We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Savnnah Treat”
Review of Brasserie 529 - CLOSED

Brasserie 529
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Price St. & E. Broad St.
Description: Brasserie 529 located at 529 East Liberty Street. We have a twenty car parking lot, so you don't have to worry about parking downtown! We seat 45 people in the main dining room, 8 at the bar and 30 out on the patio. Brasserie 529 is a family owned restaurant and we make everything from pates, sausages, breads and desserts in house. Brasserie 529 also buys from local farmers!
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Savnnah Treat”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently chose to give the Brasserie 529 a first time visit, in addition to previously visited
favorites Elizabeth's on 37th and Sapphire Grill. We were pleased to find the dining to be on
a par with Savannah's best. We opted for the paired five course fixed menu, with chef's selections, and were pleased with the selections and, for the most part, the quality. The first three course were very good and sauces were great. There was a stumble on the fourth course, which was puff pastry with lobster sauce and meat. Unfortunately, the lobster was chewey and overcooked.
When we shared the news it was quickly replaced with a black grouper dish that was quite good. The last course, combined cheese and homemade sorbet, was up to the standards
of the other good dishes. The wines were very good and well paired. The decor was very
well done and since it was a quiet, early week night, we enjoyed a slowly paced meal with
plenty of time to enjoy our excellent server. They are very customer focused and work hard
to assure you enjoy the experience.
We won't hesitate to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ColReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fine dining”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

probably one of the top three restaurants in Savannah. Conveniently located, ambiance great..........not cheap

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mmcadams40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best French cuisine in town”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I did the five course taster's menu, chef's choice on all courses--a premium culinary experience. The chef is superbly skilled, and presents beautiful French cuisine with originality and elegance. If you want a first rate gastronomic experience, coupled with impeccable service, this the place for you. And don't miss the Prince Edward Island mussels---fantastic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank foodie1971445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Md
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Brasserie 529. We both had the 5 course tasting table paired with wines. The first four courses were excellent and the wine pairings were spot on. The only slight disappointment was the dessert which was strawberry shortcake served with espresso. We had expected a bit more imaginative dessert dish paired with a dessert wine.
Service and atmosphere were excellent and off street parking also a plus.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I made reservations to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We showed up about 20 minutes early, because we thought we'd have to find street parking, but they have their own parking lot! We were seated right away and ordered drinks and the cheese plate - so good! The waiter was very attentive, and the food was really great. I got the chef's vegetable plate of the day, and my husband got the flank steak - it was so much steak he took some home! We also got the strawberry crepe as dessert, and it was delicious! I would definitely come back here :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietVHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie 529 also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing