We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Convenient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a weekend. The room was absolutely gorgeous! Loved the decor and high ceilings. The location was perfect! We walked everywhere! Very convenient! Also enjoyed the most comfortable beds, free delicious breakfast, yummy cheese, crackers and snacks in the evenings, lovely turn down service with mints and ice, and the free bottled water after an afternoon stroll! The lady at the front desk was very nice! Would love to stay here again in the future! Absolutely wonderful!!!!

Room Tip: Once you park-if you get a spot in the hotel lot, walk everywhere! Not very many parking spots in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    256
    69
    31
    9
See reviews for
199
607
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday. I didn't want to stay at a corporate hotel (Hilton or Marriot) because I wanted to experience Savannah's southern charm and make it a special weekend. I had heard great reviews of East Bay Inn from a coworker. I booked the cozy queen. I was worried it would be very small, but it was the perfect size for two people. I did book early so I requested the 2nd or 3rd floor. We got a corner room, with a good view of the surrounding area. The ceilings are SO HIGH, which may have been my favorite feature. We needed to park in a parking garage nearby because the lot was full, but this wasn't a problem because we were not using our car while we were in Savannah. The hotel is decorated perfectly to accentuate the old southern charm, exposed brick, and hardwood floor. It seemed to be kept up very well considering how old it was. Every staff member was extremely friendly and accommodating. My parents surprised us with champagne, which the hotel set up to be waiting for us when we arrived (and we got to keep the champagne glasses!). The location is PERFECT for hanging out in historic Savannah. I recommend visiting in October when the weather is cool and the ghost tours are in full force! While the hotel is pricy, I feel it is worth the money, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Consult the staff while booking and ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent 3 nights and 4 days at East Bay Inn with our best friends. Each of our Rooms were perfect! We had the 2 corner rooms on the 3rd floor overlooking East Bay Street. The location was perfect - we didn't realize how close we were going to be to River Street. The staff was very nice and very helpful. We were recommended to take the Oglethorpe Tour Bus and it was perfect (and the Inn arranged all of this for us and had the shuttle for Oglethorpe pick us right around the corner).
We enjoyed the evening wine & cheese. Was a good time to unwind for a bit and relax before we off to more exploring of the City. We were nicely surprised that we didn't hear any of our neighbors at the Inn. We have stayed at other older Hotels and the walls were paper thin. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend and had a lovely experience with the staff. Melvin the bellman and Shiela at the front desk were true examples of southern hospitality at its finest. They would get 5 stars from me.
But to be honest the accommodations were not as great. The room was large and spacious, the beds very comfortable. But dirty hand prints and smeared spots on the wall, were something a little deep cleaning could cure. Then there's the bathroom: mold on the ceiling and shower curtain, I mean where is the bleach? I give you the place is old, but someone please put some elbow grease, paint, and additional upkeep into the rooms to make them really great. Oh and the breakfast was horrible. Worst eggs I have ever tried. The only edible thing was the yogurt and that was prepackaged so you can't mess that up.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KidsAreATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

When you are staying in a historic inn, there are things you have to accept. Creeky floors, a bit of wear, etc. However, this inn combines all the downsides of a historic inn with none of the pluses. When you walk around Savannah and see other historic inns with graceful wrought iron balconies or stately columns you can't help but be enchanted. Then you come back to your square brick box and think, "Meh". It lacks ambiance. It's also located right off of busy Bay Street, which may be a plus for some, but the incessant traffic noises were very distracting at night.

As i said, a bit of wear is expected in a historic hotel, but this place was dirty. There were dust bunnies the size of actual bunnies under the furniture and the air intake vents in the room and bathroom were completely clogged with lint and dust and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years. There was mildew in the bathroom grout and in the creases of the shower curtain. The entire room smelled musty and I was coughing incessantly while in it.

In addition, there are no amenities for the traveler. Even though they have a restaurant attached to the building, they don't provide room service. They have no laundry service whatsoever and the closest laundry is miles away. The toiletries they provide are a hodgepodge variety so you can shampoo your hair with lavender and bergamot and condition it with chamomile and mint. The scents do not blend well.

Breakfast is a buffet of reconstituted eggs, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy made from yesterday's leftover sausage patties. The fruit was either anemic looking or half rotted. Not good.

What this place does have going for it is a fabulous staff, from Melvin the Bellman to both the ladies we interacted with at the front desk. They are the single redeeming feature of the East Bay Inn. That, and they do allow pets for a $75 fee. As a frequent traveler with pets, I appreciate that and those two things are reason I am rating it as high as a 3 when in reality I find it closer to a 2.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenMean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Last year we stayed at East bay Inn and Charlie visited our room by closing the curtain, we returned this year because we enjoyed the hotel so much. They have the friendliest staff that go out of there way to accommodate everyone. Breakfast this year has such a selection we ate here every morning. We took tours and ate at a different restaurant every afternoon and returned in time for wine and cheese and grapes. Last year they had finger sandwiches that went well with the wine. Every evening went on River street to experience Savannah food and atmosphere. We will continue to meet our friends at east bay inn every September for a fun week.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at the East Bay Inn. The service was excellent from Julie, the front desk clerk to Melvin the bellman. We had a 3rd floor room with a queen bed. The room was spectacular! Such ambience! A great way to experience old Savannah. The breakfast buffet was above and beyond a continental breakfast. The wine and cheese reception in the evening was enjoyable. The location can not be best. From the inn you are one block away from River Street.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mknopick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing