We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice throwback experience - I had forgotten what that was like...”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Elon, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really nice throwback experience - I had forgotten what that was like...”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I booked this place primarily on price and location, but was so pleasantly surprised by the great B&B sort of feel it had. It was nice to stay somewhere for a change that didn't have industrial carpeting and standard issue furniture that every hotel has. My room had an amazing 4 posted bed, hard wood floors, nice vintage chairs and couch, high ceilings, etc. It felt like staying at grandma's house, and it was great. The staff is incredibly friendly - everyone from front desk to housekeeping always gave you a nice 'Hello, How are you today?' that came across as genuine. When I checked in they already had everything ready right there and knew my name - not by looking me up in a computer etc., but literally had it there on the desk. I loved the place and didn't even get a chance to experience the wine and cheese and breakfast/restaurant. But you could tell the feel of those were also cozy - not a huge typical impersonal dining room, but quaint and cozy. I highly recommend it for couples or individuals looking for a nice getaway where high touch and personalized service is the priority over the typical standard experience you get at even nice establishments like Marriott, etc. It was a really nice experience, and also less expensive than the Marriott and other places nearby. I will definitely go back there, and this is coming from someone who for the most part sees hotels as purely functional and as all being the same. A nice change of pace.

Room Tip: I had Queen plus or deluxe or something - it included a nice vintage couch along with three high bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    278
    72
    32
    9
See reviews for
221
667
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed one night only as permitted by our travel schedule, BUT if this one night experience is any indication of the charm of the Inn and the friendliness of its staff we will definitely stay longer on our next visit to Savannah. The room was very cozy and quaint. Comfortable accommodations, clean linens & well kept room. The accessability to River Street and the Historic Area of Savannah is a plus, almost all in walking distance from the Inn. A thoroughly enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, cornor room on the south side which was very nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Comfortable room in a superb location. Staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Needed unexpected optical repair on Sunday--front desk staff found me an office within walking distance that reopened Monday morning. We stayed four nights and took full advantage of the breakfast and cordials. Day trips to Fort Pulaski, Tybee Island, and the Tybee Island Lighthouse are an easy drive from East Bay Inn.
The only time we heard street noise was on Saturday night when River Street was in full week-end mode. Our next trip to Savannah will definitely include East Bay Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krysia623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

East Bay Inn was charming and provided everything we needed for a weekend get away. My husband who is not typically an Inn type guy was very pleased as well. The Inn's location was perfect for walking to our 2 dinner choices and was an easy walk to our tour meeting squares. Being right across from the river was a plus!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Loved our stay at East Bay Inn! Both us and our dogs were made to feel welcome and appreciated. We were given a warm hello every time we walked in the door. Could not ask for a better location! Close enough to all the squares in the Historic District, City Market, River St and great access to getting into and out of town, trolley stop even located close by, park located right across the street was great for potty breaks for our dogs. Front desk was very helpful with reservations and recommendations, they even looked up a restaurant's hours and phone number for me! Hotel was clean and very nice huge ceilings made the room feel even bigger. Free off street parking was great. So happy the hotel was PET FRIENDLY our dogs loved Savannah, it was the perfect place to bring them, walked over 30 miles in our 4 days there! Nice free breakfast and this coming from a girl who wakes up HUNGRY! Not much of a selection, but the fact that it was free and right there in the hotel made it really hard to turn down. I saw other people complain about noise from the street but we never even noticed any, and we live out in the sticks. We had a ground floor room facing the side street with a view of Bay, which is heavily traveled. My only real complaint is the wimpy pillows (should have brought my own) and the FIRM mattress. I guess those are just a matter of personal preference, my fiance and I like a much softer bed and fluffier pillows. I probably could have asked for another room with a less firm bed or extra pillows but it wasn't a huge issue and I didn't want to sound like a princess. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! Great value, great price, great location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Thaey say they'll take care of everything, but they take your money and give nothing, if I were in-state I'd have them arrested for theft. Pretty rooms, beware of street noise and directly over-the-bed drafts

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street and not on first floor to avoid street noise. Avoid rooms with vent dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burke_152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Gastonian, Director of Sales at East Bay Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
We'd like to apologize, again very sincerely, to this guest and to the individual who placed the order for a gift from the East Bay Inn. Unfortunately, due to technical difficulties, we did not receive the order. While we knew we could not compensate this guest for the disappointment we caused, we did provide a complimentary bottle of champagne as a small token of our apology. Please know that East Bay Inn takes all guest requests very seriously, and we are extremely sorry we didn't do our best in this situation. To note, we have corrected the problem with receiving orders, and are also now making some minor changes to the order form that will perhaps assist us with future gift orders. We'd also thank you for seeing through the problem enough to compliment us on having pretty rooms and a great location! Please know that we'll do our best in the future to make your stays with us completely enjoyable and flawless.
--- The Staff at East Bay Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We just spent two nights on our mini-vacation. The location on Bay Street is tough to beat. Their small parking lot can only accommodate some guests and we were lucky obtaining a prime parking spot. We would not move the car for two days. We were early and our room was not yet ready, but Sheila behind the front desk was most friendly and efficient. Returning to the hotel later that day, our bags had been delivered to our room, my wife's roses were present but the chilled wine which also should have been brought up needed a reminder; a different person now on the desk. It was then delivered promptly by a gracious butler. Our superior queen room was large with sofa and two chairs, two natural brick walls, four huge windows, a high ceiling and comfortable queen bed. The bathroom was adequate.

Our large corner room was at the front of the hotel, the corner of Bay and Lincoln. In the wee hours one could sleep through the night but at about 6:30 traffic noise became very intrusive, an unwanted alarm clock. The first night, our "turndown service" didn't. The wine and cheese reception in the evening is a nice opportunity to meet and chat with fellow guests. The snacks were quite good. The wine was in magnum bottles which made the cheap wine seem even cheaper.

Breakfast is served until 9:30. We arrived at 9:15 to a mostly picked-over minimal buffet and no offer whatsoever to freshen it up or bring anything else out. We were ignored by the staff, quickly ate a few morsels and left. We got the feeling that we were keeping them from something more important.

We could tell by the portions of rose pedals and flower bits on our room floor that housekeeping did not vacuum or clean either the bedroom or bathroom floors during our stay.
The second night we did get turndown service, but the next morning there was no newspaper at the door. We skipped breakfast at the hotel and ate down on the river.

This was our second but last stay at East Bay. There are too many other choices on or near the river.

Room Tip: A quandary. The front of the hotel has better views, but the road noise is intrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deisenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,693 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,280 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,037 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing