We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gymnastics competition!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #45 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Family of four stayed here. Valet parking was easy and fast. My daughter had a gymnastic competition across the street at Civic Center. Did not try buffet. The city is an easy walk as there are no hills to climb and there are many places to eat not to far. The only complaint was we were on the street side(east) and could here traffic most of the night. Clean room and great location. Would probably stay again, just not on the east side.

Room Tip: Road noise on east side even on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Matt C,

We were thrilled to have so many of the competing gymnasts staying with us at the Courtyard Savannah Historic District. The girls were so well behaved and it made it easy to host the group.

The next time you plan a trip to Savannah, we'd love to put you in a room facing the North side looking at the historic district. Although traffic around here continues through the night, it is usually quieter in that direction, and away from MLK Blvd.

Good luck with all the upcoming gymnastic events.

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is Savannah hotel is within walking distance of the river area. We were surprised as to how "compact" the city is which makes it pretty easy to get around on foot from this hotel. Friendly staff - especially the valets. It is $15 a day to park which is fine in the city. My only "complaint" is that we stayed in the same room for two nights and the room cost twice as much for a Sat. night as it was for Sunday night. I asked for a rate adjustment and was told I already had gotten a
discount which means that the "regular" rate would have been 2 1/2 times as much. The rooms
were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skatinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear skatinggrandma,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Courtyard Savannah Historic District. Being from Syracuse, NY myself, the ease of city access surprised me as well.

We try to stay competitive with the rates in the market and based on business in the area, the rates can fluctuate tremendously from one day to the next. I'm happy to hear you stopped by the front desk to inquire, as we always want to provide our guests the best available rate at the time.

We hope you come visit us again--anytime you get sick of the snow up north, we'll always have a sunny day waiting for you.

Be well.

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Had a motor coach tour group at the Courtyard. Great rates....the staff went above and beyond for the group....everyone enjoyed the hotel and was in a great location to enable the group to explore on their own with some free time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear JKay55,

We loved having your tour group stay with us at the hotel. It was easy to take care of you all because you, in turn, were so pleasant.

I'm glad you enjoyed your tour to Savannah. There's so much to see and do in the area, we hope you'll come back for another visit and stay with us at the Courtyard Savannah Historic District.

Be well.

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very nice hotel, very clean, bed was very comfortable. The staff is top-notch, we have never had friendlier staff anywhere we have stayed. Only downside was the view from the terrace is overlooking a vacant lot, not the view I expected when thinking of Savannah but everything else was perfection.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetotravel256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Lovetotravel256,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the service provided by my amazing team! They truly represent Savannah and its charm.

We'd love to see you on your next trip to the area.

Be well.

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were happy with our stay here at the Courtyard. The valet that greeted us and helped us with our bags to our room was a very sweet young man. The people working at the front desk always greeted us with a smile and kind words. We stopped at the bar area Friday night to have a cocktail and the young lady, Kristie, was very pleasant and helped keep the atmosphere fun with all the patrons sitting in the area. She also was our waitress the next morning for breakfast and still had the great attitude and smile on her face. The location is on the outer skirts of the historic distric but is close to the welcome ctr and the trolley tours. We easily walked from our hotel back and forth to the riverwalk stopping at places to eat and shop and never felt ill at ease. We stayed on the main streets and enjoyed people watching along the way. The sleeping area of our room was clean and nice but we only had issue with the bathroom. We walked in and found a used washcloth hanging over the shower stall and a used bar of soap on the side of the jacuzzi tub. We do bring lysol and clorox wipes whenever we stay anywhere so we cleaned the tub ourselves because it looked like there was a ring around the tub. But, other than that we were happy with our stay and the room and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIOUXZQ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear SIOUXZQ66,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard Savannah Historic District during your recent trip to Savannah. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our city and the services from the staff.

I am disappointed to hear about the bathroom cleanliness and have addressed it accordingly with our Executive Housekeeper and team. We will ensure this does not happen again to you or anyone else.

Please come back and visit us again in the near future!

Regards.

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We picked this hotel because it was the cheapest of the Marriott's in town. It was a great choice. 15-20 minute walk to the river (and restaurants) and because it is on the edge of the historic district it was easy on and off the highway. There is a visitor's center right across the street and a hotel concierge was on duty the entire weekend we were there. The staff were super friendly (or is everyone that way in Savannah?). Our room, which faced the street and was on the top floor, was very quiet. This Courtyard serves free coffee and tea all day which is something that is disappearing in the Courtyard brand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear JoyceC,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard Savannah Historic District.

We at the Courtyard try to emulate the local flavor of the Southern charm that is Savannah. I'm glad you recognize and appreciate that.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Savannah!

Regards.

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Within seconds of arriving, we were met by a friendly valet who handled everything with ease. Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by numerous staff and had our room key within minutes. Our room was on the 5th floor with a courtyard view. My husband wanted to move to have a street view so he could see the Talmadge Bridge. No problem. Just across the hall. We had a beautiful view of the city lights at night, the bridge, church steeples and even surprise fireworks on Saturday night. It was the perfect view. A few minutes after arriving, there was a knock on the door and a staff member was there to fix a reported(not by us) lamp problem which was handled in short time and in a professional, friendly manner. We left for an afternoon of sightseeing and upon our return we were surprised with a bottle of champagne and a nice card offering apologies for the interruption and wishing us both a Happy Birthday and an early Valentine weekend. Thank you Teriazzo Smith, Chief Engineer!!!!! We found our room to be very clean and comfortable and most of all quiet. We thought we had the whole floor to ourselves. The hotel is located in the middle of the historic district within easy walking to the Visitor Center and the Trolley Tours. We liked the Old Savannah Tour for their all day on and off tour, their price and their costumed characters we met along the way, especially the Gullah Geechee. We liked lunch at Lady and Sons, and light meals at Kayak Kafe and Goose Feathers. Be sure to walk the riverfront for shopping and dining. We liked the pralines at River Street Sweets. Wear comfortable shoes for walking the beautiful cobblestone streets and seeing the 21 squares. Look for the square where Forrest Gump sat, the statue of Johnny Mercer and the Mercer-Williams House from Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. Travel a short distance to Tybee Island to see the Light House and Fort Pulaski(loved seeing the container ships sail by into port) and be sure to eat at A-J's Dockside Restaurant for great food and a beautiful view of Tybee Inlet. Great sunsets. Savannah and Tybee Island have the friendliest people!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbuddies40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear travelbuddies40plus,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at the Savannah Courtyard Historic District. We appreciate the feedback and it is always welcome.

I have shared your thanks to our Chief Engineer, Terlazzo.

We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard and in our charming city of Savannah!

Please come back to visit us again soon.

Regards.

Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Address: 415 W Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3917
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £86 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Marriott
Savannah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing