We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Bohemian for just one night. It was a bit hard to find the entrance to the front of the hotel when you’re driving since you will probably pass it the first time, it’s not readily marked.

When you first walk into the hotel you know you’re not in a typical hotel. The people checking you in are behind desks, not “hotel” desks but big wooden office type desks. We checked in at 3:30 but couldn’t get into our room because they said they were still cleaning. We could have checked out bags and roamed the area but we wanted to freshen up first so we waited. On or about 4 PM the clerk said our room was ready and we went up.

There are three elevators in the hotel however only two of them go the floors with rooms and you need your room card to get onto the floor. We were on the top floor. The whole place looked very posh which mean dark lighting, dark carpets and some funky stained glass wall decorations.

When we first got into the room there was a crib in the room, yikes! Not for us so we pushed it into the hallway.

The room was big enough, king size bed, large bathroom with HUGE tub and a separate shower and toilet that was separated by glass doors (more on this later). There was a window that separated the bathroom to the bed area but you could close the shutters so you had more privacy in the bathroom.

The bed area consisted of a bed a desk that made up almost one side of the room and a padded bench which was in front of the window. The bed was very comfortable except we could hear a vibrating/humming noise when we were on it. We couldn’t tell if it was coming from another room (filling up the Jacuzzi?) or the roof. The TV was also connected via some sort of computer system that you could use the remote as a mouse and scan channels or websites.

I was a bit creeped out by the ceiling light fixtures in the room. Both in the bathroom and the bedroom there were chandeliers but the light fixtures were encrusted with oyster shells, I mean, totally covered. While at first interesting, it sort of became creepy.

Back to the bathroom, the toilet was in its own room/closet which had a glass door. If you were sitting on the toilet or in the shower for that matter, anyone else in the room (if you didn’t close the shutters between the bathroom and bed area) could see you.

The products they provided were really nice and I really enjoyed the shampoo and conditioner.

They had a gym here but we didn't get to try it out however, they didn't have wifi in the rooms, or at least we didn't. We could access the wifi in the restaurant or near the front desks.

The location of the hotel was excellent too. It was along the water and the hotel had a restaurant in the bottom and a roof top bar. You were in close walking distant to other restaurants too.

While we only stayed one night, we would definitely stay here again if we return to Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    256
    128
    57
    27
See reviews for
144
584
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Read the other reviews...not sure why the complaints. Maybe we were just here at a slow time when there were plenty of staff and no problems. Check in was smooth and easy. Room is quaint. Upgraded to "River View" room with balcony. Restaurant had good food...made reservation online. Staff very pleasant and "respectful" Great location. Tour buses stop right in front of hotel. Right in the middle of it all! Read many complaints about noise from rooftop bar...We stayed on 8th floor right under it...no complaints!

Room Tip: This is not a "Resort" for children. more upscale environment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addormitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great location downtown. Close to bars, restaurants, and shops. Snooty front desk service - something we are not accustomed to as Marriott Platinum members. The decor is fun - just what the name Bohemian would suggest. Riverfront has nice view of the river - be sure to upgrade to balcony room to get the most of the view.
The downstairs restaurant, Rocks on the River, was great for breakfast - even on Christmas morning. The service was true southern hospitality. Loved the driftwood used for the lighting fixtures and as part of the decor. Pricey but that was expected.
Ice maker was insufficient for guests. Halls steamy hot. The shower was big enough they should have added a second shower head and made it for two.

Room Tip: Request balcony room for best view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggiedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent visit to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel’s location, river view and restaurant. We do apologize the front desk service failed to meet your expectations. Please know your concerns have been shared with the team for improvement. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is the best hotel in Savannah by far. Classy and clean with an unbeatable location on the river. I have stayed in Savannah many times and much prefer staying near the river to one of the numerous squares. This hotel is surrounded by the main thoroughfare and has become a contemporary icon of the city itself. The staff is fantastic and takes great pride in the running of the hotel; manager Jesse Martinez even greeted me by name when I first arrived. Overall a fantastic hotel, a memorable location, and a great night's rest. Already looking forward to my next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtraveler389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
We are delighted you are "already looking forward to your next trip to Savannah" and to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. It is a great compliment to our hotel and team that you describe the hotel as "the best hotel in Savannah by far" and we thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campaholickat
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Is what I said upon entering. Everything from the carpets & rugs to the chairs & artwork is stunning. A real treat for a 6 girl Bachelorette part in scenic Savannah. Would stay here again in a pinch.

TRIP DETAILS:
• Feb 18 - 20, 2011
• 5th Floor
• 2 Vehicles
• Six females (Bachelorette Party)

PROS:
• Nice bathrooms
• Romantic feel
• Rooftop bar (must be 21)
• Nice restaurant downstairs
• Scenic view
• Easy access to riverfront & downtown
• Felt safe & secure with great staff & valet

CONS:
• Didn't find any!

Room Tip: We had a street view room but I'm sure there are riverfront rooms available (surely for a prcie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campaholickat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for you for the review of your visit to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. We are delighted your experience during your Bachelorette weekend was wonderful and you were able to enjoy the location and hotel amenities. We hope to see you again when you return to Savannah!

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I read the previous posts and now having stayed at the Bohemian can only say i have no idea what the other people were expecting and can only assume they are NOT seasoned travellers.

Bohemian is perfect for those not wanting the typical hotel experience...definately NOT a "cookie cutter" hotel tho they are affiliated with Marriott. Room and in-room amenities were great. We had a spacious room w Riverfront view (but no balcony.) We were on the 5th floor so minimul street noise (though revelers do stay out late) or rooftop bar noise.

Staff were very attentive and made us feel welcome....all...from valet (car delivered under 10 mins) to front desk/concierge, to bartenders did whatever they could to assist. Even the maintenance guy ( who had to change a light bulb) made a food recommendation that was spot on (place called Goose Feathers for breakfast.)

Location cant be beat

You owe it to youself to give the Bohemian a try. You wont be sorry you did

Room Tip: Riverfront view is a must....5th floor is great (and bypass the elevator to get out without waiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
We are thrilled your visit to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront was a delightful experience. We appreciate your many compliments to our team for the service you received. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you back to Savannah.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We wanted to stay on the riverfront and this is a great location for that. When we arrived, we could not get a valet to park our car for 15 to 20 minutes. We waited with our car on the street. Check in itself was fine. The room was pleasant and well equipped but felt a little small. Definitely just room for sleeping and showering....you wouldn't want to stay in the room other than to sleep and shower due to the size. it was clean and the bed was comfortable but I didn't like the upholstered headboard. The rooftop bar was unbelievably NOISY with the taped, then live music! Could not stay in that bar for ten minutes...even though we wanted to see the Parade of Boats on the river from the roof top...just couldn't stay due to the horrible NOISE! We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant; the food and service was great! I had ear plugs so I was able to sleep without hearing the roof top bar NOISE (no, I can't call that music) but my spouse was awake until the NOISE in the bar stopped....probably around 2am?

Room Tip: Don't choose the lower floors; people can see in. Don't choose the higher floors; bar noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelFun55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsaygartrell, Guest Relations Manager at The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent visit to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront. While you enjoyed the location of the hotel and your dining experiences, we do apologize the noise of the bar was disturbing. We would certainly welcome the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Savannah.

Kind regards,
Lindsay Gartrell
Guest Experiences Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#11 of 113 in Savannah
2,910 reviews
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,175 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
2,613 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection

Property: The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Address: 102 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1109
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing