We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #40 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nice Hotel But...”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

I am a Marriott Rewards member and consistently stay at a Courtyard or Springhill Suites. The only reason I said but is because of an issue we had with the cleaning staff. We put a Do Not Disturb sign on our door and left in the morning for downtown. We came back in the early afternoon to find that someone was in our room. The problem is twofold:
1. Do not disturb means stay out! No excuse for that!
2. My wife left her purse and wallet in the room because we expected that NO ONE would enter the room!
Because of the way the purse was moved, we promptly canceled the cards in her wallet!
Nice way to spend time on vacation.
Again, I like Marriott hotels and will continue to use them but will have a hard time returning to this one in Savannah!
Front desk apologized and gave us free breakfast coupons (which by the way is the first time I've had to pay for breakfast at Marriott!)
Definitely a major minor issue in my book!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1moregtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your time and response.
I want to apologize for our staff not honoring your Do Not Disturb. They should not have entered your room. I am not sure of why there was confusion over this but it should not have happened and I definitely would not want to spend time on my vacation on the phone cancelling cards.
I will follow up with our housekeeping staff and ensure we do some training for the future. I will also sit down with that specific room attendant.

Thank you again for your time.

If you have any concerns please contact me,

Derrick Pair
General Manager
912-790-8287
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    310
    135
    45
    25
See reviews for
240
260
22
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed here for one night because I was seeing a concert at the Civic Center across the street. In that respect it was perfect because I could walk to the venue. The hotel was very clean, and the room, while plain, didn't look old or dated and was spotless.

The staff were very helpful. The girl at the concierge desk gave us a good suggestion for dinner, and the wonderful young lady who checked me in could not have been friendlier. When I came downstairs the next morning to check out she enthusiastically greeted me BY NAME and asked me how my stay was. The valets were also very nice. I really liked how friendly everyone was.

The location is also great. It was literally RIGHT across the street from the Visitor's Center and the first stop on the Old Time Trolley Tours (or whatever it's called). We walked across the street, bought tickets, and hopped on and took the entire tour around Savannah. Truly could not have been easier.

We ate dinner at The Distillery across the street. Again, very convenient as it is within walking distance and the food was great. There's also a place called Crystal Beer Parlor within walking distance to the hotel. We tried to eat there but it was jammed, so we skipped it.

I had breakfast in the dining room of the hotel the next day. They have a nice buffet which is about 10 bucks, although I only had cereal and yogurt so they charged me a lesser amount for a "continental breakfast," which I appreciated. Again, friendly wait staff and a very nice, comfortable dining area.

Two reasons why I gave it four stars: I found it annoying that the only elevator is also a service elevator. I also felt that it was just a touch too expensive for what you were getting, although this is Savannah and a tourist hotspot so I suppose it makes sense.

All in all, a great stay. Next time in Savannah I might stay in a B&B or something with a little more charm instead of a chain hotel, but this was all in all a good choice, especially if you're doing anything related to the Civic Center across the street. Good location, clean room, friendly staff! Thanks, Courtyard!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmLovesCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your response and for taking the time to give such wonderful feedback.
It is greatly appreciated.
I did want to comment on the elevator. We have a total of 3 elevators here at the hotel. It sounds as though we did not do a good job of communicating that to you. There is one elevator used as a service elevator and guest elevator but there are two others specifically for our guests. I am sorry this wasn't communicated and I am sorry that it affected your stay. I will make sure that we discuss this in our meeting and remind our associates to give directions to both sets of elevators.

We hope to see you again soon!

Derrick Pair
General Manager
912-790-8287
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel is situated across From the Visitors Center and close to scenic bus tours. We like to walk so the few blocks walk to the scenic district and City Walk was pleasurable along the brick sidewalks. The hotel staff were helpful. The room is small but sufficient in all the amenities. Tastefully and newly decorated. This hotel has everything you need when you come to visit Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 988Jeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Even though it's on the perimeter of the historic district, everything you would want to see in Savannah is within a walk. The visitor center/museum and tour bus terminal is right across the road and the staff are friendly and helpful with an in-house tour booking service. Valet parking only with a $15/day surcharge. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with vanilla chain-hotel decor. One minor niggle with the plumbing was fixed promptly and efficiently. There are a wide choice of nice places to eat within a short walk. Breakfast is an extra cost option and from what we saw, isn't worth it. Take a walk, work up an appetite and enjoy a real breakfast at Clarys on Abercorn Street. .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for our property! Thank you also for the kind words about our staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel was really nice especially being a Courtyard. It was clean and conveniently located close to the historic district. The only thing I would advise if that you cannot walk stairs request to stay in the hotel and not the cottages. There was no elevator and my sister had problems walking up stairs. I ended up have to carry all our bags up and down! The staff was nice and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The location of the hotel is good. It was easy to find and access from SAV airport. It is a 10 minute walk from the Courtyard to Wright Square and about a 15 minute walk to City Market /Ellis Square. There are also 2 DOT Shuttle stops within a half block of the hotel.
The Hotel lobby renovation has been completed and it is very nice. Coffee and ice water were available throughout the day for guests. Another reviewer had stated that there was only one elevator. There are 2 more that perhaps they did not see as they are on the ends of the hallways. The room itself was spacious, nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom floor was probably the only thing that looked like it still needed to be updated (a few cracked tiles ) The bathroom did have a shower head placed high enough for taller people and good water pressure. There was no in -room refridgerator.
While there were no vending machines, there is an area near the front desk where snacks etc. could be purchased.
The patio and pool area are nicely landscaped. In Savannah, making a get away from a slow/nonexistent spring, it was a great place to read and relax. The pool is probably 20 feet x 10 feet with a maximum depth of 4 feet. The kids seemed to enjoy it but the adults who took a dip did not seem to linger in the water that most agreed was cold. The pool area has about 8 chaise lounge chairs and two round tables with 4 chairs each. While that's not a lot, guests seem to keep rotating through the area. I never saw anyone not find a place to sit who was looking for one.
The breakfast buffet was standard fare : yougurt, waffles, eggs, bacon etc. I do have to applaud the breakfast seating area. It was nice with plenty of tables and chairs. No stress trying to find a place to eat.
What really sets this hotel apart,though, is the staff. They were all very friendly and accomodating. The Vallet team was outstanding. We appreciated that we were allowed to park our car in the ramp even though we arrived a few hours before we were able to check in.
Nearby, there is a CVS Pharmacy on the Corner of Wright Square . We also would recommend meals at The Distillery (accross the street), Goose Feathers Cafe and Bakery (near Ellis Squre) and a tour with Savannah Belle Walking Tours. Oh, and if you have a sweet tooth, check out Savannah Candy Kitchen at City Market for wonderful pralines and salt water taffy made on site.
We would absolutely stay here again !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your review! Yes, the lobby renovation has been completed! It is beautiful and very unique. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the patio area is one of my favorite places at our hotel. Right now everything is in bloom and the aroma of beautiful blooming flowers emanates from the courtyard.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon.

Derrick Pair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed over the St. Patrick's day weekend, pretty close to everything. Amazing, friendly people make this place one you want to come back to. Rooms were comfortable, coffee in the lobby every morning and someone with a smile wanting to help was very nice. Sit by the lobby bar or by the fireplace after walking miles around town.... definitely enjoyed it

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poohh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 415 W Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3917
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Marriott
Savannah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing