We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #39 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Mediocre stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were disappointed by our stay based on the positive TA reviews. First, though it's in downtown, it's definitely at the edge, so most everything is a bit of a walk. Second, the breakfast are at hours such that you have to be up pretty early to get to it so if you're trying to relax/sleep in, you'll probably miss it. Third, the room was pretty oddly laid out. The toilet and sink are in a separate area. Worse though, our shower flooded each day and we had to clean up the water. Finally, one of the reasons we chose the hotel was because it had a hot tub... it was broken when we were there. Pretty disappointing!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
rtrobin.

We appreciate your comments on your stay. It is only through our guests candid reviews that we are able to evaluate and improve our product & service. We have definitely heard the comment on size of the Historic District many times before. With Savannah's Historic District being the largest registered historical district in the country, it tends to seem that you are a long way away from everything. WHile we are quite a distance from Forsyth Park (great running route though), we are ideally situated to River Street (3 blocks), City Market (1 block), & the Civic center for Concerts (directly Across the street).
The rooms are definitely different in their layout & approach with the split bathroom. Marriott was looking to think outside the box & bring a more European feel to a Select Service hotel. We realize that this is not always to everyone's taste.
The breakfast hours are 6:30-9:30 weekdays & 7-10 on weekends & holidays. We understand that we have many varying guests, and that it is hard to accomodate everyone sometimes. We apologize that these times we a bit early. We always are reviewing what our guests tell us as a whole, and will continue to re-evaluate the these times to consider possible future changes.
I am unsure of why the hot tub may have been down, but assure you that we work diligently to keep it up and minimize the time it is down for service.

We hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    356
    172
    48
    26
See reviews for
381
342
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I agree with other reviewers about the odd layout, separate very small rooms for toilet/sink and shower/vanity, but it is certainly workable. Breakfast run-of-the-mill for Marriott, nothing special, nothing awful. The view from our room, however, was grubby (rooftops, parking garage, alleys & dumpsters). The hotel faces one of the parks, so I decided to ask. So I did-and asked why, when I made the reservation way in advance AND I'm a Marriott rewards member, were we on the backside with a lousy view. Answer? Oh, we have three groups in..... yes, we know, and all three consist of teenaged girls. Ok, so your loyal customers get the lousy rooms? This is the second trip where this has happened at a Springhill (last time was a soccer tournament for boys aged 6 to 9). I'm thinking we'll be looking at other lodging options next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellasGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! It is always insightful to hear what our guests see & experience while with us. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding your room placement & subsequent explanation by our staff. We do value our Rewards members and work hard to keep them happy. I would hope that our staff were merely sharing that we were very full with large groups that may have had special needs or requirements. As you indicated, we try to keep groups that may be a bit more boisterious, separate from other guests so they do not disturb others.
PLease accept my sincere apology for this lessing your stay. We work hard to deliver every guest the experience they expect, and do take it very seriously when we fall short. We hope that this will not deter you from using Marriott in the future & would love to have the opportunity to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Honestly, my husband and I had the good fortune of finding this GEM of a hotel late last night - January 30. Sandra was INCREDIBLE in finding us an AFFORDABLE room. Then I had an amazing dip in their beautiful indoor pool and relaxed in the spa. We had very comfortable beds and a very spotless room. The FREE breakfast was like NO OTHER we have ever seen in a hotel. Bonnie ensures she satisfies EVERY need and man-oh-man, can she ever COOK! Try the scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy. YUMMMMMMM! They even have a driver named, Dante, who will help you in any way he can! Thank you to Kevin, the Manager! You have managed to make this the most enjoyable stay we've had in all our extensive traveling.

Room Tip: It won't matter in this hotel. ALL rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swwimmerjpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, good breakfast, nice room. Close to River Street. Would stay there again. However, our sheets were not changed because the same orange juice stain that was on the sheet earlier was still there after the sheets were supposed to be changed.
Overall it was a great stay, great location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tailascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulee, FL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here in one of the king suites with whirlpool tub for our 15th wedding anniversary. It was clean and spacious. All of the staff we encountered were very pleasant. We did not take advantage of the free breakfast so I can't comment on that but our room was great. My husband even said the mattress was better than the one we have at home. The location is within walking distance of everything you need. The best thing for us was finding Broughton Street. This was our first time in Savannah not staying on River Street and I must say I'm glad we didn't or we would have never found the great shopping and food available in this area. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2GirlsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Room is nicely laid out in a Retro Modern decor. Very convenient location if you like to stroll around a little. Breakfast was the same as all the suites with the microwave breakfast thing. Staff very young, very friendly and helpful. To move from average to good or better they need to pay better attention to the room cleanings. Our room had a red stain (hopefully wine) on the carpet in a couple of areas, Also an unpleasant odor when we first checked in which dissipated after a while. We had stayed in the Westin for a few days before checking in and the difference in the mattress quality was huge. I am not sure it was the quality as much as our mattress was just worn out - that bowl shaped depression and kinda lumpy. I don't mean to make it sound worse than it was, but this hotel could move up greatly in the guest experience category with just a little better cleaning and new mattresses.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was a very good place for us to stay as it was only 3 blocks from River Street. We were able to valet park the car and did not have to take the car out to do anything. There was a $20 valet charge\day which we were not used to doing (valet parking that is). It worked out ok since we didn't have to take the car out to do what we wanted. We had a suite w/2 queen beds & queen sofa bed. Living area was separated by a partial wall in order to provide a little privacy (my son and his family stayed w/us). Check in was very quick and staff was helpful. Breakfast was good each morning although my 3 year old grandson was upset that they had no waffles the second morning we were there (that was the day we left). Concierge staff was very helpful w/suggestions of places to eat and describing the Old Savannah Tour (which we found up doing).
Did have a little problem w/heat & air conditioning. Room was set on 72 or 73 but it constantly blew air conditioning; however, we did not report the problem. Did have to request another blanket for the pullout sofa but was brought to us almost immediately after requesting.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor #430) at the end of the hall which worked out good for us. Quiet hallways. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 150 Montgomery St, Savannah, GA 31401-3228
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#26 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new SpringHill Suites Savannah Historic District is located in the heart of the Historic District, offering free breakfast and contemporary guest suites. Our Savannah hotel’s downtown suites are within walking distance of the Savannah Civic Center, Telfair Museum of Art, City Market, Lady & Son's Restaurant, River Street & Savannah's Visitor Center. For Girl Scouts, we offer the immediate access to the Juliette Gordon Lowe Birthplace, a great way to experience the history of Savannah near our downtown hotel. Our hotel’s complimentary features include a hot breakfast, high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas, mini-fridge and microwave in every guest room, on-site concierge services with trolley pick-up & an on-site heated pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. All of our hotel’s downtown Savannah, GA guest rooms are 50% larger than average & include an oversized walk-in glass shower, a separate powder room and a 37" flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Savannah Downtown Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing