We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and decent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Ranked #82 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean and decent!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and it was fine. Decent price and not too far outside of Savannah that we could drive in each day. The room was clean and spacious enough.

Breakfast was in a small room downstairs and it was more than your average grab a fruit bar and go which was nice. Advice is to go early however as some items run out. The place has a pool although we didn't get to try it. Our AC leaked during the stay but it didn't bother us as we were only staying 2 nights. But worth checking in your room.

Note: It's a bit difficult to navigate into the hotel. Don't just rely on your sat nav as it can take you past it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Londontraveller7484,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We very much appreciate your comments and will be sure to pass them along to our entire team to help us grow and shine everyday. As we take pride in our hotel and the services we provide, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

At your service,
The team at
Travelodge Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    239
    184
    111
    102
See reviews for
352
259
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickens, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I booked a room at this Hotel for our anniversary. It was a nice hotel. Rooms were clean, bathroom was clean, people were friendly. However, this was a very hard place to find. We got lost every time we left and tried to go back. We also had an issue with the tub draining. Whenever I took a shower the tub drained so slow I was afraid it would over flow. The curtains in our room didn't close either, so we had a light shining in our eyes all night. Sometimes the key card would not work on one of the outside doors, so whenever we went out for just a few minutes we had to prop the door open so we could get back in. I would probably stay at this hotel again if I had nowhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Lisa S,

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas the need more of our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to. I am sorry to hear you were not 100% pleased with your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Sincerely,
The management team at
Travelodge, Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

About 15 mins away from Downtown, but for the price it was worth it.. Rooms are clean, continental breakfast and indoor pool! Lots of places close by, Cracker Barrel, Denny's, Sonic, Perkins, small outlet mall, I95 and gas station, need I say more? Ok other hotels around.. Spring hill suites, Best western, Fairfield inn and sleep inn.. All in the same parking lot .. Have fun

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Lisa C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the convalescences of our hotel. It is so wonderful to hear when a guest is happy and has enjoyed their stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in the Savannah area.

Kind regards,
The team at
Travelodge, Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of its ratings and previous reviews. When we arrived to Savannah we had been driving for around 15hrs and were exhausted with a three year old. When we arrived to the hotel the hotel looked very nice from the outside and the landscape was neatly kept. When we checked in it was a totally different story, when we got the keys for our room the room was located on the third floor at the end of the hallway. When we opened the door the room stunk like mold and it was hot, the ac had not been on for a while it seemed like. When we turned the ac on it just made everything worse. My wife and I have really bad mold allergies so we decided to ask the front desk for another room, they replied by saying that they needed to talk to the manager and that they would call us back. During that time we decided to inspect the rest of the room and we found that the pillows and sheets were damp and had some mold stains on them. After around 10 mins. they called us back saying that they were going to move us to the fourth floor to a king suite for the same price. Once we arrived to the other room, the room was not very clean, the rugs had stains, although the sheets were clean, the comforter and bed skirts were filthy! The bathroom was not that well cleaned, to say the least, we were very disgusted and tired. I really wanted at that point to just go to another hotel but my wife discouraged my idea since it was almost midnight and we needed to be up by 6am. The hotel seems to be run by one family, the son does the front desk, dads does maintenance and mom does the housekeeping. The hotel needs a very nice cleaning on the inside, a new ice machine and proper room cleaning.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear JMLEZ,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit with us. We try very hard to exceed our guest needs at every turn. You will be happy to know that our management team is working diligently to make the necessary changes to help us handle these types of situations differently in the future. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Sincerely,
The management team at
Travelodge, Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Check In was very efficient, we arrived at the hotel around 6 pm and our room key was already ready.

The room was clean and yes it did appear dated inside but nothing to frown on especially considering how much they charge per night compare to other hotels in the area. The outside is VERY WELL KEPT and so was the inside eventhough it looks old. The room smell is due to the humidity, turning the AC on helped get rid of the humidity and the smell disappeared. The staff were friendly when we were there, the young lady who worked in the breakfast room worked so hard cleaning after the guests who were messy and still had a smile on her face. When I asked her what was in the crock pot, she politely replied "gravy and sausage" and smiled. Breakfast consisted of variety of cereals, biscuit with white gravy and sausage, make your own waffle with syrup (I recommend this!), bread with jam or butter, fruits, variety of quick oatmeal, coffee, tea, juice and mini muffins.

There is an elevator, small pool and plenty of parking.

Check Out was no hassle, Nicole was the one who checked us out and she was quick, friendly and even apologetic to the other guests complaining about the smell.

I picked this hotel because the hotels in the historic district was very expensive and I we really just needed a place to sleep for 2 nights while in Savannah. I knew we were going to be out during the day and evenings so spending $300 a night for a hotel didn't make sense to me. This hotel was about 20 minutes away by car to the historic district, Tybee Island and Wormsloe Plantation. I would most definitely stay in this hotel again.

P.S. If you do go to Tybee Island, I highly recommend dining at The Crab Shack

www.thecrabshack.com

Cheers,
Karen M.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayerenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Kayerenz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your response will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide and exceptional experience for our guests who are visiting Downtown Savannah or just passing through. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The team at
Travelodge, Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for one night with my family whilst travelling, main doors could do with being electric holding doors open when you have two large suitcases and numerous other bags makes it a bit of a struggle, the lady on reception was helpful and pleasant, but clearly needs more help, every time I went down to reception she was on the phone to customers and a queue had built up resulting in long delays at reception. The lobby looked neat and tidy however the stairs looked as if they hadn't been vacuumed in a month, and were still like it the next day when we left. Room was ok, could really do with a refurb though. Thing that worried me more than anything was at midnight someone coming into our room using a key card, me and my family were asleep so were woken up by this and really quite scared, luckily the door chain was on, but even so very worrying! I called reception and she said there had been a mix up with rooms, and that she would come up with new room cards, it still took her fifteen minutes to sort it out and come up with new cards. The breakfast was below standard, hardly any selection ended up eating a piece of toast (we aren't fussy eaters either so it must have been bad) looking round at other peoples reactions confirmed this! Swimming pool was ok, no pool towels though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurt111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Gurt111,

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to. I am sorry to hear that you were not please with your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences your experienced during your stay with us. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Sincerely,
The management team at
Travelodge, Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel is located in safe area amongst other hotels and close to highway. Good places to eat close by. Even though room was very clean and linen smelled fresh, it could have been better. When walked in room, an air freshener could have been used. Shower had some mold and could have been whiter. One of the towels was worn. Bathroom door needed spot paint. There was a stain in carpet. Hotel breakfast is very simple and would recommend going somewhere else. Ice machine on 2nd floor was tricky to operate. Other the other side, bed was comfortable, AC worked great, good cable channel selection, decent wifi. Overall, for price paid, not bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Axl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and your recent stay. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and appreciate your comments as they will help us grow to become that high quality hotel you have become accustomed to for a great rate. I will be sure to share your comments with the team to help us grow and shine, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The team at
Travelodge, Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#97 of 113 in Savannah
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#50 of 113 in Savannah
1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#85 of 113 in Savannah
88 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#57 of 113 in Savannah
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Savannah Gateway

Property: Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Address: 17009 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-9787 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Savannah-Gateway)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Savannah Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and Southern Charm Awaits, with Pool, Free Breakfast and Free Wi-FiYour next adventure to the Hostess City of the South starts when you book a room at our Travelodge Savannah!Conveniently located off Interstate 95, our newly renovated hotel places you close to exciting Southern attractions, delicious restaurants and historic fun. City Market, the Savannah Riverfront and Old Fort Jackson are all just moments from our Savannah hotel.Fill yourself up in the morning with our free Bear Bites continental breakfast, and plan your day online with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Stay active in our hotel gym and heated indoor swimming pool. Or sit back and relax in our hotel's hot tub. Feel free to use our on-site laundry and dry cleaning services to get everything as fresh as the day you arrived. Our pet-friendly hotel in Savannah aims to be the perfect launch pad for your adventure. Check in with our concierge to learn what's happening in our neck of the woods.LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Spend time in the exquisite shops and restaurants of City Market - just 15 minutes from our Savannah hotel. Stroll amongst galleries, horse-drawn carriages and outdoor cafes at the Savannah Riverfront. Have dinner and tour of the city on an unforgettable Savannah Riverboat Cruise. To learn about life during the Civil War era, visit Old Fort Jackson.DINING OPTIONS Enjoy famed southern flavor at Paula Deen's Lady and Sons restaurant. Order the char-grilled oysters at Uncle Bubba's or try authentic Cajun Kingfish at Huey's. A relaxing meal on the Savannah River at Tubby's Tank House is the perfect, relaxing end to an exciting day of sight-seeing. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIESOur Savannah hotel offers a meeting space perfect for small conferences, presentations or interviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Savannah-Gateway Hotel Savannah
Country Inn And Suites Savannah-Gateway
Country Inn Savannah Gateway
Savannah Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing