We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Inn- Savannah / Garden City
Ranked #98 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Lilburn, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE SERVICE”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Was wonderful and excited to get an upgrade but it all fell apart.

First they lost our reservation and was upgraded right next to a trailer park. Our room had busted doors and painted blacked out windows.

Second.... My friend and I stayed there and was locked out of our hotel room. Mind you, my friend is 7 months pregnant and couldn't get the key to let us in. Stayed up till 6 am banging on the doors and ringing the bell for service and no answer. Tried calling multiple numbers and still no answer. Ridiculous!! So we stayed at another hotel for one night because there was no hope.
Third.. went back around 8:30 am (exhausted and irate) to try and get SOME SORT OF SERVICE and was told that if we didn't leave the property we would get the cops called. All we wanted was our things and a refund for one night. That is ALL. But no refund and got completely nowhere with these people.

NEVER EVER STAY HERE! CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS HORRIBLE AND THEY DID NOT EVEN CARE! I will never recommend anyone (especially expecting mothers to stay here)

Room Tip: DO NOT DO IT! Pay the extra money to stay at a nicer hotel that cares and takes great care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThisTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    9
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had reservation. Checked into the hotel sign said open but the employee was asleep. Had to ring doorbell several times for him to open the door. Gave me the key. Room was good. No issues with the room at all. My husband was loading up the car, at 11 am, man told my husband if we were not finished in 10 minutes he would call the police. Are you kidding me?
I will NEVER COME BACK!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajai744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The accommodations were spacious, like a one bedroom apartment . The room was clean. Maintenance was lacking. The fridge did not work. The heat did not work. It took about an hour but we were brought a space heater. Promised a mini fridge. Never came. There were no vacancies to change rooms. No one came to clean or check in the following day. After complaints repeated, we got another room. This time everything worked but how annoying to put up with. If the area is right for you, don't pay till you know the room works.

Room Tip: Check the room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It literally felt like it was home! Super awesome staff, my husband and I met the manager of the place and he was wonderful! They revamped the hotel since the last time I came. Big rooms with a living room, sofa and two tvs! Excellent service. Very clean rooms. Definitely a choice for future stays in Savannah! The streets surrounding are a bit confusing but overall well worth the price

Room Tip: Try booking a room directly with the hotel. It's easy and fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was clean as well as the sheets, no off-odors. The room came with stove, sink, and fridge with freezer. The A/C worked great. Only 10 minutes from the historic district. Friendly Staff, although a bit absent at times, however they did leave their cell number posted when they were not in the office. Despite the fact that it is across from the Savannah Port and next to a Truck Yard, we slept soundly, I don't remember hearing any loud noises.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grovetown, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very basic amenities, which was expected. The customer service was ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!! The manager was extremely rude and tried to apply random charges to our room simply to make us leave him alone so he wouldn't have to fix the mistake that the girls at the front desk had made. I would never stay there again and I wouldn't suggest anyone else did either.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

My family and I just left this dump and like the other "customers" I had to look for a corporate phone number to complain.
We pulled off 95 south at dusk to get a room for the night. The owner "Indian man" had a shocked look on his face almost like he couldn't believe he caught a fly in his web.
I explained we had two adults and one child along with our two dogs.
He explained the price after tax would be $82 for the night. Considering it was late at night and all the other places in town seemed booked we took the room.
The owner was real fast to charge my credit card and he Mumble the room number 116 and disappeared.
It turned out he ran to the room to open the door to air it out. This was being done for a good reason, the room stunk. The first thing I noticed was blood, semen and long black female hair on the bed sheets. The headboards had claw marks from fingernails. The toilet had Fecal matter stuck to the wall, the bathroom door had a hole 15x6 which was made by some Critter.
When went to brush his teeth he picked up a towel and it was not only Filthy but it also had a long black hair stuck to it.
It was clear it was a section 8 motel, other "guest" seemed to not be staying but living.
That night no one could sleep, fights were taking place outside which really had us nervous due to a $80k Land Rover sitting outside.
I needed sleep so bad but couldn't, I really considered just sleeping in my car.
The next morning we couldn't get out fast enough!!
Although we had to wait, we had no soap, towels, and no water pressure ..... When we asked for towels they got Irritated like we were disturbing them.
We then had to go back up to the front desk to ask for a garbage bag. Instead of giving us a small liner for a garbage they handed us a Walmart shopping bag? Really?
As we left we pull up to the front desk area and had some lady who had no teeth come out to our car requesting an extra $15 for my family pet. I explained the price I was given included the dog. I then told this lady what I really thought of this creepy, dirty motel... As I pointed out everything I then took her attention to the Cockroach running across the blacktop towards the front door.
This place is a health risk and should be closed down

The experience was awful

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBE3945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savannah
0.9 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Savannah Garden City
10.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
1.2 mi away
Iris Garden Inn
Iris Garden Inn
#83 of 113 in Savannah
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#57 of 113 in Savannah
478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah/Garden City
11.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hardeeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn- Savannah / Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn- Savannah / Garden City

Property: American Inn- Savannah / Garden City
Address: 21 Main St, I-95 exit 109 Hwy 21, Savannah, GA 31408-1402 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn- Savannah / Garden City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Inn and Suites in Savannah features 44 guest suites that feature a full kitchenette, dining area, living room, and your choice of one bed, two beds, or four beds. Our property also features complimentary high-speed Internet to help you stay connected on the go. Whether you're in town for business or leisure, you'll enjoy our spacious rooms loaded with all the modern amenities, including premium cable television with HBO, telephone, and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your American Inn- Savannah / Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing