We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galloway House Inn
Ranked #13 of 30 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Keith and Jim, The owners, are so friendly and accommodating. The apartment downstairs is absolutely beautiful! Our favorite was the giant dining room where we could have meals instead of eating out. Fully stocked kitchen, clean everything, and perfect Southern charm! We could not have asked for a better place!! Also, it's the perfect place for dogs- but there was no dog smell or trace that other dogs had stayed there, really wonderful!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Blado-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for The Galloway House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had an 18 member family reunion for a long weekend at the Galloway House and felt like it was our home. Jim & Keith made sure we were well cared for and our stay was comfortable. All the apartments were beautiful, charming, clean and well equipped. The main house first floor has an open layout with a spacious living room and dining room that afforded our family a place to gather and easily talk with each other. The large, wrap around porch was also a good conversational spot. We occupied all four apartments and each had their own charm and tasteful decor. As an aside, we also enjoyed the many books across a wide range of topics in the apartments -- a mini library in fact. Would highly recommend the Galloway House for a special occasion, gathering of friends or family reunion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If you don't want a catered breakfast, this is ideal. The accommodations are beautiful, comfortable, and immaculate.
It is not right in the historic district, but close enough to walk to the trolley - perfect to walk off the calories of all the great food in Savannah.
We stayed in the two bedroom apartment on the ground floor with complete kitchen, dining room, living room two beautiful bedrooms, and sunroom. We did have coffee and rolls, but mostly ate out (Savannah is too good to miss!). It was perfect for a girls' reunion. Private, comfortable, and spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Galloway House. It really wasn't simply a room - it was our home for a few days. Jim & Keith keep a wonderful home and their gardens are amazing. I couldn't get over how lush every thing was! They are in a great location, have wonderful recommendations for restaurants and activities and truly go out of their way to make sure that their guest feel at home. Next time we head to Savannah, we will be sure to stay at the Galloway House again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House - 2nd Floor. Very cute apartment with a nice kitchen and a comfy be...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were thrilled when we arrived at The Galloway House. It was even better than we could have imagined. We stayed in the lower carriage house. It was so charming and decorated very nicely. It was so nice to have a separate kitchen, living room, and bedroom plus a nice bathroom. The garden area was like one I have seen in magazines. We ate dinner at Katherine's Place as suggested by Jim. The food was delicious and the restaurant was first-class. Jim brought us wine and flowers which was a nice touch. We would highly recommend The Galloway House Bed & Breakfast for a vacation in Savannah. Thanks to Keith and Jim for this lovely place to stay.
Jo Conard & Joyce Richardson (Jo's Sister-In-Law).

Room Tip: We liked the Carriage House because it was as if we had our very own little cottage in the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommajo1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I can't overstate this: we adore the Galloway House! If I could live there, I would. About 4 years ago, I went for the first time with some girlfriends and stayed in the carriage house (so pretty and cozy). I loved it so much that my husband and I went to Savannah for our Honeymoon and stayed on the 3rd floor. We just recently got back from another trip, and we loved it just as much the third time around!

The place is a big beautiful plantation-style home with a wide, gorgeous porch on the front. For a couple like ourselves, the carriage house apartments or the 3rd floor in the main house are perfect for a getaway. First floor was perfect for family of ours that came into town with us. The whole place is tastefully decorated (but not obnoxiously so - they've taken care to let the original details of the home stand out) and this place feels more like a home away from home every time we go!

We always appreciate how clean and fresh everything is when we arrive. The bed is always big and comfortable with fresh crisp linens, and the bathroom was spotless with big fluffy towels to wrap up in after a shower. We love the little touches they add - fresh flowers, historic pictures, a great selection of Savannah travel books in addition to a binder full of useful information on the area. We also love the breakfast provided in our kitchen - fresh bagels, muffins, cream cheese, orange juice, and plenty of bottled water (plus a bottle of wine chilled and ready for our arrival!). The 3rd floor apartment is bright, cozy, and absolutely dreamy. I spent a few mornings sitting in the big beautiful window seat overlooking Savannah with a cup of coffee and a good book.

Jim and Keith have never steered us wrong on restaurant recommendations - definitely try Foxy Loxy if you stay at the Galloway House: it's less than a block away, and is not to be missed with plenty of great locally sourced ingredients in imaginative dishes, and fun local brews! Jim and Keith also steered us toward Vic's On The River when we stayed at Galloway House on our honeymoon, and it's one of our favorite restaurants to this day.

If you're looking for a place in Savannah, look no further. It's a fraction of the price of other 'historic' B&B's, with a much more laid back feel. It's just a minute or two from the downtown area, so it's close enough to get to the fun places downtown off Broughton and Bay streets, as well as the fun spots down on River street. It's far enough away, though, that you can really enjoy the quiet more laid-back aspects of Savannah. It's also dog friendly! We have never brought our pooch before, but it would be the perfect spot to bring a well-behaved dog. Jim and Keith also have two big beautiful (and super-friendly) Great Danes that add a lot of charm to the Galloway House.

Room Tip: 3rd floor in the main house is the perfect spot for a romantic getaway! It is a bit of a walk up the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

By far the best B&B I have ever stayed in. On arrival, we received a warm welcome and all the information we would need for our two days in Savannah (thank you, Jim). We followed up on as many of the suggestions as we could fit in, and enjoyed each of them.

The accommodation itself is superior (in my opinion) because you are in your own space. Not only do you get two bedrooms (1x king and 1x queen), but this is an entire apartment to yourself, which for two friends travelling together was plenty space. Kitchen is well stocked; Jim and Keith had also laid out delicious muffins and bagels for breakfast. Beds incredibly comfortable. Only small issue I would raise is the rooms are rather light at night, as the outside lights remain on, and the blinds don't completely block out the light; but if you are not a light sleeper, this shouldn't worry you.

The house is also within walking distance of the historic squares (if you don't mind a 15-20 minute walk). It is only a couple of blocks from Forsyth Park. There restaurants close by (Elizabeths n 37th; Betty Bombers; Butterhead Greens Cafe)...and I am sure there are others, these are the ones we walked past/to.

The addition of the flag on the balcony was a lovely touch. All in all I wholeheartedly recommend Galloway House to anyone visiting Savannah, and the surrounds.

Room Tip: Depending n the size of your party, there is the 2 bed apartment, which we stayed in...otherwise the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,320 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#3 of 30 in Savannah
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Justine Inn Savannah
Justine Inn Savannah
#5 of 30 in Savannah
1,440 reviews
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galloway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galloway House Inn

Address: 107 E 35th St, Savannah, GA 31401-8111
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range: £141 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Galloway House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"classic Savannah, a hidden gem!" Southern Living Magazine Go to: Galloway House Inn. Net for lowest rates and availability. We have 4 private apartments, each with it's own fully stocked kitchen, we live on site and allow dogs of any size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Galloway House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galloway House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing