We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Ranked #30 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here once before. The hotel remains very nice, clean and convenient. Staff were polite and helpful. Convenient location, close to shopping and not far from the historic district without the price of the historic district.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mcbearrentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a fairly new hotel. We stayed in a king suite and it was WONDERFUL! Beautiful, clean, comfortable and quite lovely. A large suite with jetted tub, separate large shower, private water closet, lovely kitchen/bar, nice living room and very nice bedroom. ALL linens have been laundered prior to our visit - which is not only very reassuring but very comforting! Staff was nice, too. I missed the breakfast, as I slept, but my husband said it was quite nice. Also, how great is it to be able to check out at NOON and not 11:00 AM!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasperCharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

First item was we found two hotels and unless you are careful, you may end up at the wrong hotel. Both the Hampton and Hilton Garden Inn share the same garage Free parking only 10 minutes from downtown. Their signs are a little confusing, but they are right next to each other. We arrived at 3:30 pm and the check in time is 3:00 but the rooms would not be ready until past 4 pm. I had to suggest that they give us two other rooms and they were available. I felt that the staff should have been well trained to offer this themselves rather than my suggesting this. They were pleasant and did everything to please us. They suggested refrigerators for the rooms and provided them. This was much appreciated as the weather in Savannah is humid and hot during August. Our room was a very poor layout in my opinion, as when you wash your hands there is not a convenient location for the towel. You have to go around the wall to hang it over the toilet. There was no hand soap just one bar of bath soap. We could have called down, but used it for both. Towels were limited to two of each and although there was only two of us they should have had a back up. The room was kept clean . On the last day, I received my room charges under my door, but I had booked two rooms and both should have been on my account. Instead my guests had the bill slipped under their room with my credit information and my name . Then at 8:30 am there came a knock at my door asking if I was checking out today and I said in my bathrobe that I will be leaving by 11 am the designated check out time. They knew I was checking out but I do not feel you should have housekeeping knocking on your door at 8:30 am, as I could have been sleeping. My reservation said I was checking out and this is confusing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were vacationing in Savannah and wanted a central location to the sites we would be visiting. This hotel is an easy 10-15 minute drive to downtown Savannah and an easy 20 minute drive to Tybee Island. It is convenient to any needs you may have. A Publix grocery store, Starbucks, Bonefish Grill, Five Guys, etc. are located across the street (a 4 lane highway). There is a crosswalk or you can drive over if you don't feel safe walking. There is a CVS and multiple fast food restaurants as well as a mall down the street. The hotel has a parking garage which was convenient, a nice indoor pool, and a small fitness room. The breakfast was average - not as good as other free breakfasts we've had. They do have 2 waffle makers if you enjoy those. Only suites contain microwaves and fridges but you can ask for one or the other at no cost if you'd like. Cons to this hotel were that we were consistently given only 3 towels for a room with 4 people, there was no shower curtain when we arrived, and the breakfast was not great. Pros are that there were plenty of mirrors for our family with two teenage girls to get ready each day, it had two outlets and lots of counter space in the bathroom, there were USB outlets in the lamps so everyone had a place to charge their devices, and it was conveniently located.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and found it to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rsllhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Almost a replica of my previous hotel (another Hampton Inn), making it another standard for the chain. The room don’t include a fridge but you can ask for one in case you need.
Very friendly customer service from the clerk during check in, clean rooms and next door to a little plaza (other side of the street) where you’ll find places to eat and even drink a decent wine. The neighbor Hilton also offers a lunch buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FredBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I'm 74 yrs old, I totally forgot my Honors acct. #, my pin # and my name didn't come up on the computer! Anyha at Hampton Inn in Savannah Midtown was extremly patient with me and spent 20 minutes or more straightening the whole mess out! What a fantastic employee! John O'Donnell Los Angeles,CA

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The quality of this hotel is excellent. The staff were very professional. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. I truly enjoyed my stay at the Hamptons. Sometime in the future I will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Loubertha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
9.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
0.9 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 115 in Savannah
911 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown

Address: 20 Johnston St, Savannah, GA 31405-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £84 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah/Midtown hotel is where you want to stay. Ideally situated in Midtown Savannah, our hotel is located only three miles from the historic district and within walking distance of many fashionable retailers and well-known restaurants. Ask our Concierge to make reservations and recommendations for Savannah's area attractions. Our hotel offers four flexible event rooms able to accommodate up to 200 guests. Let our expert catering and events team take care of the details, including a personalized menu for your occasion from our celebrated executive chef. Spacious, welcoming and clean guest rooms await your arrival at Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown. We offer hotel-style comfort with a range of home-like amenities including a 37-inch LCD TV with high definition channels and free WiFi. Stretch out in one of our spacious studio suites with additional amenities including a wet bar, microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa. These oversized rooms are 50% larger than a standard guest room, a great way to upgrade your stay. Start the day off right with Hampton's free hot breakfast, featuring a range of delicious hot options including fresh waffles and oatmeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn And Suites Savannah Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing