We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful if you can avoid soccer tournaments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #32 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Monroeville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful if you can avoid soccer tournaments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I made reservations for my husband and I and also my son, his wife and their 2 year old daughter for a 3 night stay. The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable, all the staff is welcoming. The only BIG drawback was that they were entirely booked because of a soccer tournament. During the breakfast they (the soccer moms and dads) stationed themselves throughout the entire dinning area and sat at almost all the tables saving them for the people who were yet to come down for breakfast. I stayed at a Hampton Inn in North Carolina last year where a men's lacrosse team was also staying. The hotel opened up one of the conference rooms for the lacrosse team to use for their breakfast area. In this way, other paying guests were able to enjoy breakfast and not have to try and grab something to carry back to their rooms. I understand that rude people are not the problem of the hotel staff but it seemed with a bit of thought, they could have avoided a stressful situation. At one point we came back down for a second cup of coffee and one of the tables being saved still had only the woman holding the table sitting there. We could have eaten and been gone before they needed that table.

Room Tip: Our rooms were located at the end of the hallway and we heard nothing all night. I am a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monroeville890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    331
    134
    62
    32
See reviews for
451
386
46
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Large, very clean room in a nice neighborhood. Good breakfast. Covered parking garage. If you don't want to pay for a riverfront area hotel, this is a nice alternative. Approx. a 15 minute drive to the historic district. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I checked in at this hotel on 11-14-2013. I arrived a few hours before normal check-in and the staff was very polite and accommodating. Additionally, I had the pleasure of meeting the General Manager and he was a true professional. Based on my experience at this hotel, The Hampton Inn & Suites have earned all of my business moving forward. Mr. General Manager, I appreciate your staff's attention to details and your Southern Hospitality. I look forward to seeing you all again soon. Thanks, E. Mitchell

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HIS_Midtown, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Mr. Mitchell, we are so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown. We also appreciate you leaving your review of our property for other travelers. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our room was nice and the employees are great. Our favorite was Bruce. He took care of whatever we needed and did it with a smile:) Room was very clean and cozy! Staff that greeted us at the desk was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angus4him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennice, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel isn't in the historic district but we found it to be very convenient. Chicos, Talbot and Fresh Market are next door and there are many other shopping and options down the road.
The room was "Hampton consistent" and the covered parking was a plus. The staff were both friendly and responsive. When I asked about the lack of fridge in my room they had one delivery to my door in 15 minutes. And, they took my freezer packs to the kitchen to make sure they would be frozen and ready for our cooler when we checked out.
Excellent service in the Hampton Inn tradition.


  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Booking on line and with no previous experience of a city is always a good test of a hotel and this one was well up to the challenge. Anyone can provide a clean comfortable room and a decent breakfast but this place excelled at the task.
What marks it out is the friendliness of the staff, nothing is too much trouble, every single member of staff has a pleasant greeting and a a genuine desire to help.
Outstanding amongst them all is Bruce who is always on hand to help, advise on places to visit, eat and generally advise on what to do in his hometown. A really nice bloke.
Don't be put off by it seeming to be a bit out of the main part of the city, the route in is direct and easy to travel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here in September and since I had rented a car, even though it is not near the historic district, I could move around without a problem.
The rooms are big and comfortable, and very clean.
The staff at the reception was very nice, although I can't say the same about the cleaning staff.
They were not exactly rude, but they did not try to be nice, not even saying "good morning" when we got out of the room and some times not even waiting for the guests to get inside the elevator.
The breakfast was really good, but I missed having a microwave and fridge in the room.
There is a microwave near the reception, though, and some items the guest can purchase and have a late night snack.

There is also a small mall nearby, with a very good mexican restaurant (Cancun) the we went when we arrived, since it was late and most of the things were already closed. It was very good and the staff was really nice.

Other than that, the value for money was great, since it is a great hotel and you can really enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazinhaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted that you found our property to be a great value and a majority of our staff to be friendly. We have passed along your feedback to our Housekeeping Supervisor and have addressed your comments with our staff to ensure future guests do not have a similar issue. Thank you very much for choosing our property and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Comfort Inn Midtown
#42 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing