We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at the East Bay Inn”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We just got home after staying a week at the East Bay Inn. It was delightful. Beautifully decorated for the holidays and such a comfortable place to be. The staff was exceptional...very helpful and informative regarding their city and what it has to offer. Great location, lovely rooms and comfortable beds. We were so glad that we chose the East Bay Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor...not on the street side and it was perfectly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherPortlandOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

We went to visit my Daughter after Thanksgiving, for three days. Found the Inn on a travel site. Our room was a cozy Queen, with 10' ceilings exposed handmade bricks, there was fingerprints in one of them, I put my fingers and felt a connection with a long deceased brick maker. A wine reception in the evening gave us a chance to meet the other guests. The beds turned down with mints on the pillows, we had a small cooler, when I went to get more ice our second day the bucket was filled. There is a journal in the room for guests to write in.
Savannah is a walking city with parks everywhere; a nice stay will be back.

Room Tip: One reviewer mentioned rooms on streetside being noisy if you are a light sleeper (I'm not)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garymtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We spent two nights in Savannah at East Bay Inn. We were in Room 320, a double queen room. It was very beautiful! However it does face Bay Street so it was pretty noisy early in the morning. It wasn't bad during the night but if you are a light sleeper, I'd recommend a room facing a different direction. The floors squeaked a lot. Nobody was above us so we didn't hear anybody else squeaking. I feel sorry for whoever was staying below us though. The outlet in the bathroom didn't work which made it a little challenging to dry my hair. This could be the ghost Charlie doing his thing....

Julie, at the front desk was awesome. She recommended The Olde Pink House for dinner and it was wonderful. Only a couple blocks from the Inn. We were fortunate to get a parking place in the tiny lot and never moved our car. Many restaurants and the River Street area are within walking distance. Julie also arranged a trolley tour for us which was great. Savannah is a beautiful city and I hope to visit again. I'd stay at East Bay Inn again but I'd also like to try one of the other Inns in the area. Several looked very nice.

The wine and cheese in the lobby in the evening was fun. We met some other guests and enjoyed talking to them. The continental breakfast wasn't anything special - kind of like what you'd find at a Comfort Inn. But it was adequate. Unfortunately the restaurant wasn't open for dinner the evenings we stayed, So we weren't able to try it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

East Bay Inn was the most friendly and organized place I have stayed in for a very long time.
The staff was excellent very helpfull and eager to help and friendly. I will be staying there again when I go back there to Savannah. The Inn was so beautiful the room was so nice and pretty beds were very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The 160 year old building doesn't look it's age. The rooms are all furnished beautifully, with original exterior brick walls with beautiful original crown molding. The room was clean and the seating area was a great place to sit after a long day sight seeing. The halls and rooms were quiet and the common areas of the hotel are nicely decorated.
The best assets of this hotel are the staff. We were treated by Julie when we entered and she helped us with any questions we had about the area and gave us great restaurant recommendations. Melvin is truly a gem. He took us up to our room and pointed out all of the details of the room and provided turn down service nightly.
The breakfast was nothing to write home about but was adequate. The wine and snack reception in the evening was great. Not only was it nice to have a snack before a late dinner, but it w a really nice way to meet other travelers. We got great information about our next destination from one pair of travelers.
I recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a friendly experience in a historic hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

All I can say is that I expected the East Bay Inn to be nice from photos and reviews, but I didn't expect for it to be as absolutely gorgeous as it is. My friend and I are doing a road trip - our third road trip - and this is definitely the nicest hotel that we have been lucky enough to find. Stunning rooms, hugh ceilings - huge space. Very happy to have found it.

Room Tip: We had a twin room - which was absolutely massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Great location, nicely appointed rooms, but in poor condition, on par with a La Quinta or other 2-star hotels.

The bed was terrible for us because it is much more firm than what we are used to. It's about a 5 or 6 on the mattress scale to gauge firmness, with 1 a board and 10 an ultra plush pillowtop. We sleep on a 9 at home, and like the beds at Hampton Inn, Comfort Suites, Marriott, W Hotel, etc.

The road noise is quite something - Bay St. is 30 mph limit, and you will also know when the bars close, because their restless patrons will be coming by around 2-2:30 a.m. and you can hear them quite well out on the sidewalk below. We managed about 6 hours of sleep, even though we were exhausted from traveling and fell asleep at 9 p.m.

Our neighbor had a restless night as well, which we were quite aware of, even though we don't know the person, because every time they tossed or turned, the floorboard in their room squeaked and groaned. They finally passed out around 2 a.m. Dog smell pretty strong on first floor. Very dog friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katodisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,890 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,136 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 115 in Savannah
1,377 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £117 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing