We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #31 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel was perfect for our weekend trip to Savannah! We arrived on Thursday and left on Sunday, and were very happy with our stay. If you don't have a vehicle and don't want to rely on any type of public transportation to get to Historic Downtown, this may not be the hotel for you -- but if you have your own ride, this is just about the perfect place! Safe area, FREE PARKING, and lots of standard restaurants and shopping nearby. If you plan to visit the Historic District, parking is reasonable there -- or if you go on a tour, I know at least Oglethorpe offers free parking if you take their tour and use their shuttles throughout the day.

So the location is nice, they offer free parking, and they also have a free continental breakfast in the morning that is fantastic. They offer more than just pastries and juice!

Our room was clean and smelled FRESH, as opposed to musty or antiseptic, and the hotel itself was modern, clean and in excellent shape overall.

The ONLY downside I noticed was that you could hear quite a bit through the walls to the hallway, so how quiet it is really depends on how courteous the other guests are! I think that's the same with most hotels, though!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and I would definitely return to this hotel for another trip to Savannah!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    326
    127
    58
    31
See reviews for
442
377
46
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Five of us girls just spent the best three nights at this hotel,we all loved it,and all of the staff was more then willing to assist,we want to give a big thanks to Bruce,he carried our bags,tended to our every need,he was a delight.the food was good,the coffee plentiful.the pool was great,the hotel is very nice,i would recommend it to everyone who likes to travel,we can't wait to go again.one great hotel. jennie t.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel is brand new, so everything is modern and up to date. I was disappointed to find out how far from the Historic District it was. It's about a $12 taxi fare each way. There is literally nothing in the area to do, so you have to head to the Historic District for dining, attractions, etc. Also, the room didn't have a refrigerator or a microwave and the majority of the desk staff were less than helpful. One gentleman was very helpful, so I guess it's just luck.
All in all, it is truly a 3 star experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLeon1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and well furnished. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbearrentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I found this hotel by doing a search through TripAdvisor. I have to say I was quite surprised with all the amenities we had. We were visiting Savannah for 4 days and we decided on this hotel for several reasons: 1) AARP discount was sizeable and made staying there affordable, 2) I'm a Hilton Rewards member, 3) it was right outside of downtown Savannah where hotels charge for parking, 4) parking was free, 5) there was a Concierge service to book our tours, 6)breakfast and Internet was included.

The whole facility was clean and bed-bug free. When we asked for extra towels, they were delivered to us in a manner of minutes. The staff was very friendly and always offering us help and directions to where we wanted to go. The lobby was great and there was a large bar area where one could connect their lap top and work while drinking a cup of coffee. The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were clean and modern. We had an end room so we entered through a hallway which gave us the feeling of living in a Studio apartment.

My daughter and I are very picky about our hotels and our hotel stays. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone if they were traveling through or staying in Savannah.

Room Tip: Take a room at the end of the hotel that overlooks the parking lot. It is quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MB278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stopped here on our way to Florida and were interested in spending some time in Savannah which we had never visited. We decided on this "midtown" area rather than downtown where parking and noise could be a problem. The whole facility was clean, up-to-date and well-kept. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A 10 minute drive on Abercorn Street took us through a beautiful residential area, around some of the squares (parks) that Savannah is known for and right into the heart of the historic district. I would recommend this place and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle's Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful experience in ALL regards. The hotel is only about 18 months old and looks even newer than that. We had a Queen Suite which we enjoyed so much. It was furnished beautifully. The the point that my wife stated that she hated to leave our room. It had a sofa, desk, lounge, free wi-fi and a 37" flat screen TV.

The breakfasts that we included were of a very high quality and the dining area is wonderful.

Even though all of the facilities and amenities were superb, the whole staff was extremely friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs and making their guests happy. Just a wonderful experience all around.

Room Tip: Ask for a Queen Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Comfort Inn Midtown
#44 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing