We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived this afternoon did not get a very warm reception. Also, we are silver hilton honor members and we were informed we were not eligible for our complimentary waters. We just came from the Knoxville Hampton which was wonderful and they welcomed us with two bottles of water. We do not have a micro or fridge in the room which we expected. We were to stay four nights but we are not.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you being loyal Hilton guests and choosing to stay with us while in Savannah. We are sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us but please know that each Hampton property can have slightly different policies and amenities. We will pass your comments on to our Front Desk Manager for continued customer service excellence and make sure every guest is greeted like they were being welcomed home. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Savannah.

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    331
    135
    62
    32
See reviews for
451
387
46
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

the bed was extremely comfortable and room was clean. nicely situated charging areas. Breakfast was plentiful although my Friday coffee was weak. Don't nap from 2-3 pm or your room may not get cleaned. adequate parking. indoor pool is small. Fitness center is standard. Staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimary81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just stayed here for 2 nights. close to shopping and about a 10 minute drive to downtown savannah. Hotel was nice and breakfast was good. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. There was an indoor pool and hot tub. also had a weight room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mst235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is in a decent location, about a 10 minute drive from the historic district. It was as expected for this type of hotel. The rooms and property were clean and the staff was decent. The complimentary breakfast was good as well. The walls are apparently very thin though as we could hear a lot going on outside our room. Also, not quite sure what the deal was with the "complimentary wi-fi" because every time we tried to log on it asked to bill our room. However it was overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HIS_Midtown, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy you enjoyed the close location to the Historic District and the clean condition of the hotel. We apologize the noise level was louder than normal and the wi fi kept giving you that billing message. The internet is complimentary to all guests and we will investigate the wi fi connection to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Felton Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located within 15 minute walking distance of the River walk. The staff was very friendly to provide you with recommendations of nearby restaurants. Our suite was very clean and I was pleased with how quiet the neighboring guests were. My son was happy to discover they place cookies out at 7pm. However, I was more impressed with the array of breakfast items. Be sure to arrive early, if you want to snag a seat in the dining area.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Newer property, I think about 3 years old. Staff is friendly enough, rooms are nice enough, location is good enough. Nothing spectacular about this hotel but you will most likely be satisfied.
I have to admit, although it may not be an issue with this hotel, I was a little miffed when I checked in and was not offered a bottle of water or a snack or anything. You would think being a frequent guest would at least get you a bottle of water after a long drive. I was told that I must have chosen to receive points or something??? I know it's picking nits, but I will probably be hitting the Holiday Inn properties more frequently because of a bottle of water.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This Hampton Inn is a little bit off I-95 for a one-night stay but I did it because it seemed to be in a safe neighborhood and indeed it is. It is also convenient to the historic district if you are there for a longer visit. There is a nice shopping center just beyond it with a Fresh Market, Starbucks, etc. There is also an enclosed parking garage which I particularly liked as I am often traveling with a large amount of luggage which I do not want to lug in for one evening.

There are the usual Hampton Inn amenities and the hotel was pretty well kept up although not new. The staff are helpful and courteous. The gym was in good condition and I was very happy with what appeared to be a new elliptical machine. I did not have the complimentary breakfast so can't comment but the coffee was good. I thought it was very good value and I would come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Azolene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Comfort Inn Midtown
#42 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing