We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nuptial Hotel...OK, I'm Biased!”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My husband and I were married in Savannah 6 years ago and we have stayed here at least once a year for the past 6 years. The East Bay Inn is an old, beautiful, historic building that still holds its' old world appeal and you can feel that each time you walk into the building. It is VERY southern, abundant with wood furniture, antiques and elaborate carpets and lighting. Before welcoming a dog into the family last year, we stayed in the corner front rooms on floors 2 and 3 which are lovely with high ceilings, exposed brick walls and beautiful detailed crown moldings. The only drawback is the traffic noise below on Bay Street. Now that we have a dog (and THANK GOD they welcome dogs!!!) we can only stay on the first floor. We like room 102 which has a side terrace, albeit on the parking lot. I stayed in room 106 last month (behind reception) and found that it was lovely but had no exposed brick, was noisy due to the employee door squeaking and banging right outside my door and the fact that people walking by could look directly into my room from the sidewalk (there are blinds on the giant windows that you can adjust to prevent this). This place could definately use some updating (carpets, bathrooms, breakfast area) but I love it nonetheless. You CANNOT beat the location to all of Savannah's "squares" or to River Street which is a 5 minute walk. Limited parking at hotel but complimentary parking in a city lot about a 5 minute walk. Free high speed internet is iffy. Evening cordials every night from 5-7 in the lobby (wine, cheese, crackers and fruit) are a nice time to have a nibble and meet other guests (a popular topic is "Charlie" the resident ghost...we only encountered him once in all our stays). Complimentary breakfast is nice (continental in nature) but would rather dine elsewhere (Cleary's or B. Matthews which is right around the corner) to have a more broad experience of Savannah. All in all, not a 5 out of 5 but a wonderfully rich, historic and romantic place to stay.

Room Tip: Front corner rooms on floors 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeisureLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

Wife and i stayed here for 2 nights. Great location. Comfortable rooms. In an old historic building which used to warehouse cotton back in the day. Free wine and cheese in the evenings. Breakfast in the mornings is nice. Within walking distance of just about everything in the city you want to see. My only complaint is very few parking spaces with your only option as paying to park in a parking garage, a half a block away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This is a beautiful, historic inn; excellent location and service. Rooms are lovely with comfortable beds, although the traffic outside bothered me a little (not my husband). Especially enjoyed the late, afternoon get together with guests in the lobby (light refreshments and wine provided by Inn). Great way to meet people from all over the US and international, and get ideas about places to visit, restaurants, etc. The staff is wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cake68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed at the East Bay Inn for 2 nights over St. Patrick's Day weekend. The inn is beautiful, very secure, has a small parking lot, and the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was amazing- huge! I don't know if they upgraded us, but we paid for the "cozy queen" and figured it'd be a small room but comfortable. It was a huge room with antique furniture, sitting area, and windows overlooking the river area. The only complaint we have is that we could hear every step the people above us made. Understandable since it's an old building with nice wood floors. Small price to pay for such a great stay! We're pretty sure the resident ghost "Charlie" visited us- the picture hanging on the wall by the door was tilted diagonally when we woke up- and it was in a heavy, antique frame. We were quite entertained reading all the stories in the guest book, and adding our own about our engagement weekend and restaurant recommendations. We have recommended the East Bay Inn to friends and family that like to travel with pets, as it is a pet-friendly hotel. Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seashelli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The people at this Inn were very welcoming and helpful. We were first time visitors to Savannah. They were willing to make reservations for us, suggest tour companies and They made our stay very comfortable.
the Inn is gorgeous and our room had a very comfortable queen size bed as well as a lovely view and exposed brick on one wall. Melvin the bellman was an informative friendly person who was so proud of "his" Inn.
Each night there was a wine and cheese reception and breakfast was included also.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the East Bay Inn for 3 days and loved every second of it. We were not disappointed in the slightest bit. As we packed up, we were actually planning our next trip back. Great place, very convenient location, excellent service, cozy room, and good people. If this is your first time to Savannah, book a room here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The inn is very nice and I would recommend it. The price on the Internet is very good, but when I checked out they added an extra unexpected charge of over 10% for parking. The staff is great, good location, rooms are beautiful, the breakfast was ok...oh and by the way the ceiling in my bathroom was a mess and really needs to be repaired and don't forget they are going to stick you with a huge parking fee.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acarmelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 115 in Savannah
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,167 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £107 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing