We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Wilderness Southeast Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderness Southeast (WiSE) has been leading people into nature for 40years. WiSE Nature Tours can be 2 hours to a whole day, and are eitherScheduled or Customized. You might choose to paddle a quiet blackwatercypress swamp, indulge in close (but safe) observation of alligators and/orbirds, or ride a motorboat through winding marsh creeks to stroll down awide, empty beach while you beachcomb for seashells. All tours are easyadventures; none are strenuous. Most are as appropriate for seniors as foryoung families.Professionally led by personable and local guides, WiSE tours occur allaround Savannah. All feature seasonal native flora and fauna, and will helpyou see and understand more about this beautiful and intriguing part of theworld. Expert guides weave stories of human history and culture into thenatural environment you are exploring. The friendly and professional staffis passionate about the area and loves sharing it with you. Guides enjoyanswering questions, and yet will always give you time to relax and enjoythe beauty of the place. You choose the focus and whether you want tostroll, motorboat, or paddle.Having a car is easiest as tours typically begin 15 to 30 minutes away fromdowntown Savannah. Efforts will be made to accommodate those withoutvehicles. If you have a vehicle for just a day, staff can providesuggestions of places to enjoy following your tour. Choosing betweenscheduled and customized tours involves questions of cost and flexibility.The WiSE office staff will happily answer your questions (phone or email),and help you choose the best exploration for you and your companion(s). Theywant to enhance your enjoyment of the Savannah area. Marvelous experiencesawait singles, couples, families, groups of friends, seniors, photographers,birders, clubs and school groups.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We spent the morning with Diana at Savanah Wildlife refuge and the afternoon with Kirstin seeing Tybee marsh and beach. Diana discussed birds with my wife which she loved and Kirstin show our son crabs and the beach life of Tybee. We had a great time and would use this group again when in Savanah. The payment was easy and email instructions great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lauchringen, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Seen the true beauty of Savannah”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Was on a two day business trip in Savannah, and wanted to see something typical for this region. So I booked a canoe tour with Wilderness Southeast. Online payment went fine, and got already tips about clothes etc. beforehand by mail. My guide picked me up at the hotel right on time. When we came to Ebenezer creek, we saw that the water level as on a record high since many years because of the heavy rainfalls last week. This made is special even for the guide, since we could canoe literally through the trees. Unfortunately it was a little chilly, but luckily I was told before to dress appropriately. The trip took four hours leisurely about three miles down to creek to the Savannah river and back and was spectacular. It was exactly what I expected (see pictures). The guide was extremely knowledgeable, and taught me not only details about plants and animals, but also about the history, Savannah in general, football, and whatever I wanted to know. She studied forestry and water management and teaches at various schools, so all explanations could be understood easily (even for a non-American). In these four hours we did not meet anybody else, so it was just the birds, the trees, the water and us. Gorgeous. Even many locals do not know about this beautiful place, which is a pity (and good for use so we were alone). For nature lovers, this is THE place to go in Savannah.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBumBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Great Canoe Trip on Ebenezer Creek”
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

We wanted to see a bit of nature on our trip to Savannah, so we booked a private guided canoe trip with this company. We're glad we did! Our guide Kristin met as promptly at the Arby's in Rincon, GA and we drove a few miles to the put in where our canoe was waiting for us. The two of us paddled while Kristin kayaked. We had a very private paddle down Ebenezer Creek to the Savannah River and back (six miles round trip). We never saw another soul on the river! This is a beautiful "blackwater" creek with 1,000 year old cypress trees along the banks. We saw birds, turtles and butterflies but no gators. Kristin was super knowledgeable and friendly! Lunch and drinks are not provided, so bring your own (they will provide lunch for an additional fee). This entire excursion with a lunch stop was about 4 hours. We thorougly enjoyed it and highly recommend Wilderness Southeast!
The only negative was the public restroom at the lunch stop at a put in on the Savannah River was in deplorable condition and had not been cleaned in days (weeks?). That is not this company's fault at all but someone has clearly neglected maintaining this restroom.

Helpful?
1 Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
“Beaches and Boarders Tour”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had a fantastic time on the beaches and boarders tour with Kristin as our guide. It was our first trip to Savannah and we wanted to know a little more about the environment surrounding the city. The guide was clearly knowledgeable and passionate. She taught us everything we wanted to know and more, plus she was a pleasant and friendly person to be around. It was worth the time and the money and I would do it again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Savannah National Refuge”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our family loves Savannah so much. We decided to make the 13 hour drive to spend the weekend. Each time we go we try something new. I came across the Savannah National Refuge on a website. I had debated on spending the money for the tour because I saw you could drive the trail for free. I am so glad I decided to spend the money. Becky was our tour guide and was excellent. She was friendly, knowledgeable, and even gave us the name of a local BBQ restaurant. While on our tour we saw many cars drive through, but they missed out on seeing the alligators and hearing the history of the area from Becky. Most of the alligators we saw we never would have seen without her. Our kids range from age 5-23 and they all loved the tour as much as the rest of us.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank lmcarter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilderness Southeast Tours also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Wilderness Southeast Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing