We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, crowded, and full of junk souvenirs”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverfront Plaza

Riverfront Plaza
Ranked #31 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nine-block pedestrian plaza is located on the former grounds of the city's cotton exchange.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dirty, crowded, and full of junk souvenirs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our 4 young adult children visited for the day. We stayed for about 30 minutes. It was dirty, crowded, and full of junk souvenirs. People are not friendly. If I ever come back here I will do a lot more research to find something worthwhile to see and do!

Helpful?
2 Thank ready_set_go6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    101
    41
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great waterfront with excellent restaurants, shops, tourist attractions, and bars. Beware, the waterfront street is cobblestone. I would not recommend high heel shoes. Some of the stairs going down to the waterfront are steep, but there are elevators available in some of the hotels.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JSW731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunsets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'm from Charleston, SC so riverfront/ waterfront parks are nothing new to me, yet this was still a beautiful place to walk around for a bit. There are tons of places to grab something to drink and if you make it down there in time you'll be sure to see a beautiful sunset. We watched a large container ship pull in as the sun was setting and it was pretty cool.
Great view of the bridge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LuTianHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pretty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is so pretty! My son loved to watch the ships and boats over the river. We walked part of it since it's long and he wasn't in a stroller. The shops are so pretty and the people was amazing (except for a non child friendly person that attended us at the visitors center) The street looks son pretty with the bricks and rails. I truly enjoyed my time over Riverfront Plaza.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zilade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Riverfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Worth a stroll, but shops are a bit pricey and many sell the same touristy items. A few decent restaurants, but other felt like tourist traps and weren't great. I wouldn't make it priority, but stroll through if you have time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MTLtravelerRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverfront Plaza also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Riverfront Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing