We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern fun in one of the nation's oldest cities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel was built inside a historic building near the river in Savannah. It had an ultra modern design and was the perfect getaway spot for our family of four. With two teenagers, I am always searching for something cool enough for our kids, but comfortable enough for mom and dad. This hotel fit our needs perfectly. Two comfortable queen sized beds plus a sleeper sofa left room for all with no excuses for sibling fights! Having the bathroom facilities split, sink and toilet in one room and sink and shower/bathtub in another gave us privacy as well as shorter prep time in the mornings.
The hotel was in walking distance of wonderful dining and tourist spots. We never used our car.
We were on the second floor, which was the same floor as the terrace pool and hot tub. Very convenient for all of us to enjoy. I thought the pool too small, but I heard no complaints from our 13 year old son, so reading the latest John Grisham novel in peace was an unexpected pleasure.
The first night we ordered food delivered to our room. The concierge offered us a large supply of restaurants to choice from. We picked a good one, Congress Street Social Club. Best wings I have ever had...order them smoked with your favorite sauce.
We also dined at Lady and Sons (touristy, but teen friendly) and Molly MacPherson's Scottish Pub. The Pub was awesome, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

We traveled to Savannah after spending the weekend in Charleston, and have to say that we were just blown away by the beauty of Savannah,as well as the value of this beautiful hotel right in the historic district. Everything we wanted to see was in walking distance, and we did not use the car except to leave town for Tybee Island or Bonaventure Cemetery. We chose not to use the valet parking, but instead to use metered parking which was cheap and easy to come by within one block of the hotel. You pay nothing on weekends or after 5 pm, and you don't have to feed the meter until 8 am on weekdays. We were not automatically charged for the parking. The hotel was clean and had a business center with free printing which came in handy. The pool is located on the 2nd floor. It is small but adequate for someone who would like a quick swim. Parents can supervise older kids from the hot tub right next to the pool. It was not crowded during our visit. The suite was very spacious for our family of 5,and I especially liked that there were two separate bathroom areas-one with a vanity and shower and a separate private half-bath so that more than one person could be accommodated at any given time.Breakfast was very crowded and there were usually lines for food. I don't really mind a small line for free food, nor do I mind Girl Scouts underfoot. Their parents know a good value and troops probably choose to stay at this hotel year after year to visit the childhood home of Juliette Gordon Low,the founder of Girl Scouting, in Savannah. The only thing I did not care for at breakfast was the meat. It was very unappetizing. There were other choices though,and the staff was working very hard to keep everything stocked. I will definitely stay here again on a return trip to Savannah, which I hope will be soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayofam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We chose the Springhill Suites for our trip to Savannah since our children were coming with us. We were on the 3rd floor in a 2 queen bed room with living room area and mini-fridge/microwave area. Having stayed in a Springhill Suite before (Lafayette, LA), I expected the kitchenette area to be a bit larger. While on the small side, it was still adequate enough to meet our needs while in Savannah. So room size was a plus while we traveled with our 11 year old son and 8 year old daughter.
I loved that the bathroom was split, being the toilet and a small sink were in one room and the shower and another sink/vanity were in another room. We are a family used to having access to 3 bathrooms at home, so this alone made the room worthwhile!
In the room, the linens were clean and neat and were changed as requested. We stayed for 4 days and had no problems with getting replacement/clean items.
The plumbing in the toilet did squeal when flushed and then calmed as soon as the tank filled. I could have complained, but this was not a big deal for us. The carpet was dirty, with large and small spots on the floor. It needs cleaned or replaced - we wore shoes/socks the entire stay. The bathroom areas were clean as was the fridge and microwave. The living space was adequate and included a sofa that folded out to a bed (uncomfortable, but typcial of a small mattress/sleeper sofa) and a desk with multiple plugs.
Staff were great, even the valet attendents. All were very friendly and more than happy to meet any request I had. Our vehicle was brought around once during our stay and it was a very quick process.
The breakfast lacked a lot to be desired. We are on CST at home and Savannah is EST being they are an hour ahead of us. While on this vacation, we didn't set alarms and slept late until around 7:00 a.m. every morning (late for us). Meaning it was 8:00 a.m. Savannah time. So we got to breakfast at about 9:30 EST and were dissappointed with the selections being un-filled or lacking all together - some were just removed early. In addition one morning the curtain was pulled on the breakfast at about 9:45....didn't stop me or several other moms from moving the curtain and getting what we needed (breakfast was supposed to be available until 10). I had to remind myself that I brought several snacks (granola bars, nuts, etc) and that we weren't here for the hotel breakfast, lol.
It was in a great location, walking distance to everything in historic Savannah.
Overall, would I stay here again? Possibly, at least while traveling with our kids. Probably not if just myself and hubby - we would opt for a more upscale place :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

We really like staying at the Springhill Suites in Seattle, and we liked this one even better. The rooms and the pool are beautiful, and Brianna at the front desk was really nice, patient and helpful. The location was closer to everything than I expected. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kids_on_the_road_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Savannah for one night and chose this hotel because I am a rewards member and typically Marriott hotels are great hotels. Sadly this stay almost changed my mind. The front desk clerk was very helpful at getting me checked in early, so I did appreciate that, but once I went outside I learned that the valet had hit the roof with a luggage rack on the vehicle in front of our car which held up our parking for a while. That wasn't so bad, accidents happen and I felt sorry for the guy.

Once in the room, we were pretty impressed with the layout and decided to go for a swim but the pool area was gross. It looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for the season yet. As a result we decided against swimming and went downtown (nice proximity). Being pretty tired when we arrived back at the room we hopped in bed to call it an evening. The bed looked clean....upon further inspection however, there were hairs all over the backsides of our pillows. I seriously think house keeping just turned them over instead of changing the pillow cases! It was disgusting. Since it was late, we just put our blanket long ways over them and laid on them that way.

During the night we could hear people coughing and the window shade next door being moved constantly, not to mention the extremely loud bathroom of our neighbors.

Breakfast the next morning was minimal. The staff couldn't keep up with the patrons and as a result the food was depleted quickly. We chose to go with cereal so we could move along quickly instead of waiting in line for fifteen minutes like the other guests were doing.

Overall, it wasn't enjoyable and we left the hotel pretty let down. We ended up paying $360 for a night that wasn't anywhere close to being worth that. It was just the little things like the housekeeping issue and noises. Breakfast was busy and that wasn't such a problem, that stuff happens. We visit Savannah annually, but next time we will probably check out another location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watet-man30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Loyal Marriott Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your annual trip to Savannah. We would like to apologize for your experience not exceeding your expectations. We will be sharing your comments and concerns with our Executive Housekeeper regarding your room cleanliness as well as our Chief Engineer to inspect the pool conditions. We are also actively working on creating a better flow for breakfast and have recently purchased a conveyor belt toaster among other upgrades to increase speed in the morning.

We appreciate all of our guest feedback, as it helps us to identify & improve all of our guests' experiences here. We would hate to lose you as a loyal Marriott Guest and would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We only stayed here for one night as we were looking at a college for our daughter. The hotel was quite modern and the room was lovely. The only thing that I didn't like was the location of the bathroom in our room. It faced the beds and gave very little privacy. But the room was large and accommodated the three of us easily.

It is located in a great spot and is within walking distance of everything in the historic district. The breakfast was good, but they had a hard time accommodating so many people at one time. It needs to be spread out more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We just stayed the 1 night and wanted a hotel easy to get to and handy for an afternoon/evening explore of Savannah. This was perfect.
We had requested a quiet room on a higher floor, which we were given. The room was spacious and very comfortable and clean.
Short walk to the river and perfect for exploring Savannah.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
We would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £120 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing