We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Owens-Thomas House

Owens-Thomas House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.00*
and up
Savannah Trolley and Historic Walking Tour Combo
Ranked #15 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Owens-Thomas House is considered by architectural historians to be one of the finest examples of English Regency architecture in America. Inspired by classical antiquity, this style of architecture takes its name from England’s King George IV, who ruled as Prince Regent from 1811 to 1820.The house was designed by the young English architect William Jay, one of the first professionally-trained architects practicing in the United States. The elegant residence was built from 1816 to 1819 for cotton merchant and banker Richard Richardson and his wife Francis Bolton. Mr. Richardson’s brother-in-law was married to Ann Jay, the architect’s sister. Three years after the house’s completion, Richardson suffered financial losses and sold his house, which later came under possession of the Bank of the United States.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

While in Savannah decided to check out the house that had the first plumbing inside. Even before the White House. Some of it was interesting about the stairs and the plumbing. Beyond that nothing special. Guess if you see one house you see them all. Our tour guide was very nice and seem to know his history. Sure there were better homes just did not have the chance to check them out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dolores W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    451
    138
    27
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Through tour”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Professional, thorough tour given by guides who are extremely knowledgeable. We paired this tour with another close by and were glad we did. Money was absolutely no object here and and the owners were very proud of that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank learnedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great tour with Shannon.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Based on other reviews I was expecting a great house with a so - so tour guide. Shannon was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. A must see location if visiting Savannah.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once is Good”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I'm conflicted with this house. The first time I took a tour, 10 years ago, I loved it! This time I thought it was o.k.. The architecture is certainly unique, and the history of some of the people who had been in the home is notable. The tour guide definitely knew his stuff - but if felt like he was reciting from a script and didn't seem very enthusiastic. A few people asked questions and he provided more information but I wish he had shared even more with us. Sometimes I don't know what to ask but I want to know everything. The tour is very pricey compared to others and I just didn't have the same feeling I had the first time I visited. That said, if you want to spend the money, put it on your list, if not go tour 2 other homes for the price of this one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Valley, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“River street a must”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

So many places oysters chicken fingers gelato need a few days here to cover it all. The best is walking around the streets with alcohol is encouraged as long as you are using a cup and not disturbing the peace!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Owens-Thomas House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Owens-Thomas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing