We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, but don't expect to get a good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice decor, but don't expect to get a good night's sleep”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I hope this review will serve as the fair warning that I never received for anyone considering this hotel.

Pros: Very nice decor, clean, stylish rooms, and a great location for getting around by foot.

Cons: NOISE - the rooftop bar has live music on Wed, Thus, Fri and Sat. nights. We were staying on the 6th floor and we laid awake in bed each night unable to sleep because the music from the rooftop bar was that LOUD. When I called the front desk at 12:30am to complain the woman told me 'that's just how it is' and offered no solution, didn't even offer to have them turn it down. We were 3 floors below the bar, that's how loud it is. At check out we raised the concern again and they responded by telling us that its 'normally only floors 7 and 8 which complain about the noise', as if it were totally acceptable to have that many noise complaints from PAYING GUESTS! Shocking. They didn't seem sincerely apologetic at all and didn't offer any kind of compensation for several nights of ruined sleep.

There is also a DVD/Cable box device in the room that makes a constant loud noise, like a loud laptop fan that won't stop running. We had to unplug the power each night to shut it off.

We enjoy going to loud nightclubs on occasion and we are no stranger to a good live band, but when you pay these prices for a hotel room, you expect it (at the very least) to be quiet enough to crash and get a good nights sleep!

Lack of Parking was another issue that they don't seem to care much about. There are approx. 10 free parking spaces outside the hotel and the remaining 15 or so are metered. Word to the wise: if you can't snag one of the free spaces you can park your car just down the street at a parking garage at $16 per day. The hotel will valet your car to this same parking garage and charge you $21 per day.

Another drawback is the lack of amenities. No pool, no spa, no fine dining, no mini-bar (strange). The riverfront restaurant looks beautiful but is very casual dining and they accept non-hotel guests at all of their bars and restaurants making it very crowded, so book ahead! Expect to stray away from the hotel for most things...at least it is in a good location for doing so!

Finally, the bathroom and some parts of the hotel smell like sewage. Probably due to the proximity to the river. We came into our room one day to the strong smell of sewage coming from our bathroom.

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is not the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you value a good night's sleep, go somewhere else, but if you must stay here I would advise s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. While you enjoyed the décor and great location, please accept our sincere apology that you were disappointed with the noise in your room and lack of amenities. Next time you are in Savannah, please pay a visit to our sister property, Mansion on Forsyth Park, offering a peaceful setting with a variety of amenities!

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    260
    136
    58
    29
See reviews for
148
604
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The hotel is nice looking in and out. However our service was less then subpar. We checked in and found our room was a handicap room. Now at 500.000 a night. I shouldn't receive a handicap room, or I should of been told beforehand. It had no tub. A short closet (handicap). I asked to be moved. They were booked. So we stayed two nights in this room. At the end of the stay they did remove a night stay, which was nice.

After driving home. We noticed that we were missing a bag. So we call them up. They said they would ship the bag for free. Only because it was in the bellhop's closet.

The window wasn't sealed right so we had a draft.

Two weeks go by, and I check my credit card statement and they charged me for both nights. (This is still being resolved.)

Room Tip: Get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robotrenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We apologize for any inconvenience and are pleased we were able to solve the situation.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is a great choice on the river. In the heart of the riverwalk with good restaurant choices lots to see and do. The hotel is very nice and has a very comfortable feel. I found the staff to be both friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the water pressure in the shower which was very low but that is a common complaint for me. Overall I would recommend it and am sure that I will be back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views and are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We are pleased you found the hotel "comfortable" and our team "both friendly and helpful". Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My first time in Savannah...what a wonderful city! (Partner visited many times on "business", at the adequate, but boring, hotels nearby.) The tours of the amazing parks, historic homes, gorgeous architecture of the "public" buildings (even the "corny" trolley tour guide comments!) , celebrity restaurants, and trendy shops were so enjoyable , but very much "expected".
However, the Bohemian Hotel was FAR from the usual...the site photos do not do it justice. The location was great...walking distance from ANY of the "famous" downtown destinations.
(or...use a day long trolley pass, getting off and on as you choose...cheaper than any taxi in comparable city.)

Even if had had traveled alone, I would have enjoyed this unique hotel. Being described as an "autograph" property, were expecting something different...we were not disappointed.
The decor was refreshingly "non-tradtional" for the usual hotel experience.
True appreciation of art is in the "eye of the beholder"...LOVED the art in the lobby, reception area, and rooftop restaurant/lounge. Not such a fan of the (personally speaking!) fairly disturbing bathroom and bedroom art!
Would have preferred more seating in the lobby areas, but they were nice and beautifully appointed.

Our 8th floor room (although not a "balcony" room), had all of the necessary expectations for a traveler, but unique enough to depart from the "cookie cutter" experience!!
We did not have noise from the rooftop restaurant/bar interfere with sleep, but did not go to bed "early" , as we wanted to enjoy everything in the city until the last possible minute!
The leather chair and ottoman were SO comfortable...could have slept there all night wrapped up in the wonderful soft "throw" from the bed! (would love to have them at home, but probably cost prohibitive!!!)
The riverfront views are nice...trade ships seem really close and are entertaining to watch late at night from your room. Take the time to "slow down" and watch them pass.
(We live on a large river, and enjoy watching the barges travel by when we are home...gives a sense of calmness and simplicy to life.)
Through no fault of the hotel, the opposite riverfront view is of an industrial area...not very pretty to look at...take the good with the bad. Maybe the city needs to put an ordiance in place to plant evergreen trees in front of the industrial sites along the riverfront.

The restaurant prices were no more than expected for any similar destination and location...actually cheaper than some we have encountered. The food was good....individual tastes always have a preference...the lobster "corn dogs" were phenomenal!! (raw oysters need to be colder.)

EVERYONE at the hotel was more than helpful, very cordial...everything expected from a hotel of "autograph" reputation. Yes, it is their job, but "southern hospitality" is alive and well with the family of employees at this hotel.

For business travelers...the room is no darker after sunset than many other rooms with "artificial" lighting. I would suggest "calling it a day" at sunset...claim a little of your "free time" , and enjoy watching the ships go by from the rooftop or in the comfort of your room from the comfy leather chair. (or both!)

Room Tip: Ask for a rierfront room ...with a balcony if you really think you would benefit from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for the wonderful compliments regarding your stay at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We are thrilled you enjoyed the ambience, art, river views and your dining experience. We look forward to serving you with "southern hospitality" again in the future.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
332 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Was my first time in Savannah, and travelling alone, decided i wanted a good class of hotel. The hotel had wonderful views of the riverfront, and accessible to most shops, trolley tours, but it just lacked something! I was on a 4 week tour of USA, and had already stayed in 4 hotels.
I thought it was expensive to eat in the hotel, so eat out all the time. The hotel was very dark everywhere.
One day i locked myself out of the hotel safe, and an engineer came and just put his code in and got access to my safe! That was a bit worrying.
I would definately go back to Savannah, but not this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Riverfront view, its worth the extra. you can watch the boats go by at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingSolo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your recent visit to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. Please accept our apology that your stay failed to meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our team for improvement. We would like the opportunity to serve you again should you return to Savannah.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Savannah is an interesting mix of old and new and the Bohemian is solidly in the trendy new category. We visited Savannah over the weekend and the Bohemian was a good place for our getaway with a great location. The decor was an immediate surprise - gothic-nautical, shabby-chic and sometimes creepy. Hallways throughout were dimly lit with dark walls giving the place a very edgy feel. Fortunately, the room was bright. We were situated on the 8th floor with a fabulous view of the river and the trade ships en route. The room was a good size, the bathroom fabulous, even without a soaking tub. They traded the latter for a spacious shower - kudos to the designer! I slept well on the comfortable bed but I will warn readers not to choose the 8th floor since noise from the rooftop bar is still notable at this level. My husband had more difficulty sleeping with the party going on overhead.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a nice dinner at the restaurant and we also enjoyed the bar on the rooftop. The bar was a scene and quite crowded, but there was room to move outside and places to sit and enjoy the views of downtown Savannah.

I would recommend this hotel if you are in town to enjoy the nightlife but if you are looking for Old Savannah, keep looking - this isn't it.

Room Tip: Call and ask which rooms are best to minimize the noise from the street below and the party overhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pack-N-fly-N-play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
We appreciate the review of your recent stay at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront and are delighted it was a “good place for your getaway with a great location”. We are pleased our team, your room’s amenities, the “fabulous view of the river”, your dinner and visit to the rooftop bar were all memorable experiences. We hope to see you again when you return to the Savannah area.
Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Although I had a reservation for 3 nights, I left after the first night to another hotel. I was in Savannah for work and needed a clear, lit atmosphere in my room. The ambiance of the hotel - on the floor where my room was and inside my room - was so dark it was difficult to work. It was, instead, perfect for a couple get-away!

The staff were helpful, although they couldn't accommodate my request for additional lights (desk lamp? floor lamp?). There were none. Fortunately, I was able to check out without a penalty.

Be sure to check your final bill. My reservation had required a deposit, and when my bill was printed out, I was charged 2 nights instead of 1. The staff immediately rectified the mistake and apologized for the oversight.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodiexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We certainly appreciate your comments that have been shared with the appropriate departments in order to improve future guest satisfaction. We would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,991 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,768 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Property: The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Address: 102 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1109
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing