We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay for the entire family, including the dog”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #32 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We arrived on the 27th of December for a stay that included New Year's Eve. It was a family trip which included our small dog so we chose this pet friendly resort in the middle of the island on the river overlooking downtown Savannah, for its proximity (free ferry across the river to City Hall landing), acceptance of dogs, and comfort for our elderly moms with whom we were travelling. It was a most accommodating stay. When we arrived in the evening, the hotel was buzzing with holiday activity, and the rooms we had requested, side by side on a high floor overlooking the city, were not ready yet. While we waited, we took in the extensive gingerbread village and comfortably settled in the ample lobby couches. For our trouble, they comped us with breakfast vouchers for the family (party of 5) which we had paid for already with our reservation, so that reduced our bill substantially.


The Breakfast service itself was quite abundant-- more like brunch, really, with omelette and waffle stations, and all manner of fresh fruit, juices, bakery items, breads, smoked salmon, and gave us plenty of sustenance to skip lunch and go instead for early dinner at some of Savannah's wonderful restaurants. We did have dinner at the Hotel restaurant on 2 occasions, and enjoyed the same level of friendly service as we did at brunch each day.

They had also presented us with drink vouchers for cocktails each night at the lobby-side bar, which is actually a Starbucks by day/Bar by night). We had forgotten about these , so as we were checking out, they told us we could exchange them for snacks from Starbucks which were a welcome addition to our continued car trip.

This attentiveness, together with the excellent vantage point of the river and charming city view, the great brunch fare, -- and the famous Heavenly Beds, made this a truly wonderful stay. Note that they will not come in for housekeeping if the dog is alone in the room, but since ours came everywhere with us that was not a problem. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the city are preferable, and cost a bit more. The rooms in the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICoverTheWaterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am elated that our staff was able to provide a few moments to make your family trip special. We strive for excellence in our culinary creations and we are happy you found your experiences delicious. We hope to welcome you back upon your return to Savannah.

Best regards,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was a fabulous resort on Hutchinson Island, across the river from Savannah's downtown.
We got two double beds, instead of a king, but it was fine. Room service on Saturday morning came quick and the child's meal I ordered was excellent. The coffee maker with Starbucks coffee and small fridge was a great bonus. The shower had a drainage problem but was fixed within an hour of me calling someone. We were at the hotel with 600 others and the banquet food was very good. There was free parking on site, which was a plus. The bellmen Sunday morning at check-out were slow/overwhelmed. I ended up making two trips, taking my own bags down...on the third trip back up, I stole a bellman at the valet stand. Overall, it was a great stay and I would go back. My room on the 11th floor had a nice view of the golf course and I could see my parked car. I especially liked the key card swipe system rather than having to put the key inside the door.
It can be extremely windy and sunny sitting outside the hotel on the side of the river....be sure to have sunglasses and hats/hair bows. If you need snacks, bring them with you. I found the gift shop to have limited and very small packages of items (chips, nuts).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy that your overall experience was positive and that you were able to enjoy some of our culinary offerings. We will use your comments regarding our service to improve. We hope to welcome you back upon returning to Savannah.

Be Well,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is such a nice place to stay. So pretty, comfortable, and away but accessible to the hustle of Savannah. I like to taking the ferry over to savannah, and the rooms had really wonderful views. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: the first room we got on the 3rd floor was horrible! it was in the back by a big industrial fan. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am happy to hear that we were able to make a positive and comfortable experience for you. I like to say that we are not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms face either the golf course or the river and downtown Savannah. Get a waterfront room as the river traffic is constant but so interesting. Huge tankers pass by all day and night but it was so interesting to watch them. The free ferry takes you quickly across the river to two stops downtown. We were staying at the hotel with a large group. Unfortunately, the main restaurant closed at 10 and the only place to eat (other than room service) was in the bar which was too small for the crowd. The food was brought from the second floor so it wasn't hot at all. Staff also seemed overworked in both the restaurant and in the bar. (Our group wasn't the only large group on the property during our stay.) The pool area was visually very inviting. Everyone really seemed to be trying but I think staff may have been tired. The room was comfortable. My Heavenly Bed didn't seem as heavenly as at other Westin hotels. The 2.6 mile walk around the property (past the spa and clubhouse) was an exhilarating way to start the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AClarke625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear that we were able to make such a positive and memorable impression. I appreciate your comments in regard to staffing levels and will use your comments to improve. The ferry and the views are two of my favorite features as well. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

It was a booked house this week but the hotel did a great job with an easy transition of setting us up. Checking in ran very smooth and the bellhop service was a wonderful addition! The room was wonderful with its view of the river. We just loved the water taxi. We had the enjoyment of visiting downtown and learned so much about the history of Savannah. This hotel is spectacular and we will be back to visit in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTruthHasBeenTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am elated to hear that we were able to make such a positive and memorable Five Star Experience. The ferry and the views are two of my favorite features as well. Please find us on social media to learn of upcoming events and promotions for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to our lovely city.

BE WELL,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I booked a room on the top floor with views of the downtown and a balcony and wow! What a beautiful view of Savannah and the downtown area. Ferry was quick to take us across the river. The room was great, clean and met our expectations. We headed off to the Westin at Hilton Head the day after and that was great also. The Westin chain has always been impressive.

Only negative was the resort fee. I never used any of the amenities and the pool seemed inadequate for how large the hotel was. Self parking was a little far away, but not too bad.

Room Tip: High floor balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CABhimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I am elated that we were able to provide a positive and memorable experience accented by the glorious views of the Savannah River and River Street. I appreciate your comments regarding the Resort Fee and we will use your input to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to Savannah.

Be Well,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

After tipping the female bellhop for bringing a few bags to the room we found crumpled dollar bills outside our room door. Didn't complain because of possible retribution. Obviously felt unwelcome at this point. Lobby bar had great service.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Purple685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinDave, Public Relations Manager at Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing The Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. The events your describe are disturbing and we are investigating to find a resolution. We hope to welcome you back some day and restore your faith in our property.

Be Well,

David Moses
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,418 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,128 reviews
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,987 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Resort Dr, Savannah, GA 31421-7000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Savannah
#11 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Family Hotel in Savannah
#18 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £145 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern charm meets modern luxury at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa, in the heart of the historic Savannah River District. Savannah's premier resort is the prime location; not far from fantastic shopping and nightlife, but removed just enough for tranquility. Enjoy complimentary water ferry service to River Street, renovated guest rooms, meeting rooms and public spaces. The Resort is adjacent to International Trade and Convention Center, 20 min from the airport, 90-second ferry ride to River Street. Be well. Be Westin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort And Spa
Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Hotel Savannah
Westin Savannah Harbor Hotel
Westin Savannah Harbor Resort
Savannah Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing