We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #41 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Returning guest”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 years ago and returned after The Masters in Augusta. Very convenient for I95 on off and good valet parking. Was parked inside hotel this time and not in public garage across the street so it felt more secure. We were two couples and both had nice rooms with no issues. Would stay here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Golferboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Golferboy18,

We're thrilled you chose to stay with us while visiting The Masters. We strive every day to make a positive impact on our guests and I'm happy to hear we succeeded with you and your friends.

Please don't wait until next year to visit with us. In the meantime, take care of yourself for us.

Regards.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    309
    134
    45
    25
See reviews for
237
260
22
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Courtyard Savannah Historic District is located a few blocks inland from the river, so it is a bit of a hike to get to some of the popular tourist sites. It is a moderately sized, well-maintained hotel designed to blend into historical Savannah (it has kind of a New Orleans). It has a private courtyard with pool and shaded seating area, inward-facing small balconies, a lovely lobby with working fireplace. The staff are welcoming and nice. The rooms are adequately-appointed and well-insulated against noise. My only complaint is related to the staff recommendation of the restaurant across the street: The Distillery. This was a terrible restaurant with slow service, limited food selection, and lack of atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupecoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear cupecoy,

Thank you so much for your great comments posted on TripAdvisor. We love that you loved it here.

We hope you'll visit us more often in the future. In the meantime, take care of yourself for us.

Regards.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to take a last minute trip to Savannah for the long 4th of July weekend. Most hotels directly in the historic district were booked, so we chose Courtyard based on the Trip Advisor ratings. It's a little bit of a walk to see the squares and to the river front. The hotel had a nice lobby area and staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, but there were small things that needed attention. The shower head needed to be replaced, and shower curtain too large for the shower and wouldn't hang correctly. Also, the bed was a bit uncomfortable. We'll be coming back to Savannah again soon, but probably staying closer to the action in a nicer hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WkndTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear WkndTravelGal,

We appreciate you staying with us and are a bit disappointed to hear we did not meet your -- or our -- expectations. We can only continue to be great because of feedback like what you provided.

We hate to see you go anywhere else and would love it if you would give us another chance to make it right for you.

Be well.

Regards.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The staff I encountered were all very friendly, courteous, professional, and helpful. My problem during my stay was with the room cleanliness. Whenever I check into a hotel, I check the bedding. I pulled the sheets back and the mattress pad had hairs all over it, not 1 or 2 stray hairs, but hairs all over and on both sides of the pad. I asked the front desk if I could get another room and was told that they were completely booked, but they would have someone change the bedding right away. The the young woman and man on staff at the front desk on duty that evening, were exceptional. They apologized, remedied the situation immediately, and comped my parking and breakfast for the inconvenience. Double thumbs up for both of them and sorry I don't remember their names. The next night when I got back to my room after having been out all day, I walked in to find that my room hadn't been cleaned. The bed was unmade, the trash hadn't been emptied, floor wasn't vacuumed, I was out of kleenex and the dirty towels were still in a pile on the bathroom floor. I was tired and just wanted to shower and go to bed since I was leaving early in the morning and had a long drive ahead of me. I didn't even bother to tell the front desk staff or ask for the room to be cleaned. I just asked for a couple of clean towels and a box tissue, which they quickly provided to me, and I went back to my room.

Everything else about the hotel was fine. Good location in the historic district. The public areas in the hotel are clean, well designed and well decorated. The breakfast buffet was good. And the complimentary coffee, tea, and water,in the lobby area is a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aiarmy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear aiarmy11,

I'm so sorry to hear we disappointed you with our Housekeeping services. I have addressed your feedback with our Executive Housekeeper and the housekeeper that was assigned to your room. It is not okay to provide poor service and we take your comments very seriously.

I'm glad to hear our Front Desk team was able to offer you some compensation and apology. We don't like to be reactive though I'm glad that was satisfactory to you when we had to be.

We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Savannah.

In the meantime, take care of yourself for us.

Regards.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My sister and I visited Savannah for three days and stayed at this hotel. The staff was so helpful and the location was the best. We were able to either walk to our destination or were picked up by one of the trolley shuttles and taken to the trolley company location.

Beautiful courtyard and pool area.

Took advantage of the valet parking. Didn't use our car but once to go to Tybee Island but it was brought to us very quickly. Also checked out at in the morning but were able to load up the car and see some more of Savannah because we were able to leave car at the hotel until 2:30PM.

Room was comfortable. Didn't spend a lot of time there.

Didn't use the restaurant. Just coffee. Plus they did have the cold water and iced tea set up for the guests. Very nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bevpbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear bevpbg,

Thank you so much for visiting us during your recent stay in Savannah with your sister. We are thrilled you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your time while you were here.

Should you ever make it back to Savannah, we hope you'll come back and stay with us.

In the meantime, take care of yourself for us.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I travel to Savannah on many occasions but this time with a larger group so I could not stay at my favorite hotels in Savannah. Unfortuantely, I was disappointed.

The good - the lobby was very inviting and I loved the staff. The staff were very inviting and pleasant. I love the mini stores to purchase those items you are missing or need during your visit at the desk. Always tea, water and coffee available before you go up to your room -- a nice touch. The attendant outside was even prepared with an umbrella when we drove up to get out of the car while it was raining. Ar really nice staff!

The bad - I believe I was told that I would get breakfast vouchers during my stay so I would not have to pay but did not realize there was a charge up front for breakfast. I got in early so I had to get a handicap room which was fine but the room was very stuffy and the air condition was a bit loud. It would have been nice to have had peanuts or other snacks at the bar even if I had to pay for them.

The ugly - There was a huge palmetto bug (roach) in my room when I arrived. I realize there are bugs everywhere but I was just a little taken back since it was huge. It could have been that the room was't used in awhile. When I returned to my room later after reporting it, I could tell someone had come up to get it and disinfected the bathroom. After my first night the bathroom light was out and I reported it twice. I saw the gentleman coming to fix it as I was leaving for the airport.

This hotel is in a great location for walking down to the Historic District and near a few good restaurants but I was just disappointed in my stay and hope there are some improvements.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burrell528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear burrell528,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you recognizing our staff for the service we provide. However, I'm disappointed to hear we did not meet or exceed your expectations from our guest room experience.

Should you ever find yourself in the Savannah area again, we hope you'll give us another chance. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthCarolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard Marriott. The facilities were beautiful: lobby, bar, gym, room etc. The lobby had complementary iced tea and water for guests. The hotel is in a quiet location on the edge of historic Savannah within walking distance of all the action. We enjoyed the happy hour and sitting outside on the nice brick/wrought iron patio that is separate from the pool. Patio is well furnished and peaceful. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front of the building and was very quiet. There are rooms that face the pool tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFFNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinGM, General Manager at Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear MFFNorthCarolina,

Thank you so much for visiting us during your last trip to Savannah. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope it won't be long before you come back again. We'll be here to welcome you with our southern hospitality.

In the meantime, take care of yourself for us.

Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District

Property: Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Address: 415 W Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3917
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Courtyard Savannah Historic District
Savannah Marriott
Savannah Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing