We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to look at”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverfront Plaza

Riverfront Plaza
Ranked #31 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nine-block pedestrian plaza is located on the former grounds of the city's cotton exchange.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to look at”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to look at lots at things shops to and places to eat in front of the river you can plan sightseeing events as the vendors are here to help you plan the events to see the city

Helpful?
Thank tsilvamontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    100
    41
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I came down for the St. Patrick Day festival on Friday 3/14 & 15. First time visitor so wasn't sure what to expect. It was very crowed on the streets but it's to be expected. I visit some shops and bar along River St. and must say everyone treated us with respect. The area was clean despite the hundred of thousand ppl attending. I sat in front of the river and seen huge cargo ships go by. The street was hard on my feet so wear comfortable shoes. Nice and relaxing....

Helpful?
Thank Dimplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk around”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spent a long weekend in Savannah with the hubby. We like to walk down to the river and walk around. There are a lot of nice places to eat and great shopping too. Like Matter of Factor a wine tasting room with a large selection of local wines. There also was a nice Xmas shop and The Peanut Shop a great selection with samples to match. I would recommend Savannah for a long weekend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mazz1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

As some others have stated, this is a tourist trap. If you don't have a reason to go here, don't.
There's a few little shops that aren't overpriced flea market type items like the Christmas Shop and Earthbound. Past that, we did not do much shopping.

There are no public bathrooms anywhere, which makes no sense to me. If you want tourist traffic, why would you not at least have pay toilets?
The riverfront isn't much to look at. Lots of homeless people in the public sitting area. I'm sure it's fun at St Patrick's Day but in January with closed businesses and 60% off sales, it looked sad and desperate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank welchva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“one of my favorite places”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Always in plans to stop here when i go to Florida....I like this city because i can always find a new thing,place,store,place to eat ....or just sit by the river and watch the boats ,,all kinds of boats plus the old-style paddle boats and a pirate ship too .............what else do you need ?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SherryS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverfront Plaza also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Riverfront Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing