We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Layout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #39 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Layout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel was staffed by very friendly people. It was clean and the colors were very pleasing. I loved it- the only issue I had with it was that it had to have been designed by a man. It's perfect for a male business traveller....but not do much for a couple traveling together, or for two unrelated people to be sharing a room.

(We had a room very close to the elevator. Not a problem...there was no noise that we dealt with....I'm just not sure if every room has the same layout.)

There was a small "water closet" -just a toilet and a very small sink....no counter. And the light was dim. At the corner of the room there was a larger room containing a nice-sized shower and a sink with a very nice counter and a large mirror. But the light was subdued. Not good for applying makeup....

The small room with the toilet also had a pocket door....and was not going to help anyone if they were using the toilet and trying to keep anyone in the room from hearing what was going on in there. (I was traveling with my husband -we know each other pretty well and share a bathroom....no issues for us, but maybe two business colleagues?? Awkward!)

That said, the room was comfortable and the staff was pleasant. Just wanted to point out that little layout situation just in case it would matter to a future guest.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    341
    159
    43
    25
See reviews for
357
326
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

To start with my only objection, there is a mandatory $15 a day valet parking fee. We were there on a weekend and later found out there is no parking fee at meters on weekends so we could have saved $30. Otherwise I liked the trendy new room, the location was such that we never took the car out of valet. Food was very good in the morning with a wide variety. It was full of Girl Scouts making a mess of the waffle machine but otherwise not noisy. If you stay, I highly recommend taking Savannah Dan's 2-hour walking tour. We had a pleasant view and didn't hear noise from other rooms.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orindaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The rooms are relatively large, look nice and are clean.

As there is no kitchen, the breakfast is very... basic: Cereals, fruits, coffe and that's it.

Staff is nice and helpful. Valet parking is very convenient

Room Tip: Always go for high floor! The rooms on the main road side are not particularly noisy (good noise ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

From the valet man to the front desk workers and to housekeeping everyone is great. Front desk was very very kind and helpful. The rooms are nice and stocked with Paul Mitchell toiletries. Location is perfect. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momma2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I had to make this arrangement quickly and had not stayed at this property in the past. It was teriffic. Service, great. Rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. I was able to easily walk down to the river walk and enjoy.

Room Tip: Bring your bathing suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel was in a great location and was able to walk everywhere and short cab rides if I returned after dark. Wish the property could some type of bar service in the lobby but I realize it's a limited service brand. The breakfast was nice each morning but would have preferred to have yogurt available. The valet was fairly quick on the few times I took my own car anywhere. One tip on the valet parking, you will not be ticketed on weekends for street parking if space is open and you don't mind parking on the street. However the $15 is the average cost for downtown hotels. My room was set up nicely though the separate toilet was odd but I could see where that would be great for couples or families. The desk set up was perfect to take care of a few work details while on vacation and the sitting area was very comfortable. There was a very obvious stain on the carpet when I checked in that I brought up to Housekeeping. Otherwise, I would have given a better cleanliness rating. Besides that, very clean and comfortable. Plan to stay there again on my next Savannah getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdhAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

After much research on Tripadvisor we chose this hotel based on the reviews, especially regarding the high level of customer service. All-in-all, we were not disappointed. That said, the hotel is better from the proverbial bird's eye view, than from the actual bird's nest. The location is wonderful. It is easy walking distance to the whole of the historic district. Our retired (no, not tired, but retired!) old legs held up as we walked from the hotel to the riverfront at one end and Forsyth Park at the other end of the historic district.

The layout of the hotel room is very friendly, especially for those who have different sleep habits. The separation that can be created by shutting some divider panels at the desk area does a wonderful job of allowing anyone in the bed area to sleep undisturbed. Having the shower and sink in a room separate from the toilet and a sink is also quite handy, especially when multiple people are trying to get ready/dressed at the same time. The rooms are spacious and the small refrigerator and microwave are truly handy.

The weak points of the room lie in the furniture selection and the cleanliness. The desk chair and the sofa couch were the only options for sitting and watching television, reading, or just talking/visiting. The seating is so uncomfortable that we literally couldn't find a position that didn't cause our backs to ache. Also, at a surface level the room looked clean. But, it didn't take much closer inspection to find a fair amount of dirt, dust, and debris. There were hairs on the toilet seat and in the shower sink area. The clock, lamps, and such on the bedstand and the desk had clearly not been moved in a long time; there was a layer of dust under each. The carpet had stains, as did the couch.

The fitness room, too, suffered once you actually used the equipment. Several of the televisions on the equipment were barely functional or non-functional. And, the equipment/room was not being properly cleaned or attended. The sani-wipes and drink cups were empty and there were only a few towels for use while on the equipment. While there is a nice choice in cardio equipment, the only other equipment is a basic set of hand-held weights.

The breakfast buffet, however, is very nice. Anyone who can't find a breakfast option here is simply too picky. There was everything from hot offerings such as eggs, oatmeal, and grits to fresh fruit, muffins and bagels. Coffee is available throughout the day.

The customer service receives mixed reviews, as well. The only customer service person at the front desk during check-in was on a personal call as we approached and stayed on this call for a few mintues as we stood there waiting to be checked in. She was also noshing on food in clear sight. More frustrating, she took phone calls and addressed newcomers before finishing our check-in process. She asked us if we had valet parked and we told her that we had not, but she clearly didn't properly note this, as our final bill included a charge for valet parking each day. The concierge, however, was very pleasant and helpful. Also, Lauren deserves kudos for assisting with finding a post office to send post cards, ordering a taxi, and correcting the problem with the final bill. Thank you Lauren!

Would we stay here again? Probably. That said, there is room for improvement once you get past the surface level.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiana2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#20 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing