We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved East Bay Inn”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in Room 210 and was very roomy and beautiful. Beds very comfortable and provided great view. This inn was everything we hoped it would be. Great access to everything. The only caution I would make is that since it is an older inn the floors do squeak. If you are a light sleeper this could be a problem. But that being said, it wasn't a problem for us and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a weekend. The room was absolutely gorgeous! Loved the decor and high ceilings. The location was perfect! We walked everywhere! Very convenient! Also enjoyed the most comfortable beds, free delicious breakfast, yummy cheese, crackers and snacks in the evenings, lovely turn down service with mints and ice, and the free bottled water after an afternoon stroll! The lady at the front desk was very nice! Would love to stay here again in the future! Absolutely wonderful!!!!

Room Tip: Once you park-if you get a spot in the hotel lot, walk everywhere! Not very many parking spots in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday. I didn't want to stay at a corporate hotel (Hilton or Marriot) because I wanted to experience Savannah's southern charm and make it a special weekend. I had heard great reviews of East Bay Inn from a coworker. I booked the cozy queen. I was worried it would be very small, but it was the perfect size for two people. I did book early so I requested the 2nd or 3rd floor. We got a corner room, with a good view of the surrounding area. The ceilings are SO HIGH, which may have been my favorite feature. We needed to park in a parking garage nearby because the lot was full, but this wasn't a problem because we were not using our car while we were in Savannah. The hotel is decorated perfectly to accentuate the old southern charm, exposed brick, and hardwood floor. It seemed to be kept up very well considering how old it was. Every staff member was extremely friendly and accommodating. My parents surprised us with champagne, which the hotel set up to be waiting for us when we arrived (and we got to keep the champagne glasses!). The location is PERFECT for hanging out in historic Savannah. I recommend visiting in October when the weather is cool and the ghost tours are in full force! While the hotel is pricy, I feel it is worth the money, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Consult the staff while booking and ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent 3 nights and 4 days at East Bay Inn with our best friends. Each of our Rooms were perfect! We had the 2 corner rooms on the 3rd floor overlooking East Bay Street. The location was perfect - we didn't realize how close we were going to be to River Street. The staff was very nice and very helpful. We were recommended to take the Oglethorpe Tour Bus and it was perfect (and the Inn arranged all of this for us and had the shuttle for Oglethorpe pick us right around the corner).
We enjoyed the evening wine & cheese. Was a good time to unwind for a bit and relax before we off to more exploring of the City. We were nicely surprised that we didn't hear any of our neighbors at the Inn. We have stayed at other older Hotels and the walls were paper thin. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend and had a lovely experience with the staff. Melvin the bellman and Shiela at the front desk were true examples of southern hospitality at its finest. They would get 5 stars from me.
But to be honest the accommodations were not as great. The room was large and spacious, the beds very comfortable. But dirty hand prints and smeared spots on the wall, were something a little deep cleaning could cure. Then there's the bathroom: mold on the ceiling and shower curtain, I mean where is the bleach? I give you the place is old, but someone please put some elbow grease, paint, and additional upkeep into the rooms to make them really great. Oh and the breakfast was horrible. Worst eggs I have ever tried. The only edible thing was the yogurt and that was prepackaged so you can't mess that up.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank KidsAreATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When you are staying in a historic inn, there are things you have to accept. Creeky floors, a bit of wear, etc. However, this inn combines all the downsides of a historic inn with none of the pluses. When you walk around Savannah and see other historic inns with graceful wrought iron balconies or stately columns you can't help but be enchanted. Then you come back to your square brick box and think, "Meh". It lacks ambiance. It's also located right off of busy Bay Street, which may be a plus for some, but the incessant traffic noises were very distracting at night.

As i said, a bit of wear is expected in a historic hotel, but this place was dirty. There were dust bunnies the size of actual bunnies under the furniture and the air intake vents in the room and bathroom were completely clogged with lint and dust and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years. There was mildew in the bathroom grout and in the creases of the shower curtain. The entire room smelled musty and I was coughing incessantly while in it.

In addition, there are no amenities for the traveler. Even though they have a restaurant attached to the building, they don't provide room service. They have no laundry service whatsoever and the closest laundry is miles away. The toiletries they provide are a hodgepodge variety so you can shampoo your hair with lavender and bergamot and condition it with chamomile and mint. The scents do not blend well.

Breakfast is a buffet of reconstituted eggs, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy made from yesterday's leftover sausage patties. The fruit was either anemic looking or half rotted. Not good.

What this place does have going for it is a fabulous staff, from Melvin the Bellman to both the ladies we interacted with at the front desk. They are the single redeeming feature of the East Bay Inn. That, and they do allow pets for a $75 fee. As a frequent traveler with pets, I appreciate that and those two things are reason I am rating it as high as a 3 when in reality I find it closer to a 2.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenMean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Last year we stayed at East bay Inn and Charlie visited our room by closing the curtain, we returned this year because we enjoyed the hotel so much. They have the friendliest staff that go out of there way to accommodate everyone. Breakfast this year has such a selection we ate here every morning. We took tours and ate at a different restaurant every afternoon and returned in time for wine and cheese and grapes. Last year they had finger sandwiches that went well with the wine. Every evening went on River street to experience Savannah food and atmosphere. We will continue to meet our friends at east bay inn every September for a fun week.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,922 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,398 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £112 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing