We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in Savannah”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night on a trip with our family. Went to Hilton Head Island for 5 nights and then to Savannah for one night as we were flying out of Savannah the next day and wanted to see what we heard was such a neat place. Used Starwood points to get 2 adjoining rooms as we have two little girls (4 yrs & 18 mos) and our rooms were perfect with river views. Rooms were very well appointed and the beds were very comfortable. Though we were there for a short time, we thought the staff was extremely friendly and delightful with our two little girls. The concierge set us up with a great trolley tour of Savannah and dinner reservations on very short notice. The pool area looked great for kids and the grounds were impeccable. We loved the fact that it was across the river from downtown as it was a fun ferry ride for the kids across he river to do downtown but also away from the bustle when you wanted to wind down. Also provided for great views! Would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area.

Room Tip: Valet parking is not worth the price at this hotel as the resort fee pest cover it as it does at oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSav, Dan Kakabeeke, Director of Operations at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review! I am so glad you and your family had an opportunity to stay with us and enjoy some of the beautiful sights Savannah has to offer. I hope you will visit again in the future and have a chance to stay a little longer with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    588
    241
    122
    68
See reviews for
434
698
57
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My colleagues and I stayed at this Westin resort while attending a conference at the convention center. We arrived at the hotel after 5pm and none of our rooms were prepared for our check in (which was at 4 pm). We were told that they were sold out the night before and still cleaning all the rooms. About an hour later, 2 rooms became available and that left of us still waiting another hour for 2 more rooms to open up. When my two colleagues checked into their room, they had one king bed. They had requested two beds. Thankfully, they went back to the lobby and had their room changed. On the second day, we left our rooms by 8 am and came back to our respective rooms after 5 pm. My room had been cleaned, but none of the towels were replaced. My colleagues in another room (who had to change rooms the day before) never got their room cleaned and had to call to request it to be cleaned. (They also had toilet problems and had to call maintenance to have it fixed. Unfortunately, the toilet continued to be a problem, but they were so tired by the end of the day that they just fixed it themselves!) Back to our "lack of towels" problem...as my roommate and I walked out to meet our other colleagues for a city tour and dinner, we saw the cleaning lady. I asked her to replenish the towels in our room and she said yes. Later that night, after getting back to the room close to 10 pm, there were still NO towels in our room. I called housekeeping and they did bring up towels. So, needless to say, we were rather disappointed with the housekeeping service. There seemed to be a lot of "issues" with getting us our rooms and then cleaning our rooms. For a higher end hotel, we did expect better housekeeping service. Aside from that, the lobby and rooms are all very nice and spacious. Once our rooms were attended to, they were clean. These rooms all have a BIG TV and heavenly beds! We had long days and looked forward to crashing in our beds. We all slept well! My colleague used the fitness facility which is a shuttle ride away, but she liked it a lot! They do have bikes to ride on a bike path around the property and they have elliptical bikes too! The pool area looked really beautiful although we didn't have time to enjoy it. There are NO vending machines in this hotel. The little store does sell soda and water, but closes by 10 pm and was even closed in the late afternoon on occasion. We were all bummed that we hadn't prepared by stocking up on diet coke for the evenings. Although, we quickly learned that the bar would be our savior. The wifi was free and easy to log onto. I had to call tech support once when the system didn't recognize my name with my room number, but the tech support guy was very helpful and simply gave me a special code to use for the remainder of my stay. Outside of the hotel was a free water taxi to get you to the "downtown Savannah" area and it runs until midnight. Take note that there are 2 stops on the other side (one near the Hyatt and one near the Marriott), so take note of where you really want to go. It was hot and VERY humid in Savannah while we were there this past week and the mosquitoes were awful! (Pack bug spray...at least for this time of year!!!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSav, Dan Kakabeeke, Director of Operations at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am happy to hear such nice compliments about our resort and staff. I am also glad to hear how much you enjoyed our Heavenly Beds! I apologize for the issues you and your colleagues faced with housekeeping. We have identified some areas that needed improvement and have implemented new procedures within the department to ensure that other guests are not subjected to similar issues. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and that you will see a marked improvement in these areas. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura CA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and had a great experience. Had a balcony over the river on 16th floor with spectacular view, nice room, but the pool area made the experience for us. Nice and relaxing and large enough not to feel crowded, and the kids loved the palm tree water feature. Just wanted a quick bite for breakfast and the inhouse Starbucks had plenty to offer and was really tasty. We drove to Hilton Head to the beach for one day, well worth the 40 minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatoventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSav, Dan Kakabeeke, Director of Operations at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for sharing such nice comments about your recent stay. It is always nice to hear from our guests and how much they enjoyed their visit with us. We hope that if travels bring you this way in the future, we would have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Savannah for a weekend getaway, it's not too far from home for us and we have always heard great things about the Westin. From the moment you check-in to the moment you leave the staff makes sure you feel at home and you are taken care of. The dining rooms and pool area were beautiful. We will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennivieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSav, Dan Kakbeeke, Director of Operations at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My fianceé and I stayed here this past weekend for a romantic getaway. The hotel is very lovely. The staff was nice, although it did feel a bit impersonal. No one ever acknowledged us during our stay or offered suggestions, just a bunch of busy bodies. The check in lady just gave me a booklet and said I could use that to find out about the amenities. They could use more signage, we did not know where to turn to enter the hotel and had to ask for directions to the ferry. The food was too expensive for our spending so we didn't eat there, although, we did order wings and drinks at the poolside bar. Wings were excellent! Drinks were just ok. Grape vodka mix and a beer.
Overall, I did enjoy my stay tremendously, The room was clean and we had an awesome view of the river! (a must do) I would definately stay there again.
One other thing: on Friday, night we were treated to a spectacular fireworks displayed. I don't know who sponsored this but it was a delight to see.

Room Tip: When checking out, take your room key with you to exit the parking lot, then drop it off at the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSav, Dan Kakabeeke, Director of Operations at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I do apologize that our front desk didn't mention that we have a full-time concierge staff that is available to assist you with reservations, and provide information about our resort and historic Savannah. I agree about the signage and am actually in the process of updating and increasing the signage on our property. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Savannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

nice enough large hotel across the river from savannah and next to the convention center. would be a real bummer to stay at if a big convention was being held. the pool was nice to hang out at, although being all shallow the water was too warm, but still it was refreshing and the service was very good. the rooms are large and clean. the water taxi runs all the time and often and is fun, so no worries getting into town. make sure to get yourself a wet willies adult slushie to-go before you ride back! hotel parking is fine. although a very corporate hotel, they seem to have a good pro staff team and it didnt feel impersonal as it might have. if no convention, i would rec this hotel away from, yet conveniant to savannah attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSav, Dan Kakabeeke, Director of Operations at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Savannah. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. I am happy to hear that you were able to visit River Street and enjoy some of the delicious drinks from Wet Willies. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Have visited Savannah many times, this is first time at Westin (across the river). They had a limited time only very low rate (check their website, it does go quickly). It was riverfront room (no balcony as those are limited) on 5th floor at end. The only downside was screaming child next door. The resort fee includes parking which is major plus. Elevator access is with room key which is good for security

When it rained, we took shuttle to Golf Club/Tennis Court clubhouse for free use of exercise room, steam room & sauna; there is also spa with services for a fee. They did not have way to arrange for tennis matches if you did not have a partner, indicating they are 'golf' resort which is a shame having very nice clay courts.

After rain stopped, used their complimentary bikes to ride old race track which circles through golf course. The pool & jacuzzi was nice although kids would get in jacuzzi even with sign saying 16 and older. There is common area with pool table, ping pong table, foosball table and seating with numerous firepits, all along the riverfront which is beautiful especially since you are on the other side of the riverfront and can see the city.

You will take complimentary water taxi back and forth across the river and it stops at midnight but there is alot of people out and about in the common areas after that. This is next to convention center but It did not seem crowded - there was not a convention going on during our stay (maybe the reason for the special rate offerings).

Did not eat at the restaurant because of easy access to city across the river. As always, fun to watch river traffic, barges, etc.

Room Tip: on 5th floor we heard none of the activity below
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priceless_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinSav, Dan Kakabeeke, Director of Operations at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for your recent visit. I appreciate hearing such nice comments about our resort. Thank you for the suggestion about our tennis facility. I will share it with our Club Director to use towards making improvements. We hope you will visit again in the future should travels bring you this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,264 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,037 reviews
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,834 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421-7000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#10 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Family Hotel in Savannah
#18 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing