We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historic Charmer in Savannah”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Historic Charmer in Savannah”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My girlfriends and I chose this hotel to celebrate a friends 40th birthday. We all loved the hotel. Service at the front desk was very friendly, loved the afternoon wine and snacks. The rooms were beautiful with historic charm and great decorative touches. Location was great, within minutes to everywhere you want to be. The only things that I thought in my opinion could approve are the bathrooms, they are very dated, as well as the breakfast. Coffee was very weak and there was not enough fresh food selection.

Room Tip: For the ghost lovers, apparently the third floor is haunted....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunl0ver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    281
    72
    34
    9
See reviews for
229
678
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

the Eastbay Inn is the finest and most comfortable establishment I have stayed in that I can remember!! My cousin and I had a two queen bed room which was large and beautifully furnished. The beds were the absolute most comfortable I have slept in. the entire staff was so friendly, helpful and courteous and went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. The complimentary breakfast and wine reception enhanced the total package and made our stay totally complete and absolutely superb in every way. The location was PERFECT for walking everywhere. I will certainly recommend the Eastbay Inn to all !!! Skylars restaurant downstairs was incredibly delicious and cozy!!! Service was fantastic!!!

Room Tip: I chose the two Queen bed room for my cousin and me, it was very spacious, large bathroom and extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, NC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Since we rented an apartment for our week stay, but wanted to go into town a day early-we chose this old inn so we could see the Savannah River district Christmas parade. Our corner room was absolutely beautiful, and huge. Comfy bed, soaring high ceilings, outer brick walls, opulent bed and window coverings. The lady at the desk was a delight, even put down the phone to walk out front and show us where to drive for parking. There was a lovely evening wine reception with cheeses and light fare, plus a good red and white wine. We were able to walk directly out the door to see the parade with the crowd, then over to River Street later. Very convenient, quiet, and a real treat.

Room Tip: superior queen rooms are quite large, with comfortable seating and bedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pojismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at the East Bay Inn during November, and our stay was great. The staff is exceptional- especially Julie who answered all our questions, gave us a bit of history, and helped us make all our reservations while in town. The rooms were beautiful, and we loved the location. We were situated near all the town's highlights. The breakfast was pretty simple, and could use a little help, but otherwise, the East Bay Inn was amazing and I'd recommend staying there to anyone who visits Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This was our first stay in Savannah and I can tell you we are coming back. We stayed at the East Bay Inn and this is a winner. This is a boutique historic hotel with lots of charm and Charlie the ghost visits sometime. We parked our car at the hotel and did not move it until we left because the hotel is located within walking distance of the attractions and restaurants. In fact, tripadvisor said I had 182 restaurants to chose from with in 1 mile. We did not eat at everyone but every place we chose was very good to excellent. Food selection should not be a problem.

The people at the Inn are very helpful and will will help you with tours and will book them for you. Don’t miss the 5:30 to 7:00 wine and cheese event in the Inn. It is a great opportunity to talk with the other guest and fine out what they visited during the day, which could be your next day events.

I will definitely stay at this Inn on my return trip to Savannah and would recommend you should also stay at Inn.

Room Tip: We chose a room off of Bay Street. Bay Street is a busy street and rooms facing this street could h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland or
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We just got home after staying a week at the East Bay Inn. It was delightful. Beautifully decorated for the holidays and such a comfortable place to be. The staff was exceptional...very helpful and informative regarding their city and what it has to offer. Great location, lovely rooms and comfortable beds. We were so glad that we chose the East Bay Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor...not on the street side and it was perfectly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherPortlandOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford Ct
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We went to visit my Daughter after Thanksgiving, for three days. Found the Inn on a travel site. Our room was a cozy Queen, with 10' ceilings exposed handmade bricks, there was fingerprints in one of them, I put my fingers and felt a connection with a long deceased brick maker. A wine reception in the evening gave us a chance to meet the other guests. The beds turned down with mints on the pillows, we had a small cooler, when I went to get more ice our second day the bucket was filled. There is a journal in the room for guests to write in.
Savannah is a walking city with parks everywhere; a nice stay will be back.

Room Tip: One reviewer mentioned rooms on streetside being noisy if you are a light sleeper (I'm not)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garymtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,741 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,304 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing