah, this park borders Skidaway narrows, a part of Georgia’s intracoastal waterway. Trails wind through maritime forest and past salt marsh, leading to a boardwalk and observation tower. Visitors can watch for deer, fiddler crabs, raccoon, egrets and other wildlife. Inside the park’s interpretive center, birders will find binoculars, reference books and a window where they can look for migrating species such as Painted Buntings. Children will especially enjoy seeing the towering, 20-foot Giant Ground Sloth replica and reptile room. A scenic campground is nestled under live oaks and Spanish moss, while groups can enjoy privacy in their own pioneer campgrounds. Open-air picnic shelters and an enclosed group shelter are popular spots for parties, reunions and other celebrations.
Bermuda Run, NC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our first stop at this state park, we were on a ERA motorhome and carry a scooter. The village center is within easy walking distance with nice grocery, banks, and drug store. Very nice trails for walking good areas for biking. Restrooms and showers are nice and clean, men's is kept at a hot temperature. Lots are flat and wooded so well protected from the wind, sites are huge up to 80 x 100. We took the scooter into town three times during our stay and is a easy 20 minute ride. The mall and movie theaters are even closer. The trolley tour picks up at the park on Friday and Saturday so would be the good days if you do not have transportation. We give it a very solid A rating.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    121
    29
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hubert, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enormous campsites”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Spent the night of Nov. 23 thru noon on the 25th at the park in site #66. Prior to going read dozens of reviews and most mentioned the size of the campsites. Without a doubt they are the biggest I have seen. I would say the average size is 80'x100' with some bigger. All sites are pull thru. Since the water and electrical is right beside the road, to take full advantage of the size of the sites you need a minimum of 50' of water line and 50' of electrical. However, 25' of each will be plenty if you don't mind being close to the road.

70 sites have water and electrical hookups with 17 more also having sewer hookups. All but 13 of the sites had cable television hookups. 37 sites are 30amp max while the other 50 have 20/30/50amp hookups. The sites are grouped into 4 sections with a total of 3 bathhouses. Our bathhouse in area #3 was pretty new. The men's side had a urinal, two commodes and two large showers. The ladies had three commodes and two large showers. A separate unisex handicap bathroom had a commode and shower. They all were very clean. All bathhouses also have washers and dryers to wash your clothes. Normally, at this point I would tell you what sites to avoid and what sites to get. I honestly did not see any bad sites and since you can not reserve a specific site, you have the opportunity to drive around and pick the site you want from what is available.

The park itself has several trails that pass thru forests and along tidal saltwater marshes. Along the trails you can observe Civil War fortifications in addition to lots of wildlife. One of the trails leads to an observation tower. The park is app. 12 miles from exit 94 on I-95 and also 12 miles from the Historic district of downtown Savannah and Paula Deen's Lady and Sons Restaurant. Only 3 miles from the park is the Wormsloe State Historic Site for which you can get a $2 off admission coupon from the campground staff. Even though the park is surrounded by housing developments, it was very quiet.

If visiting Savannah(which you should be doing), I recommend you park at the Visitor's Center on MLK Blvd. This building also houses the GA Museum of History; the Railroad Museum and Children's Museum are next door. Parking on the weekend is free and during the week $7 per day or a 2-day pass can be purchased for $12. This is also the home base for all the sightseeing tours including the Old Towne Trolley, Olde Savannah, Blue line, Ghost tours. It is also a departure point for the free DOT bus that will take you to most of the same stops the other tours that charge $12-$15 a person go to. This is a deal and I recommend it. You can always buy a guide book to get the history lesson.

This is a campground and park that I definitely recommend and will return to again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank speckhunter80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's like being in another world”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

All the spanish moss on huge oak trees, mingled with palms. Rode mtn bikes on the trails (some roots but very flat and easy). Not crowded in early Dec so it felt like we were in another world alone. We rode around the campground and cabin area, would love to spend a few nights here. So quiet and beautiful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank drazilnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great camping”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

very clean quiet have stayed there twice and will for sure head back. staff is very helpful. the first night there my pump went out in my camper and the gentelman at the front office found me the closest place to get a replacement and also printed me the directions. highly recomend

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“really great location”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a jewel of a park. Campsites are large enough to be seperate from neighbours. Clean washrooms and friendly staff. The park is really close to downtown Savannah. Georgia has the most friendly, helpful people that you could wish for.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skidaway Island State Park also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Skidaway Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing