We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #40 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Have a great time The hotel is very nice The staff is very professional they treat you special the rooms very big and very clean it has a refrigerator The hotel is in a great location you can walk everything I recommend going to a restaurant call the six pence English restaurant has great food at reasonable prices you would have a good time in Savannah

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wroehrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Second stay at this hotel. Rooms are clean and in good condition. You do need to request a room with a tub if that is important to you since some rooms only have showers. Valet parking is $20.00/day and street parking is available by the hour. We are frequent travelers and this hotel has the best complimentary breakfast we've had. Sliced ham, cheese, fresh fruit, oatmeal with lots of nuts, brown sugar, honey, etc., eggs, sausage, and more. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate were available all the time. Paige at the front desk was very helpful to the extent she could be. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Request bathtub if you want one. Ask for room away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the heart of the history downtown Savannah. Austin at the concierge desk was the most helpful, though we are not equally impressed with the lady at the front desk. The breakfast was loaded with fruits, yogurt and freshly cooked eggs and sausage. Our only complain was the $20 per day price sticker for parking.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Waverunner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is within walking distance to everything and has valet parking for $20/night. We had issues with a staff member who lied to us about getting an early checkin and resulted in us wasting 5 hours waiting (after an 8 hour drive). The staff seemed like they weren't familiar with early/late checkin/out, as it was stated numerous times that our checkin wasn't until 4pm (aware of that, usually you pay a fee to checkin early, I guess that was a foreign concept). I contacted the general manager and the hotel promptly addressed the issue (which, to me, was the guy lying to us, not whether or not we could checkin early). Nonetheless, they put us in a 6th floor room that had a nice view. The rooms are what i would consider average. Although, oddly setup, limited lighting and the use of LED lights provided poor lighting. The room needed cleaning. The fridge had leftovers in it. There was clearly visible built up hair, dust, and dirt behind the pedestal sink (that made me check everything). The
breakfast was ok, but kind of average for lower end hotels. We didn't experience the hall noise and other issues people reported. Overall, it's a decent place that's close to everything, but it's not a "Marriott" by any standard.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hgsize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with your check in and do apologize for the miscommunication that took place. We also apologize that the room you were checked into was not properly cleaned and assure you that this is not normal for our property. We have alerted our Housekeeping Supervisor to ensure this does not happen again for future guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We went with my brother and sister in law. We usually stay at 4 and 5 star hotels and were very pleased with-the Spring Hills. The hotel is close to everything downtown. Decor is modern-deco, looks like it might have been recently renovated. The concierge lady was the sweetest, I believe her name was Leslie. The breakfast was good. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed and pillows comfy. The Jacuzzi was the very hot, the jets were powerful.

I'm happy with my choice. I really spend time on tripadvisor when finding a hotel. I email previous guests at places I'm considering and have been very fortunate in my choices.

They do charge $20 dollars a day to park. I found that silly.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room by the pool if you like to sleep in or go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is very modern. The staff was very nice and made sure we had the type of room I requested. The hotel is just on the outskirts of the main downtown area (it is over a half mile walk from River St - not 6 miles as one person posted) so you have to drive or walk a distance to the main things. We stayed here as a family of 4. We bought a parking pass (for $6 a day) from the visitor center and parked ourselves in the Robinson City lot (be careful not to park in the Chatham courthouse lot) and this saved us a fair amount of money (compared to $20/day to valet) as well as allowed us to park at all meters and other city lots around town.
The room was decent size and a great location, end of a hallway away from the elevators and stairwells with windows on both sides but I have some complaints. We had 2 queens and a pullout. The pullout was so uncomfortable for my 10 yr old that we had to remove it from the couch and put it on the floor. The beds were a bit saggy so that the sides were higher than the sleeping part, although I did have a good night sleep surprisingly. They want you to reuse your towels, but there is no where to hang anything up. All the doors are pocked doors to save on space (except the closet) and there was 2 hooks in one bathroom and that was it. One day after being gone all day, we left at 9:30 we came back at 4:30 to a room that wasn't cleaned, very frustrating since we had to get ready for a party and now had to have someone come in and clean and bring us new towels (ie we didn't have anywhere to hang them). The breakfast was good, but crowded and closed at 9:30 during the week, so my husband missed it, and the man was quick to close it. There was also overflowing barrels (one trash can for the whole area). And 1-2 people trying to replenish anything. When I left there I thought I'd stay there again when we go back to visit since we need a room with 3 beds and that is hard to find in the heart of Savannah, but after writing this post I'm not sure I would and since we drove to everything may opt for something a few miles out of town.

Room Tip: Corner Suites have two windows and are away from the elevators, ice machines and stair noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for recently staying with us. We apologize that you found our hotel to be far away however, we are located directly in Savannah's Historic District less than 1 mile from River Street, Broughton Street, the Telfair Museum and more. We are very sorry that your room was also not taken care of while you were out. We have already reviewed this issue with our Housekeeping supervisor and can assure you this is not typical of our property. We have forwarded your review to our Food and Beverage supervisor as well to ensure our breakfast remains out for its entirety and that the area remains cleaned. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention so that we can better serve our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I am a Marriot traveler. However, I will never stay at a Springhill Suite again. The "suite" was so small we could barely move around. There was room for one suitcase only. We used the desk for luggage. The bed certainly was not Marriot standard. It was soft and saging in middle. The small refrigerator needed to be defrosted. The location stated said that it was within walking distance to River Street activites. In fact it was more than 6 miles. I had to request shampoo. It was forgotten. Lots of hall noise!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpt33905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for leaving your comments. We do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and are very sorry that your we did not meet your expectations. We typically receive rave reviews for our location and guest rooms and are very sorry to hear that you left unsatisfied. We hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our property on your next visit. We do also want to let you know that our property is located less than 1 mile from Savannah's Historic River Street and apologize if you were given incorrect directions at any point during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £103 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing